R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-10-2007, 03:12 PM   #8236
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Oh yeah, a static prone servo killing tub too.
what's the remedy to fix that? i think it killed one of my servos when i was running on carpet for a few days straight.
__________________
Team Associated RC10B4.2
Losi Rock Rey
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 04:32 PM   #8237
Tech Addict
 
m3ndo5a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
what's the remedy to fix that? i think it killed one of my servos when i was running on carpet for a few days straight.

I normally wrap my antenna wire around my transponder holder....this seem to ground the stactic,,before I did this I could not even turn the car on.


This picture is a bad example......when I am using 27mhz and not Spk....

I wrap the wire around the transponder arm and through the pin holes.

problem is gone!
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan-mre-ta05-017.jpg  
m3ndo5a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 05:29 PM   #8238
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
what's the remedy to fix that? i think it killed one of my servos when i was running on carpet for a few days straight.
See http://rctech.net/forum/showpost.php...postcount=7691

as well as the posts afterwards. I actually saw sparks going from my rear bulkhead to my ESC causing it to momentarily stop working.

These wires soldered in has stopped the problem for now. I luckily didn't fry any servos.

tom
tsyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 07:00 PM   #8239
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
I normally wrap my antenna wire around my transponder holder....this seem to ground the stactic,,before I did this I could not even turn the car on.


This picture is a bad example......when I am using 27mhz and not Spk....

I wrap the wire around the transponder arm and through the pin holes.
but wouldn't that just run the risk of frying your receiver instead?
__________________
Team Associated RC10B4.2
Losi Rock Rey
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 09:42 PM   #8240
Tech Fanatic
 
bukil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: BenTooWrah
Posts: 998
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone know how to adjust the ackerman for the 05?
bukil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 10:20 PM   #8241
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 50
Default

For the static short fix check the TA05 pages at either the Canadian Tamiya site or the parent site (Tamiya.com). There's a fix that's easy to do, but is not 100% perfect depending on your set up. Mine still cuts out once in while, but not near as bad as it was before the fix.

It's a matter of running a wire (18gauge or more) from one of the front stiffener screws to the front spur retainer screw. Steel screws work best, but works with titanium as well (just not as effective I guess)

The ultimate fix it to pick up the reinforced chassis, but for the hassel at 2 cent peice of wire will do for me.
AllShowNoGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2007, 11:29 PM   #8242
Tech Master
 
Xanavi_R34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: TAMIYA WORLD
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bukil View Post
Does anyone know how to adjust the ackerman for the 05?
the two holes in the wheel hub (front), put your steering link in the hole near to the wheels, this will you give you more ackerman steering...
__________________
TAMIYA TRF416

[Tamiya] [Hot Bodies]

[Futaba] [SpeedPassion] [LRP] [YeahRacing] [3Racing] [Imax]
Xanavi_R34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2007, 02:44 AM   #8243
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xanavi_R34 View Post
the two holes in the wheel hub (front), put your steering link in the hole near to the wheels, this will you give you more ackerman steering...
There is no ackermann adjustment on the 05. If you use the rear hole on the steering upright you won't get any steering lock.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 05:07 AM   #8244
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 295
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default back again

i guess my understeering is solved now. thnx guys.

however, i have another question. im using the white ultra hard springs in the front and blue hard springs at the rear. and when i find i put the batts in my car, the rear is quite significantly lower than the front. will that affect the running of my car? thnxx

im running on asphalt btw.
hottapole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 05:51 AM   #8245
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

you need to set the ride height correctly with the spring adjusters, the rear needs to sit about 0.5mm higher than the front, or level.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 06:15 AM   #8246
Tech Master
 
cheehtae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,470
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

hey guys, trying to get back into the hobby after some break. Use to have a TA05 but sold all my stuff. Question, is the CF chassis by Tamiya already available? I'm planning on getting the R or would just be buying the MS version which $410 at champ be the right move? need your inputs.
cheehtae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 12:16 PM   #8247
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

If you can afford an MS it will be an ultimately faster car, however the beauty of the TA05 is that it is so easy to set up and run that you will get good times in almost every situation, whereas a carbon chassis car tends to need a little bit more TLC to run at its best every time.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2007, 07:28 PM   #8248
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Surrey British Columbia Canada
Posts: 304
Default

just ran my ta05 yesterday it got trf shocks 30wt all around yellowsprings in the front red in the rear with a red sway, im running a mamba 4600 with a 8.52-1 gear ratio and a polyquest 6200mah lipo and the car was on rails, i went from an xray t2 to this and this 150 dolar car drives so much better than my ts2.

anyone got any ashpalt setups for there cars post thme up or email them to me so i can try them out
C_Suzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 05:54 AM   #8249
Tech Addict
 
m3ndo5a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 600
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge View Post
If you can afford an MS it will be an ultimately faster car, however the beauty of the TA05 is that it is so easy to set up and run that you will get good times in almost every situation, whereas a carbon chassis car tends to need a little bit more TLC to run at its best every time.

I had all of the Tamiya line up...EVOIVms EvoV ...Ta05 Ta05R Ta05MS 415.........415MRE......all of them!


I sold them all except for the Ta05r. For I can run the same lap times as the MRE or the Ta05MS. I kept the Ta05r to run in two class for TCS.
I tried running the same set up as my MRE or MS and it does not work for 05r.......You have to dig deeper to bring it out. On a less skill race crowd you can run box set up and be fine.....but against Team or Factory racers you will need to change somethings.......
m3ndo5a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2007, 08:52 AM   #8250
Tech Fanatic
 
Aluma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edinburg TX
Posts: 835
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

hey m3ndo5a, would you mind sharing your asphalt rubber setup for the 05R?

Last time I went to Assoc. copper fronts/silver rears, yellow sways, stock everything else...well, except the droop, I've been messing with that to get the right balance.
Aluma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 08:58 PM
New Tamiya TA05 R touring car/motor/esc! Frost99999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-07-2007 12:24 PM
FWD touring car/sedan hellbilly R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-12-2007 06:22 PM
Tamiya TA05 full race sedan, Tons of Hop Ups lbckevin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2006 03:05 PM
want to buy a touring/sedan car traxxasracer Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 7 09-21-2004 06:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:04 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net