R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-29-2012, 02:48 PM   #91
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 862
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I haven't seen anyone ask and I was curious, but will bodies cut/drilled for the 10R5 drop directly onto the 10R5.1, or have the posts moved?
Serzoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:34 PM   #92
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 301
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serzoni View Post
I haven't seen anyone ask and I was curious, but will bodies cut/drilled for the 10R5 drop directly onto the 10R5.1, or have the posts moved?
Front holes are the same rear are different, but can be redrilled
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED==REEDY==LRP==FACTORY TEAM==COMPETITION ELECTRONICS==JACO RACING TIRES==SPEKTRUM==DYNAMITE== PROTOFORM==KIMBROUGH==REILLY PAINT WORKS==Sxt
walterhenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:36 PM   #93
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 301
Default

Adrain, the tires we got at the champs were not like that, no step
__________________
TEAM ASSOCIATED==REEDY==LRP==FACTORY TEAM==COMPETITION ELECTRONICS==JACO RACING TIRES==SPEKTRUM==DYNAMITE== PROTOFORM==KIMBROUGH==REILLY PAINT WORKS==Sxt
walterhenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 07:56 PM   #94
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 862
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I just looked through my oval stuff (all my WGT tires are Jacos..), and all of my BSR rears have the step in them, including the capped tires. I also looked at the rear hub on my 10R5O and the flange on its left hub looks just as short as the one in your pic, Adrian. I've never noticed the rear tires on my oval car wobbling or being out of round once mounted up, though.
Serzoni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 09:10 PM   #95
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I know...it's weird but I can put the BSR wheel on the hub and it knocks around the center flange. The Jacos locate on the flange but the BSR's do not.

My Jacos spin true on the car. My BSR's spin true on the tire truer but wobble badly on the car.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series

Last edited by AdrianM; 11-29-2012 at 10:25 PM.
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 07:29 AM   #96
Tech Elite
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I got the chance to run my wgt last week, it's off to a good start, can't wait to get out again this weekend Il post my setup next week, going in a little different direction from Walt and Maybell just to have another option.
__________________
Team Associated - Reedy Power - Sweep - Protoform - TQ Wire - Lacher paint
Mike Haynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:07 PM   #97
Tech Elite
 
Maybell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Haynes View Post
I got the chance to run my wgt last week, it's off to a good start, can't wait to get out again this weekend Il post my setup next week, going in a little different direction from Walt and Maybell just to have another option.
Do work Haynes! Run the heck out of it and dial us in!!!
__________________
Sean Maybell - Team Associated Region 11 Administrator

AE - Reedy - LRP - Hobby Velocity - XP Digital - JConcepts
Maybell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 01:30 PM   #98
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I ran mine last Wednesday. I am gradually drifting away from the kit setup too.

The softer I make the rear the better it seems to get around the track. It seems to make the car rotate better mid corner and exiting without losing any steering.

I am running:

.018" SpeedMerchant Linear rear side springs, touching +2 turns then tweak, with Red Medium Spooge (Going to try Green Light Spooge)
30wt in the center shock with a Blue AE spring (Going to try 27.5wt with Silver and Gold Springs next)
.020" Front Springs with Blue Heavy Spooge (Going to try .018's again)
Inline axles

So far everything I have done has yielded faster lap times and a car that was easier to drive. The fastest lap Wednesday was one 8.4. I had a few 8.5's.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series

Last edited by AdrianM; 11-30-2012 at 01:40 PM.
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:58 AM   #99
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 103
Default long arm top brace

I have modified my car with the long top arm, Initially made a brace with standoffs but found this was quite a bulky item so making a carbon one same as on the 1/12th .
In case any one interested in doing the same sizes are.

2mm thick
80mm long
4.40 mm wide
2.02 holes
73.50 mm hole centre

if wanting to use this on a standard car add 4mm to hole centre 77.50mm.HTH
RCvetran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:08 PM   #100
Tech Master
 
Dog Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,411
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Guys, ran my new WGT for the first time this weekend, and I was really impressed with it. I ran the stock setup, and I was able to lay down the second fasted lap in the a-main with it (well, technically 3rd, but only by 0.001 of a second!). For a first time out, it was great!

I do have one question regarding the diff - I was unable to use the plastic diff nut to secure the diff - it would not thread on, since the threaded part of the axle just wasn't long enough. I ended up taking the aluminum nut off my 10r5, removing one of the diff washers, and using the nut backwards. It held all weekend, but I'm confused as to why I couldn't use the plastic nut.

Anyone else have any issues with the diff build? I haven't compared the two axles, but I will this week.

Other than this one issue, the build was flawless. I know that I had a lot of people wander by my pit table over the weekend, and fondle the car I'm sure there will be a few more sales as a result...
__________________
Ken Miller
T4 2015
CRC Twenty5
Dog Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:02 PM   #101
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dog Bone View Post
Guys, ran my new WGT for the first time this weekend, and I was really impressed with it. I ran the stock setup, and I was able to lay down the second fasted lap in the a-main with it (well, technically 3rd, but only by 0.001 of a second!). For a first time out, it was great!

I do have one question regarding the diff - I was unable to use the plastic diff nut to secure the diff - it would not thread on, since the threaded part of the axle just wasn't long enough. I ended up taking the aluminum nut off my 10r5, removing one of the diff washers, and using the nut backwards. It held all weekend, but I'm confused as to why I couldn't use the plastic nut.

Anyone else have any issues with the diff build? I haven't compared the two axles, but I will this week.

Other than this one issue, the build was flawless. I know that I had a lot of people wander by my pit table over the weekend, and fondle the car I'm sure there will be a few more sales as a result...
I had the same issue with the short threaded sub on the axle and I inverted an allow nut just like you did. It is not perfect but it works fine so I am not sweating it.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:55 PM   #102
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Can't you use the "old" axle from the 10R5 or 12R5??
Hasn't got that one enough thread on it?
I never has any issues with the axles on my 10R5 or 12R5.

regards Roy
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:30 PM   #103
Tech Champion
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,914
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Can't you use the "old" axle from the 10R5 or 12R5??
Hasn't got that one enough thread on it?
I never has any issues with the axles on my 10R5 or 12R5.

regards Roy
I thing we just got some wonky axles with short threaded inserts.
__________________
Adrian Martinez
What I run: Schumacher Mi5/Associated RC10R5.1/Associated RC12R5.2/Futaba/HobbyWing/Team EA Motorsports/BSR Racing
Where I run: Florida Indoor R/C Complex/Thunder Racing/Florida On Road State Series
AdrianM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:44 PM   #104
Tech Elite
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,190
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RCvetran View Post
I have modified my car with the long top arm, Initially made a brace with standoffs but found this was quite a bulky item so making a carbon one same as on the 1/12th .
In case any one interested in doing the same sizes are.

2mm thick
80mm long
4.40 mm wide
2.02 holes
73.50 mm hole centre

if wanting to use this on a standard car add 4mm to hole centre 77.50mm.HTH
They made a carbon fiber brace that fit the 10r5 front end. Do they not sell them anymore?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Can't you use the "old" axle from the 10R5 or 12R5??
Hasn't got that one enough thread on it?
I never has any issues with the axles on my 10R5 or 12R5.
regards Roy
I want my old cars back! Tell them I miss em! lol
Josh-n-ya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 11:36 PM   #105
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Still got my old trusty 10R5 and running it with shorty's or 2x 3.7V 1:12 packs.

regards Roy


Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
I want my old cars back! Tell them I miss em! lol
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net