R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-08-2006, 07:24 AM   #4546
Tech Master
 
hpipro321's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Orange County, California
Posts: 1,268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DA_cookie_monst
at a guess, running your belt over tight would give you some strange handling problems. I think on my stock belts, I increased the tension on the rear one notch after the belts stretched.
if you run them over tight with out streching them they wont do anything except snap
__________________
d[-.-]b d[-.-]b
d[-.-]b d[-.-]b can you feel the bass? d[-.-]b d[-.-]b
d[-.-]b d[-.-]b
hpipro321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 08:10 AM   #4547
Tech Regular
 
MK_Arbiter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 472
Default

I'll tinker with the tension untill I get it right, but does anyone know what is causing my TA-05 to lose traction and oversteer a lot?
MK_Arbiter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 10:12 AM   #4548
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MK_Arbiter
I'll tinker with the tension untill I get it right, but does anyone know what is causing my TA-05 to lose traction and oversteer a lot?
you running dogbones on the front?

Also, if you run the rear belt to tight, it will cause the rear to step out a little turning in off-power. I have my rear belt a tiny bit tighter than the front, as under acceleration, the rear belt has more load on it.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 09:58 PM   #4549
Tech Fanatic
 
ttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have mod FK04 belt tensioner (#303070) into TA05. It works quite well. Those who have belt problem might like to give it a try.

The belt tensioner mount is TA05 servo mount, secured on top bulkhead.
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan-img_0753s.jpg   Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan-img_0754s.jpg  
ttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 10:41 PM   #4550
Tech Master
 
akuhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkseid
...... I'm running the blue aramid belts loose on my car so I have both my diffs at one notch "in". Thats about as loose as I'm willing to go.
Can you show me yours ? I still don't get it "one notch in". "In" from what ?

Here's mine with blue aramid. FR and RR
Attached Thumbnails
Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan-fr-belt-tns.jpg   Tamiya TA05 Touring Sedan-rr-belt-tns.jpg  
akuhon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 10:44 PM   #4551
Tech Master
 
akuhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ttso
I have mod FK04 belt tensioner (#303070) into TA05. It works quite well. Those who have belt problem might like to give it a try.

The belt tensioner mount is TA05 servo mount, secured on top bulkhead.
Pretty nice fit ! .... I'll try mine on the rear 'cause it bubbles a lot when I pull the throttle without load (on the car stand)

Thanks for the idea

Last edited by akuhon; 07-08-2006 at 11:03 PM.
akuhon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2006, 11:07 PM   #4552
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akuhon
Can you show me yours ? I still don't get it "one notch in". "In" from what ?

Here's mine with blue aramid. FR and RR
Okay try this:

Look at your car from the side (either side, it doesn't matter). Consider the spur gear the "center" of the car while viewing it from the side. The diff adjusters have dots on them and the retainers have a tab that keeps everything in place. The stock set up has the dot two spaces "in" toward the "center" of the car from the tab. And moving the dots "in" more tightens the belts, while moving them "out" (away from "center") loosens them.

So with that in mind, my belts are only one space "in". Meaning the belts are looser than stock.

It really, REALLY helps to take a look at the belt adjustment portion of the manual (in the back of the manual) while your trying to under stand this.

I tried taking pics of it, but none of them turned out well. If you still don't get what I'm saying, the I'll try again tomorrow.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 12:37 AM   #4553
Tech Master
 
akuhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,155
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkseid
Okay try this:

Look at your car from the side (either side, it doesn't matter). Consider the spur gear the "center" of the car while viewing it from the side. The diff adjusters have dots on them and the retainers have a tab that keeps everything in place. The stock set up has the dot two spaces "in" toward the "center" of the car from the tab. And moving the dots "in" more tightens the belts, while moving them "out" (away from "center") loosens them.

So with that in mind, my belts are only one space "in". Meaning the belts are looser than stock.

It really, REALLY helps to take a look at the belt adjustment portion of the manual (in the back of the manual) while your trying to under stand this.

I tried taking pics of it, but none of them turned out well. If you still don't get what I'm saying, the I'll try again tomorrow.
Thx for the explanation.
I feel that for blue aramid using the setup from the manual book, is too tight. I don't inspect if it the same length as the stock belt or not.

Do you think, we should set this blue aramid the same way as the stock one ?

