Community
Wiki Posts
Search

27 Turn Stock Motor Racing

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2005, 05:20 AM
Tech Adept

Default 27 Turn Stock Motor Racing

I did a search and reviewed all the existing threads and could not find an answer to my questions. I am fairly new to RC racing but have an background in 2 cycle kart racing so I understand the concept of "Blue Printing" an engine.

For the past 6 mo I have been running at a local carpet track in the stock class. This track is suppose to follow Roar rules but the only things checked are weight and ride height. There are 3 groups of racers that are very fast and they gladly share chassis sets, roll out, and brush/spring information. Out of frustration I attempted to buy a motors from several of these racers but no one would even consider it.

Just wondering if anyone has any ideas what these guys are doing to their motors. also can anyone tell me why people continue to work on one motor during a race day? In kart racing when a motor was sour, we would just swap it out.

Thanks
Old 04-04-2005, 05:34 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)

Stock racers are some of the most serious racers you will ever encounter. They will tweak on a motor till they find the right spring brush combination.

Getting them to sell one of their good motors would be like trying to get a guy to trade his corvette for a pinto. Not going to happen.

They will share some info with you but most of the info they will not share with you. It is just one of those things that they do to stay above the competition.

Later,
Old 04-04-2005, 12:11 PM
Tech Adept

Default Stock Motors

You are right they are a serious bunch. I hear all kinds of things being done especially with magnetic fields being altered to change the timing to special wind that have epic27 lables on the armature. All I am looking for is a level playing field.