R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-20-2007, 08:50 PM   #7876
Tech Rookie
 
WakattE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: down under
Posts: 13
Default

hey guys, regarding the tamiya spool, do the shaft that hold the steel cups come out during usage? do u glue them in?
WakattE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 09:41 PM   #7877
Tech Master
 
maxepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Aliso Viejo, Calif.
Posts: 1,633
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Spool

Quote:
Originally Posted by WakattE View Post
hey guys, regarding the tamiya spool, do the shaft that hold the steel cups come out during usage? do u glue them in?
Their held on with a pin and then the bearing covers the hole and keeps the pin in place!
NO GLUE!
maxepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 06:36 AM   #7878
Tech Master
 
buboy28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: manila,philippines
Posts: 1,601
Send a message via AIM to buboy28 Send a message via Yahoo to buboy28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ttso View Post
I'm running on small asphalt track, always run front diff as it allow me to brake and turn at the same time, much more aggressive than 1way, which if you brake-turn, you spin.
i'm using a front one way and like you said if i brake i spin any suggestions on how to prevent or minimize this effect when using a front one way, thanks
buboy28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 06:54 AM   #7879
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I use a centre one-way, so the same issue, what I do is set my transmitter to pulse the brake (ABS on a KO) and turn the brakes down, I can slam on the brakes to regress the speed to go into a corner, I set it so that in a straight line it just starts to slide the rear. But I use the brake mostly at the turn-in point of the corner, and the slide aides getting the car in tighter.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 07:26 AM   #7880
Tech Master
 
buboy28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: manila,philippines
Posts: 1,601
Send a message via AIM to buboy28 Send a message via Yahoo to buboy28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst View Post
I use a centre one-way, so the same issue, what I do is set my transmitter to pulse the brake (ABS on a KO) and turn the brakes down, I can slam on the brakes to regress the speed to go into a corner, I set it so that in a straight line it just starts to slide the rear. But I use the brake mostly at the turn-in point of the corner, and the slide aides getting the car in tighter.
ok thanks will do that did not know that i can also use the ABS function of my radio to an Electric TC all the while i thought that it is only used for Nitro vehicles
buboy28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 10:44 AM   #7881
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: (@)(@)
Posts: 286
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst View Post
I use a centre one-way, so the same issue, what I do is set my transmitter to pulse the brake (ABS on a KO) and turn the brakes down, I can slam on the brakes to regress the speed to go into a corner, I set it so that in a straight line it just starts to slide the rear. But I use the brake mostly at the turn-in point of the corner, and the slide aides getting the car in tighter.

Yes, Thats an excellent idea!! Would you mind sharing your ABS/brake settings? I have a KO (Helios) as well.
qwkpony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 11:53 AM   #7882
Tech Fanatic
 
ttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Acturally if you use front one-way, you try not to brake at all.

First you use brake-travel to limite the brake stength to a very small level that will slightly slow your car down, just a bit faster than off-throttle drag brake. Than, you increase front steering, loose rear for rotation. If you get a right setting, it would be like off-throttle > turn > corner in. No brake unless you get into a 180 hairpin corner. Than it's like brake > off-throttle > turn > corner in.

The driving style with front 1way is very very different with front-diff/spool, setting also be very different. For me my driving style fit diff/spool best, and bcz my track is small and lots corner, plus I run stock, I use diff.
ttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 12:11 PM   #7883
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I shall dig out my KO later and rummage through the menu's and post the setting for them.

It acts live a harsh drag brake, but by setting the transmitter up to do it rather than calibrating the ESC then reducing the EPA, it means you can swap ESC and keep the exact setting.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 06:22 PM   #7884
Tech Elite
 
Blacktiger355's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 2,197
Trader Rating: 81 (99%+)
Default

Got to run my TA05 on the track today for the first time. Must say I am very impressed by how smooth it is. I did manage to pull a rear inner suspension pin out of the suspension mount. Which cracked the mount. But overall it performed very well. My current setup is pretty much stock, with 3 racing shocks with 40wt oil, 3 racing front one way, and cs27 tires.
Blacktiger355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 01:12 AM   #7885
Tech Addict
 
Simon K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 573
Default

I'm running my 05R for the first time tomorrow. Must admit, I've been a little disappointed with the way the build went(those grey plastic ball ends are awful) and how a couple of the factory options I'd bought didn't work as well as I felt they should.