I set them just like on the pics. .. But then I notice, after running w/o load (a.k.a. hanging on the car stand), the rear belt bubbles a lot and the front is not .... So I think, the idea of tensioner is make sense. Just like in my old T1 Evo 2, adjuster and tensioner.

WHat do you think ? Have you experience the same ?
akuhon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 02:33 AM   #4554
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

What weight oils are you guys using. I use the stock shocks with trinity 55wt. and 1 hole piston. I have to use a red sway bar up front and the yellow in the rear,stock springs all around. I'm looking for a way to try and eliminate the sway bars and maintain the feel of sway bars. Thanks--Al
__________________
TA05 gen 1.... the real OG.
I'm not a racer, I just crush a lot.
17.5- Spec-r S1~ Scale Spec- VBC Ghost EVO ~ GT2- TA05 ~ GT3- TB03 ~ F1-F104
Keepin' it real with my M11x
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 08:58 AM   #4555
Tech Fanatic
 
ttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'm using stock belt from the day I got TA05, which is almost a year now. I'm using 3in on rear, 4in on front right now. For the whole lifetime of my TA05, I didn't have sngle belt problem somehow. Maybe just lucky, but I still install FK04 belt tensioner on rear recently just in case.

I put 0.7mm shim between bearing holder and CF plate. You might need to use different shim to fit your belt best.
ttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 09:02 AM   #4556
Tech Fanatic
 
ttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by big al
What weight oils are you guys using. I use the stock shocks with trinity 55wt. and 1 hole piston. I have to use a red sway bar up front and the yellow in the rear,stock springs all around. I'm looking for a way to try and eliminate the sway bars and maintain the feel of sway bars. Thanks--Al
I don't run carpet, but last time my car is dialed It was front AE 60wt 3holes, rear AE 50wt 3holes, Xray white spring all around, and front red rollbar with no rollbar on rear.
ttso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 09:35 AM   #4557
Tech Master
 
BlackKat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Northside San Jose, CA
Posts: 1,335
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by big al
What weight oils are you guys using. I use the stock shocks with trinity 55wt. and 1 hole piston. I have to use a red sway bar up front and the yellow in the rear,stock springs all around. I'm looking for a way to try and eliminate the sway bars and maintain the feel of sway bars. Thanks--Al
I've been trying to set-up my car without the sway-bars and can't seem to get past winning the Expert Stock B-main, my car just rolls too much and doesn't transition quick enough. With some sway-bars, more track time and a bit of luck, I think I can make the A next time
BlackKat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 12:02 PM   #4558
Tech Champion
 
lbckevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 5,528
Trader Rating: 91 (99%+)
Default

AL,

We made a big difference on my neighbors car by just going to the Tamiya yellow springs front and rear, two hole pistons and 40 wt associated oil, with the stock plastic shocks. No sway bars yet.
__________________
Kevin Smith
Hobbywing * Pro-Line * MIP * Paint Monster
lbckevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 12:34 PM   #4559
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
We made a big difference on my neighbors car by just going to the Tamiya yellow springs front and rear, two hole pistons and 40 wt associated oil, with the stock plastic shocks. No sway bars yet.
Kevin,
Are you guys using the trf 2 hole pistons?? I have a set of yellows,but most of the guys around here were using white /blue or white/white (f/r),and the stock silvers are little harder than the yellows. I'm thinking that the harder springs may be key as this would give the car the quicker transition/less roll I'm looking for. Any input guys??-Al
__________________
TA05 gen 1.... the real OG.
I'm not a racer, I just crush a lot.
17.5- Spec-r S1~ Scale Spec- VBC Ghost EVO ~ GT2- TA05 ~ GT3- TB03 ~ F1-F104
Keepin' it real with my M11x
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 12:49 PM   #4560
Tech Regular
 
TMHippo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Colorado Springs, CO.
Posts: 303
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I have a problem, I bought a rear front brigde plate (D) for the TA 05. It does not seem to fit flush with the chassis. is this the right one or do I need a different part number
Thanks
Rodney
TMHippo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 08:58 PM
New Tamiya TA05 R touring car/motor/esc! Frost99999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-07-2007 12:24 PM
FWD touring car/sedan hellbilly R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-12-2007 06:22 PM
Tamiya TA05 full race sedan, Tons of Hop Ups lbckevin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2006 03:05 PM
want to buy a touring/sedan car traxxasracer Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 7 09-21-2004 06:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:32 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net