Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan >

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Like Tree25Likes

Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan

Old 10-24-2007, 05:53 AM
  #8461  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

DNA2 I found left a lot to be desired for rear end grip, Mazda6 I felt better, something a little less agressive.
DA_cookie_monst is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 08:59 AM
  #8462  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Savannah, GA
Posts: 4,936
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

take off that rear sway bar and you will get the rear end grip that you are looking for.
macnkitty2002 is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 09:39 AM
  #8463  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,277
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst View Post
DNA2 I found left a lot to be desired for rear end grip, Mazda6 I felt better, something a little less agressive.
M6 is better !
RC MARKET is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 03:12 PM
  #8464  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I don't run sway bars these days, tried it, don't like them.
DA_cookie_monst is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 04:38 PM
  #8465  
Tech Master
iTrader: (32)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 1,122
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst View Post
I don't run sway bars these days, tried it, don't like them.
Nobody runs sway bars anymore... weird.
ittjv is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 04:53 PM
  #8466  
Tech Initiate
 
Blue_VB_SL253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 29
Default

Since every one is on about rear grip ive only just found a balance for mine, im now using a medium/ hard rear spring set up with 60w team associated oil in the rear and front is a hard spring with 60w oil, and the help of the Dodge Stratus 3 cover with the rear wing mounted in the middle hole. Before i all this the rear end would step out very easily when accelarating out of a corner, generaly very slidy with every movment.

Edit: i havent used sway bars yet, and now i dont think i will have to

Last edited by Blue_VB_SL253; 10-24-2007 at 05:25 PM.
Blue_VB_SL253 is offline  
Old 10-24-2007, 04:55 PM
  #8467  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: N. Cali
Posts: 200
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ittjv View Post
Nobody runs sway bars anymore... weird.
I do
I use the stock ones that came with the kit.
DirtyRacer is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 02:37 AM
  #8468  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Personally I dont run sway bars, and if I was to consider using them it would only be on high traction tracks.

They stop the car hooking up too aggressively in the corners, but it is a very crude way of doing it. I prefer to work on the springs/oil/camber links and shock mounting positions than to just hide a setup problem with sway bars.

My take on it is that the sway bar is a very artificial way of getting the car to aid compressing and rebounding its suspension. Also, by playing with the rest of your setup you are running less weight by not having the sway bars on your car.
tc3team is offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 04:08 AM
  #8469  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have updated my setup, as the car seemed a little hard to drive with a one-way in, so here it is

DA_cookie_monst is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 08:04 PM
  #8470  
Tech Initiate
 
Blue_VB_SL253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 29
Default

DA_cookie_monst, im just wondering why on your set up sheet, you have the front diff tighter then the rear belt, whould this be so there isnt as much power going to the rear wheels so it spins during accelaration?

Last edited by Blue_VB_SL253; 10-29-2007 at 08:08 AM.
Blue_VB_SL253 is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 02:43 AM
  #8471  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Blue:vb By allowing the front diff to be run a little tighter it allows for slightly better turn in, but not so fierce as a spool.

hth
tc3team is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 06:07 AM
  #8472  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Blue_VB_SL253 View Post
DA_cookie_monst, im just wondering why on your set up sheet, you have the front belt tighter then the rear belt, whould this be so there isnt as much power going to the rear wheels so it spins during accelaration?
It helps pull the car out of the corner better, as the front axle is lighter loaded, you can get some wheel spin on the inner wheel, so you run the diff tighter to get drive to both wheels evenly.
DA_cookie_monst is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 07:20 AM
  #8473  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

d'oh, misread
tc3team is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 07:28 AM
  #8474  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I am assuming the poster meant diff's as I made no reference to belt tightness on the sheet.
DA_cookie_monst is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 08:09 AM
  #8475  
Tech Initiate
 
Blue_VB_SL253's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 29
Default

Yea guy's i did mean diff's, also thinking about belts at the same time while posting that. Thanks for that anyway, might have to try it for a little more turn in
Blue_VB_SL253 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.