R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-27-2001, 07:22 PM   #16
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Yeah, the 3D is pretty well bananced i feel..

If you get the 3D w/ the Spectra, it does come with NiCad's & a charger. It is just a wall charger, but it gets the job done.

I know i'm silly... But if i don't have a reason to buy it... I will get something else.. most likely non-rc.. Now how could i let myself do that?

I'm looking into getting a comm lathe soon too...... Hmm.. *looks at wallet* ... Uhm... maybe Christmas ...lol
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2001, 07:46 PM   #17
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

TSR6: All I use for my current futaba radio pack is a wall charger. Yeah, I guess I could make an adapter that will let me charge the pack with my Tekin charge since it can go down to .5amps. But the wall charger works fine and gets the job done in a few hours. Or I just leave my radio plugged up while I'm in the pits at the track. Either way, it does the job.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2001, 07:57 PM   #18
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

I accually broke my wall charger.... IT just happens to go something along the lines of something hanging out of my car going 65+ mph.... i kept hearing a clicking... and almost pulled over.... but yeah... i didn't... the one cord got chewed bad... but the one for the radio itself accually works still ( the RX pack jack is messed up pretty bad ) I plan on cutting the leads off and just using my PitBull to charge my radio from now on...
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2001, 09:05 PM   #19
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

TSR6: Uhhh, thats not good....... At least you still have someway to charge it.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2001, 08:13 PM   #20
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

will the spectra module work on a futaba 3PJ PCM?
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2001, 07:08 AM   #21
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I think someone mentioned that bellow, but there was no one that could comfirm that it could.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2001, 08:52 AM   #22
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Posts: 304
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Yes you can use a spectra with a 3 pjs

Darkside,

There are at least a dozen racers here in MN that use the spectra on the Futabua 3 PJS PCM. I own a LYNX 3d and have ahad no real issues with the radio.
Later
SWG
simulatedwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2001, 09:40 AM   #23
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

simulatedwood: Thanks for the info. But, again I state that this doesn't effect me. I have a Futaba 3PDF not the 3PJ.

I think it was marvi who was interested in that question.

Personally, I think the other radio companies, including Futaba, are lagging behind. Once people start to see others getting by without crystals, they'll demand the same from the big three. Futaba, Airstronics(Sanwa), and KOPropo.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2001, 10:14 AM   #24
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Posts: 304
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Opps, My Bad!

Sorry about that darkside,
I guess the question was answered for Marvi!
LOL, I need to quit "glancing" at posts
simulatedwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2001, 12:49 AM   #25
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the info i currently have a 27mhz module on my 3PJ and i plan to sell it along with some of my PCM receivers. im running electric now so i dont need PCM. i was looking at the hitec spectra module and the novak receiver to be used on my 3PJ.
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2001, 03:37 PM   #26
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Marvi: maybe you should hold off on selling your current module until you have the spectra and can be sure it works!

That is unless you've witnessed the 3PJ and spectra module working together in person.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2001, 09:44 PM   #27
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,583
Default

Mr. Mayberry of Hitec was caught once saying on another forum about the 3PJ and Spectra module, "They are the same size and I'm not saying it won't work...."
Sydewynder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2001, 11:12 PM   #28
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,117
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

thanks! well i guess im gonna have to rely on you people on the board because no one else on our track has the spectra. anyway, im just thinking of selling the module and receivers because they are still in very good condition. i would really lose a lot because of depreciation.
marvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2001, 05:53 AM   #29
RCTech Member #2
 
TSR6's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,951
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to TSR6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sydewynder
Mr. Mayberry of Hitec was caught once saying on another forum about the 3PJ and Spectra module, "They are the same size and I'm not saying it won't work...."
If you have someones spectra that you can borrow before you pay $90 ( ? ) for it, then yeah sure, experiment, then buy if it works. I am interested to see if it works just due to the fact that i have been asked the Q? before at my LHS.
__________________
Troy
RCTech Member #2

The postings and views expressed on this site are my own and do not necessarily reflect the positions, strategies, or opinions of any company I may be employed by.
TSR6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2001, 08:55 AM   #30
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Posts: 304
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default LOL Funny Guys,

Hey it is me again,

Marvi, I know it works because one of the guys at the track had to borrow my spectra after forgetting his radio crystals at home for his 3PJS. If you are in doubt ask the Hitec guys. Hitec and Futaba recievers are interchangeable too. The only hitch there is if you you have a dual conversion reciever you have to use dual conversion crystals.
At twincityhobby.com racetrack i would say there are at least ten people right now that have been using the Novak reciever and 3PJS w spectra for a month now with glitch free operation and no crystals. Btw: The discovery of spectra working in a 3PJ was complete accident by one the racers here. Go figure:
simulatedwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hitec Lynx 3D/ Spectra module?DCX RX and 5 Xtals DerekL R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-02-2005 01:44 PM
Hitec Lynx 3d w/ Spectra module and Novak XXL YBLegal R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 04-05-2004 11:24 PM
Hitec Lynx 3D w/spectra module AJD R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 12-13-2003 07:39 AM
Hitec Lynx 3D w/ spectra module, 3 DCX receivers, jjiimm R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 09-17-2002 08:23 PM
Hitec Lynx 3D w/ Spectra Module HikariRacing2 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 07-16-2002 12:29 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:13 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net