R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2005, 08:02 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Default Quick capacitor question

I have a lot of little caps, should I wire them in series or parallel for the best result? I'm thinking I want more micro-farads, so wire them in parallel? I'm not 100% sure so I want to make sure.
Thanks.
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 08:11 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
A_Stratus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 740
Default

Go with parallel...one path one current
__________________
Team Express Motorsports
HOBBYCRAFT CANADA
Rizzo's Rides
CEFX
A_Stratus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 09:01 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: farmington, mi
Posts: 695
Send a message via AIM to greencactus3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lazyeh
Go with parallel...one path one current
uhh agree with parallel but one path? parallel would split the paths. i think thats a bad description.
greencactus3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2005, 09:08 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Default

Alright, just needed to make sure. Hell, I could always wire in a series and parallel, lol.
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 02:53 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default

Parallell is the correct answer.
andsetinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 05:24 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,428
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Parallel. More capacitance and less ESR (equivalent series resistance).
__________________
Brushes? We don't need no stinking brushes!!!
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 07:29 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Grimsby, UK
Posts: 212
Default

parallel, if you wire it in series you will have the capacitance as follows

1/total=1/c1+1/c2=1/c3.....

as opposed to

total = c1 + c2 + c3
schumacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power capacitor question Interceptor Radio and Electronics 4 08-02-2008 11:59 AM
Capacitor question trdsupra88 Rookie Zone 11 06-27-2008 05:32 PM
Novak GTX - power capacitor question nikos2002 Radio and Electronics 2 02-03-2008 03:06 PM
ESC Power Capacitor question imel24 Electric On-Road 2 07-22-2007 01:49 PM
Capacitor Question TripleD Electric On-Road 11 05-28-2003 05:09 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:21 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net