R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2007, 12:52 AM   #6331
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: daly city, ca
Posts: 191
Default

sorry to butt in.. but im trying to see if someone is interested in a 3racing ssg graphite conversion kit.. 95 shipped.. thanks..
__________________
feedbacks:
http://rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=152727&highlight=pacific17

http://rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=154954&highlight=pacific17
pacific17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 04:16 AM   #6332
Tech Addict
 
proceed5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KL
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sim600
proceed5,
From the pictures, it looks like the TA-05R will be just like your TA-05 except yours has more carbon fibre bits and more blue parts.

thanks sim600. So, it is not an entirely upgraded version..hmmm.
proceed5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 08:34 AM   #6333
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 35
Default

I'm thinking of getting a TA-05 and would like to know where people order there stuff from? I am in Canada and my local LHS doesn't carry Tamiya. I really want Tamiya but need to be reassured I can order parts for it. Thanks.

CB
suzukiman650 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 09:12 AM   #6334
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Could someone let me know whether a box-stock TA05 can be run with 28mm foams without any rubbing? Can you use the standard shock mount positions and will you get full lock?
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 09:43 AM   #6335
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge
Could someone let me know whether a box-stock TA05 can be run with 28mm foams without any rubbing? Can you use the standard shock mount positions and will you get full lock?
The box stock TA05 can't be run with 28mm foams. You can add spacers between the hex and the wheel to push them out far enough to run, but the best option is to just get the 6mm clamping hexes. That way you have the clearance and don't have to worry about the hexes coming off with the wheels and losing the pins. 6mm clampnig hex part# 53569

The shocks don't get in the way of the 28mm foams at all, so your all good there.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 09:47 AM   #6336
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suzukiman650
I'm thinking of getting a TA-05 and would like to know where people order there stuff from? I am in Canada and my local LHS doesn't carry Tamiya. I really want Tamiya but need to be reassured I can order parts for it. Thanks.

CB
The only two places I can recommend based on price/service would be www.speedtechrc.com and www.rc-champ.co.jp

Both those places are highly reliable and ship just about anywhere I believe. For instructions on ordering from rc-champ, either follow the above link and click on their "overseas ordering" link, -or- just do a search for my post in this thread and about 2-3 pages back, there are full instructions on how to easily order from them.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 11:31 AM   #6337
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kingston, Ontario
Posts: 14
Default Confused

Hello

Sorry for a noob type question but I'm confused about suspension blocks. I want to replace the stock plastic suspension blocks with the aluminum ones. I understand that the "A" blocks are the same width as the plastic ones but do I use the "A" or the "1A" blocks. I know that the 1 means that the block is 1mm higher than the "A" block but which one is equivalent to stock.

Thanks.
hudsong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 12:06 PM   #6338
Tech Apprentice
 
P956LH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Montreal
Posts: 57
Default

The 1A is equivalent to the standard block. You need two 1As and two bridge 1As (with the bridge for the belt to go under) to replicate the standard setting.

Cheers...
__________________
TL-01, TB-02R, RS4 Pro 3, TA05R, Desert Truck.
P956LH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 12:40 PM   #6339
Tech Addict
 
Jam-ehz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Jam-ehz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge
Could someone let me know whether a box-stock TA05 can be run with 28mm foams without any rubbing? Can you use the standard shock mount positions and will you get full lock?
You actually can fit 28mm's with some changes to your top kingpin and C-hub..
Buy the Evo IV kingpin (fluorine or regular) which has the hex head in the ball and the round collar. These are shorter since they're made for the lightweight suspension.
Find a drill bit just slightly bigger than the collar of the kingpin.
Drill the top opening of the C-hub's kingpin hole just enough to take a small bit of plastic off the top, enough for the Evo IV kingpin to screw into the knuckle without binding. I use a drillpress for extra control. Just take small shaves at a time.

This will set the ball head a few mm's down, clearing the wheel. It also looks neat since the collar is flush with the top of the c-hub.

Does anyone know what this does to the roll center since the camber arms are now lower on the outside?
__________________
-=≡ Tamiya TA05 TRF415MSX F103R M-03R M-04 M-05 ≡=-
-=≡ CRC Carpet Knife 3.2 OFNA LD3 Pro Fastcats Spektrum ׀ווlı ≡=-
Jam-ehz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 03:30 PM   #6340
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Tower has a $25.00 off on any purchase right now. With this special your kit cost would be $129.99 + shipping. Not bad.

I like Speedtech R/C alot also.


Quote:
Originally Posted by suzukiman650
I'm thinking of getting a TA-05 and would like to know where people order there stuff from? I am in Canada and my local LHS doesn't carry Tamiya. I really want Tamiya but need to be reassured I can order parts for it. Thanks.

CB
Geppetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 08:14 PM   #6341
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Newbie question: in my last race, I lost drive to the front wheels during one of the heats. After pitting, I found my front diff was very loose.

I tightened the diff (in situ), and went back out. It loosened again.

I took the diff out and took it apart. There was little noticeable wear, so I just cleaned it up, adjusted per the manual, and put it back in. Same thing, it loosened up after the first turn.

I'm not sure what is up... I have run the car probably 50 runs with no prior diff problems. Any ideas of what to check or replace would be much appreciated!
ducati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 08:21 PM   #6342
Tech Master
 
tamiyarcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,633
Send a message via Yahoo to tamiyarcracer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ducati
Newbie question: in my last race, I lost drive to the front wheels during one of the heats. After pitting, I found my front diff was very loose.

I tightened the diff (in situ), and went back out. It loosened again.

I took the diff out and took it apart. There was little noticeable wear, so I just cleaned it up, adjusted per the manual, and put it back in. Same thing, it loosened up after the first turn.

I'm not sure what is up... I have run the car probably 50 runs with no prior diff problems. Any ideas of what to check or replace would be much appreciated!
Thrust bearing!
tamiyarcracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 08:26 PM   #6343
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks, I'll order another one and give it a try. Tamiya USA says it was discontinued, any idea why?
ducati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2007, 08:38 PM   #6344
Tech Master
 
tamiyarcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 1,633
Send a message via Yahoo to tamiyarcracer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ducati
Thanks, I'll order another one and give it a try. Tamiya USA says it was discontinued, any idea why?
just re part #'d
try 9949300
Make sure it is in right as well make sure the screw enters the bearing on the tapered (center) side.
tamiyarcracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2007, 01:32 AM   #6345
Saz
Tech Rookie
 
Saz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Hi,

It would also e worthwhile replaceing the small nylok nut in the diff as well.

Saz
Saz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 08:58 PM
New Tamiya TA05 R touring car/motor/esc! Frost99999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-07-2007 12:24 PM
FWD touring car/sedan hellbilly R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-12-2007 06:22 PM
Tamiya TA05 full race sedan, Tons of Hop Ups lbckevin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2006 03:05 PM
want to buy a touring/sedan car traxxasracer Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 7 09-21-2004 06:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:26 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net