R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2007, 11:21 AM   #6961
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Delaware
Posts: 54
Default

Try some o-rings between the straps and the clip. Combined w/ the foam padding, as previously suggested, on the underside of the strap you can achive a really tight fit. Think it should be legal!
Dtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 11:45 AM   #6962
Tech Master
 
rctouringracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rctouringracer
Default

Thx guys, I'll give it a try.... Still haven't figured out how to post a photo?
If someone has a minute to explain it, that would be great! PM me if you don't mind....
__________________
Burned up
JoeRacer Graphix
Wanna Bee Racing
rctouringracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 11:58 AM   #6963
Tech Elite
 
bigb11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: POUGHKEEPSIE,NY
Posts: 3,140
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to bigb11
Default

Does anybody know where I can get cheap tires and wheels for TCS?
__________________
PHAT QUAD RACING, HPI/HOTBODIES, RATZAS, DARKSIDE MOTOR SPORTS, PARMA, Brown Engineering, ROBITRONICS, RC AMERICA, PANTHER, TEKIN, TEAM HOLY ROLLER, Rev Tech/Epic, RC AFRICA, HITEC www.browneng.org, DE wheels
bigb11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 12:03 PM   #6964
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,520
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Cheap TCS tires and wheels exist in the same place the Easter Bunny exists.

Speedtechrc.com sells them though
DOTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 12:46 PM   #6965
Tech Champion
 
Core Creations's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Core Creations
Default

WWW.RC-CHAMP.CO.JP
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigb11
Does anybody know where I can get cheap tires and wheels for TCS?
__________________
Core Creations paint thread

Mini Mafia Kansas Chapter - where the monster minis grow!
Core Creations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 01:34 PM   #6966
Tech Champion
 
Core Creations's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Core Creations
Default

I usually just attach a JPEG when posting. Just go down to where it says manage attachments, then browse for your pic, then attach.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rctouringracer
Thx guys, I'll give it a try.... Still haven't figured out how to post a photo?
If someone has a minute to explain it, that would be great! PM me if you don't mind....
__________________
Core Creations paint thread

Mini Mafia Kansas Chapter - where the monster minis grow!
Core Creations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 04:02 PM   #6967
Tech Master
 
rctouringracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rctouringracer
Default

Testing!
Now you can see what I was talking about with the whole battery post thing! Thats a pretty big gap!
Thanks Core Creations....
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan-dsc00785.jpg  
__________________
Burned up
JoeRacer Graphix
Wanna Bee Racing
rctouringracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 04:05 PM   #6968
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 233
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default brace

Part of your situation is that you are running the old 3000 packs where the cells are a little smaller. Definately you're going to have to fill that space with the foam and o-rings.
__________________
Xray T3 '12
Xray T4' 14
FKhanro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 04:07 PM   #6969
Tech Master
 
rctouringracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: woodstock, ga
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to rctouringracer
Default

I have 4200's just the 3000's were on the table at the time! I really doesn't raise it up that much higher with the other cells in...
__________________
Burned up
JoeRacer Graphix
Wanna Bee Racing
rctouringracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 04:16 PM   #6970
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rctouringracer
Testing!
Now you can see what I was talking about with the whole battery post thing! Thats a pretty big gap!
Thanks Core Creations....
Theres 3 ways to fix that, but only 2 are TCS legal.

1. After putting on your strap, place O-rings over the post then secure everything with the clips like you normally would.(downside-you'll have to pull off the O-rings everytime you swap packs. You could cut this task in half by only releasing the front of the strap when changing packs. But still this is a pain)

2. Put cusion foam strips on the bottom of your strap to raise it up, but still keep the pack nice and secure. Losi makes some nice foam strips for the JRX-S that would work nicely. (downside-nobody really likes to have to put this foam on the bottom of the strap. It makes it look weird and takes away from the 'factory' look of a carbon strap. But you do what ya gotta do to make stuff fit!)

