R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2006, 02:31 PM   #3706
Tech Fanatic
 
minicooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown L.A. Where the sky is always on fire and the grass is always brown
Posts: 949
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to minicooper Send a message via Yahoo to minicooper
Default

I like
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXCHA7**&P=0
You can find them for $99 I bought a new one off of ebay (transmitter only) for $47 EBAY Link
minicooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 02:36 PM   #3707
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viat
What do you think Darkseid, about
"Futaba 2PL 2-Channel AM/1 S3003/MC230CR ESC"
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...I=LXENN1**&P=7
I mean everything that is included?
Well if your planning on doing a big race like a TCS event, I would HIGHLY recommend a FM radio system. They are so low priced these days that I honestly don't see why they still make the AM units.

The FM will provide much better protection from interference. The FM units from Futaba are excellent, as are the ones such as the one in the link minicooper gave. They are also very affoardable.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 02:50 PM   #3708
Tech Master
 
Viat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,244
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
What do you guys think about the
Quote:
MC230CR ESC
?
Viat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 03:43 PM   #3709
Tech Adept
 
*mini*racer*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 122
Default

Save your money and buy a Spektrum DX2. You will save money in the long run. It is DSM so no crystals to deal with. So when those big races come around and the is racing going on and you need to test something on the car. you need not worry about your radio messing things up.

Plus you can find this radio cheap. in the $150 range.

http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...ProdID=SPM2020
*mini*racer* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 08:09 PM   #3710
Tech Master
 
Viat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,244
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
I hate to ask another "Rookie question",
I assembled the chassis it was shown in the instruction but one thing is bothering me.
It is the tension of the belts.
Can somebody tell me how much play should they have (up and down)?
]
Viat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2006, 10:52 PM   #3711
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viat
I hate to ask another "Rookie question",
I assembled the chassis it was shown in the instruction but one thing is bothering me.
It is the tension of the belts.
Can somebody tell me how much play should they have (up and down)?
]
Well first, double check that you have the diff mounts in the proper position. I believe that stock, both the front and rear should be two notches toward the center of the car.

After you are sure that that is correct, run the car and the belts will stretch slightly after about a dozen runs or so.

But if you're really worried that the belts are too tight, you can adjust them to loosen them. You do this by moving the little dot counter clockwise. One notch should be enough.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 01:24 AM   #3712
Tech Master
 
Dongskie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,739
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=m i g v e a]
Quote:
Originally Posted by akuhon
Cool, ... I plan to get this pulley then.
Have you tried with stock belt ? 'Cause I'm going to use those blue aramid tamiya option belt.

Migvea: Hey man I heard you've been winning club races at the Speedzone?? You won againts some PRO4s and Cyclones there in the past 3 weeks dude??
__________________
Bajer 1/5th
Dongskie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 02:27 AM   #3713
sup
Tech Addict
 
sup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 734
Default

yep! migvea is on a roll (and to think its almost stock, its like barely hopped-up). i should be copying the migvea setup instead of the dongskie setup. hehehe! kidding dong. hope to race with you soon. we're still waiting for your comeback.
sup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 09:55 AM   #3714
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viat
I hate to ask another "Rookie question",
I assembled the chassis it was shown in the instruction but one thing is bothering me.
It is the tension of the belts.
Can somebody tell me how much play should they have (up and down)?
]
It depends on your application;

Low wind mod- medium tight (maybe box set up) 2mm of up and down play
19turn- a click or two looser than box set up. 3mm of up and down play
stock- 3-4mm of up and down play

Most belts slip under heavy braking- not acceleration. Also never run a belt too tight- you'll toast your motor. Too loose you'll just wear the pulleys or the belt will slide off in a crash. I always run mine loose on my 415 for 19turn. After a year I'm still using the original belts and pulleys with no probs.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆TEKNO☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 11:00 AM   #3715
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,870
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

in 19t I run the front belt slightly looser than the rear, as under acceleration, the rear axle takes most of the laoding.
DA_cookie_monst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 11:12 AM   #3716
Tech Master
 
Viat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,244
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
All right,
what about running 27T?
I usually run on the track in Frederick MD "Hobby Town USA" and here is this year TCS race photo reportage on RC ClubMD
I ran TT-01 my first rc-car. It is red Enzo.
Viat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 11:47 AM   #3717
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viat
All right,
what about running 27T?
I usually run on the track in Frederick MD "Hobby Town USA" and here is this year TCS race photo reportage on RC ClubMD
I ran TT-01 my first rc-car. It is red Enzo.
27 is 'stock' in my post
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆TEKNO☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 12:23 PM   #3718
Tech Master
 
Viat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,244
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

I just tightened my read to the max and the belt naw has a play of 4mm up and down.
Viat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 12:42 PM   #3719
Tech Champion
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 5,044
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Viat
I just tightened my read to the max and the belt naw has a play of 4mm up and down.
Try turning the adjusters the other way now.
__________________
www.exotekracing.com ☆ASSOCIATED☆DURANGO☆HPI☆HB RACING☆KYOSHO☆LOSI/TLR☆SERPENT☆TAMIYA☆TEKNO☆XRAY☆

A picture with your post, when trouble shooting, will probably get more rctech help than without...
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 12:52 PM   #3720
Tech Master
 
Viat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,244
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

MikeR,
I thought you said 3-4mm
Viat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Tamiya TA05-R (TA05) TCS Legal limbohz R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-05-2008 08:58 PM
New Tamiya TA05 R touring car/motor/esc! Frost99999 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-07-2007 12:24 PM
FWD touring car/sedan hellbilly R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 6 01-12-2007 06:22 PM
Tamiya TA05 full race sedan, Tons of Hop Ups lbckevin R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 13 08-29-2006 03:05 PM
want to buy a touring/sedan car traxxasracer Minnesota and North/South Dakota Racing 7 09-21-2004 06:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:17 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net