I ordered the Tamiya option carbon fibre battery plate. It came with two blue aluminium standoffs to replace the factory ones. When fitted, there was a good 2-3mm of clear air between the cells and the snap pins. I'm assuming this is due to the plate needing to be high enough to allow the fitting of stick packs but I certainly didn't expect my 4200's to be floating around semi-restrained. After a bit of searching around, I found some suitable rubber grommets to keep things locked down.

The lightweight center layshaft could also have done with a couple of shims included. Considering the kit itself has all sorts of extra fasteners included I don't think one or two suitable sized washers packaged with the layshaft would go amiss.

I'll reserve judgement until tomorrows maiden run, I have a feeling I'll be in a much more positive frame of mind.
Simon K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 06:46 AM   #7886
Tech Elite
 
OSherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: o0O In the FishBowl O0o
Posts: 3,273
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simon K View Post
...
I'll reserve judgement until tomorrows maiden run, I have a feeling I'll be in a much more positive frame of mind.
You will be...
OSherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 03:57 PM   #7887
Tech Addict
 
Skitee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Posts: 745
Default

You will be very surprised how good this car is out of the box, I have lost count of the number of people who praise the car after the first run. Especially the TCS guys who have moved from the TB-02 and TA-04.
__________________
Xray T4 2018 ~ HobbyWing Xerun XR10 Pro ~ Motiv RC 4.5
Xray X12 2018 ~ ORCA Vritra VX3 1S ~ Speedzone 4.5

POWERED BY SPEEDZONE USA
Skitee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 06:34 PM   #7888
Tech Elite
 
macnkitty2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 4,920
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

is there anything you need to get hop-up wise right off the bat for this car, or can it be run competitively at local club races? i know it is the "R" version with all the goodies, but as we all know, some cars need one or two pieces necessary to be truly race-worthy. do any exist in the 05R?
thanks
macnkitty2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 09:17 PM   #7889
Tech Master
 
PitNamedGordie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Highwood, IL
Posts: 1,789
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to PitNamedGordie Send a message via Yahoo to PitNamedGordie
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
is there anything you need to get hop-up wise right off the bat for this car, or can it be run competitively at local club races? i know it is the "R" version with all the goodies, but as we all know, some cars need one or two pieces necessary to be truly race-worthy. do any exist in the 05R?
thanks
I don't own an 05R but the 05 needed a few parts to be truly race-worthy. The 05R has all of the extras the 05 didn't. My 05 has been upgraded but I still don't have all of the parts that are on the 05R. It's a great value.
__________________
☆ The Track @ Harbor Hobbies ☆ www.harbor-hobby.net ☆
PitNamedGordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 10:49 PM   #7890
Tech Master
 
buboy28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: manila,philippines
Posts: 1,601
Send a message via AIM to buboy28 Send a message via Yahoo to buboy28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macnkitty2002 View Post
is there anything you need to get hop-up wise right off the bat for this car, or can it be run competitively at local club races? i know it is the "R" version with all the goodies, but as we all know, some cars need one or two pieces necessary to be truly race-worthy. do any exist in the 05R?
thanks
the 05R is already loaded with almost all of the hop-ups that goes with the kit and already is a very raceworthy car but if you like you can still add a few hop-ups like the carbon fiber shock towers ( front and rear), carbon fiber foam bumper holder and the aluminum motor mount
buboy28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 08:58 PM
New Tamiya TA05 R touring car/motor/esc! Frost99999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-07-2007 12:24 PM
FWD touring car/sedan hellbilly R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-12-2007 06:22 PM
Tamiya TA05 full race sedan, Tons of Hop Ups lbckevin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2006 03:05 PM
want to buy a touring/sedan car traxxasracer Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 7 09-21-2004 06:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:23 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net