3. Cut down the the two mounts where the post screw into. Make SURE you pre-tap the holes again as you will be going lower into the chassis than you would have if you hadn't lowered the post mounts. This step is a MUST, as the aluminum strap post WILL break if you try to thread them in without pre-tapping the hole again. Ask me how I know! (downside-TCS rules look down upon any cutting of anything on the chassis. So this is likely not TCS legal)
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 04:53 PM   #6971
Tech Master
 
mkdut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: RC Retired
Posts: 1,961
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
2. Put cusion foam strips on the bottom of your strap to raise it up, but still keep the pack nice and secure. Losi makes some nice foam strips for the JRX-S that would work nicely. (downside-nobody really likes to have to put this foam on the bottom of the strap. It makes it look weird and takes away from the 'factory' look of a carbon strap. But you do what ya gotta do to make stuff fit!)
As a subnote to Darkseid's suggestion, I use a Tamiya foam time insert (#53295?). This allows you to accomadate a variety of batteries with out cutting down the chassis, but as Darkseid noted it takes away from the 'factory' look.
mkdut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 06:18 PM   #6972
Tech Adept
 
Double Quattro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 120
Default

OK, my TA05R is due next week and I keep getting other things (except my new car) delivered which is getting me even more psyched. I mentioned I've been away for a few years so there have been many changes to standard racing electronics since the hay-day of my YR4 and NI-CAD 2000's.

Just a few questions if I may ask:

*** I ordered a few new packs - Intellect 3800's. But I thought I'd stick with my old ESC for now - Novak Cyclone TC. Will today's higher capacity NIMH's play nice with my older Novak or will I see smoke? I am running Stock and/or 19T.

*** Are the on-car fans more for mod motors / classes? What are the benefits to the electronics versus the added weight/balance issues to the car?

*** What's the deal with the personal transponders? Are they so people can avoid a last minute addition (regular borrowed transponder) to the car set-up? Do the work immediately with standard track lap counters?

Thanks for any info!!
Double Quattro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 06:40 PM   #6973
Tech Champion
 
Core Creations's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Back in the booth
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Core Creations
Default

Your Novak Cyclone will be 100% fine. No problems with the new cells.

You can run a motor fan, but it's overkill in my opinion unless you run mod or in the desert.

Personal transponders are awesome. It's a hassle to get house transponders every round and it is easier to find a place on the car to ballance it than a standard AMB transponder. The software needs to be AMB-RC edition to read a personal.
__________________
Core Creations paint thread

Mini Mafia Kansas Chapter - where the monster minis grow!
Core Creations is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 07:17 PM   #6974
Tech Adept
 
Double Quattro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Core Creations
Your Novak Cyclone will be 100% fine. No problems with the new cells.

You can run a motor fan, but it's overkill in my opinion unless you run mod or in the desert.

Personal transponders are awesome. It's a hassle to get house transponders every round and it is easier to find a place on the car to ballance it than a standard AMB transponder. The software needs to be AMB-RC edition to read a personal.
Thanks for the info!
Double Quattro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 11:04 PM   #6975
Tech Addict
 
westerdude42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bellevue Wa.
Posts: 637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Double Quattro
OK, my TA05R is due next week and I keep getting other things (except my new car) delivered which is getting me even more psyched. I mentioned I've been away for a few years so there have been many changes to standard racing electronics since the hay-day of my YR4 and NI-CAD 2000's.

Just a few questions if I may ask:

*** I ordered a few new packs - Intellect 3800's. But I thought I'd stick with my old ESC for now - Novak Cyclone TC. Will today's higher capacity NIMH's play nice with my older Novak or will I see smoke? I am running Stock and/or 19T.

*** Are the on-car fans more for mod motors / classes? What are the benefits to the electronics versus the added weight/balance issues to the car?

*** What's the deal with the personal transponders? Are they so people can avoid a last minute addition (regular borrowed transponder) to the car set-up? Do the work immediately with standard track lap counters?

Thanks for any info!!
I run a Cyclone in my 05 and have never had a problem. I run 4200's and have run everything from silver can to 10 turn double. Great speedo even if it isn't that small.
__________________
Hedgehogs rule!!!
westerdude42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 08:58 PM
New Tamiya TA05 R touring car/motor/esc! Frost99999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-07-2007 12:24 PM
FWD touring car/sedan hellbilly R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-12-2007 06:22 PM
Tamiya TA05 full race sedan, Tons of Hop Ups lbckevin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2006 03:05 PM
want to buy a touring/sedan car traxxasracer Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 7 09-21-2004 06:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:20 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net