Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated RC10R5.1 FT World GT >

Team Associated RC10R5.1 FT World GT

Like Tree4Likes

Team Associated RC10R5.1 FT World GT

Old 11-29-2012, 01:48 PM
  #91  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I haven't seen anyone ask and I was curious, but will bodies cut/drilled for the 10R5 drop directly onto the 10R5.1, or have the posts moved?
Serzoni is offline  
Old 11-29-2012, 06:34 PM
  #92  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 302
Default

Originally Posted by Serzoni View Post
I haven't seen anyone ask and I was curious, but will bodies cut/drilled for the 10R5 drop directly onto the 10R5.1, or have the posts moved?
Front holes are the same rear are different, but can be redrilled
walterhenderson is offline  
Old 11-29-2012, 06:36 PM
  #93  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 302
Default

Adrain, the tires we got at the champs were not like that, no step
walterhenderson is offline  
Old 11-29-2012, 06:56 PM
  #94  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 905
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I just looked through my oval stuff (all my WGT tires are Jacos..), and all of my BSR rears have the step in them, including the capped tires. I also looked at the rear hub on my 10R5O and the flange on its left hub looks just as short as the one in your pic, Adrian. I've never noticed the rear tires on my oval car wobbling or being out of round once mounted up, though.
Serzoni is offline  
Old 11-29-2012, 08:10 PM
  #95  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I know...it's weird but I can put the BSR wheel on the hub and it knocks around the center flange. The Jacos locate on the flange but the BSR's do not.

My Jacos spin true on the car. My BSR's spin true on the tire truer but wobble badly on the car.

Last edited by AdrianM; 11-29-2012 at 09:25 PM.
AdrianM is offline  
Old 11-30-2012, 06:29 AM
  #96  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Mike Haynes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Area 51
Posts: 3,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I got the chance to run my wgt last week, it's off to a good start, can't wait to get out again this weekend Il post my setup next week, going in a little different direction from Walt and Maybell just to have another option.
Mike Haynes is offline  
Old 11-30-2012, 12:07 PM
  #97  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Maybell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle
Posts: 2,109
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mike Haynes View Post
I got the chance to run my wgt last week, it's off to a good start, can't wait to get out again this weekend Il post my setup next week, going in a little different direction from Walt and Maybell just to have another option.
Do work Haynes! Run the heck out of it and dial us in!!!
Maybell is offline  
Old 11-30-2012, 12:30 PM
  #98  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I ran mine last Wednesday. I am gradually drifting away from the kit setup too.

The softer I make the rear the better it seems to get around the track. It seems to make the car rotate better mid corner and exiting without losing any steering.

I am running:

.018" SpeedMerchant Linear rear side springs, touching +2 turns then tweak, with Red Medium Spooge (Going to try Green Light Spooge)
30wt in the center shock with a Blue AE spring (Going to try 27.5wt with Silver and Gold Springs next)
.020" Front Springs with Blue Heavy Spooge (Going to try .018's again)
Inline axles

So far everything I have done has yielded faster lap times and a car that was easier to drive. The fastest lap Wednesday was one 8.4. I had a few 8.5's.

Last edited by AdrianM; 11-30-2012 at 12:40 PM.
AdrianM is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 09:58 AM
  #99  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 103
Default long arm top brace

I have modified my car with the long top arm, Initially made a brace with standoffs but found this was quite a bulky item so making a carbon one same as on the 1/12th .
In case any one interested in doing the same sizes are.

2mm thick
80mm long
4.40 mm wide
2.02 holes
73.50 mm hole centre

if wanting to use this on a standard car add 4mm to hole centre 77.50mm.HTH
RCvetran is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 11:08 AM
  #100  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Dog Bone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,424
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Guys, ran my new WGT for the first time this weekend, and I was really impressed with it. I ran the stock setup, and I was able to lay down the second fasted lap in the a-main with it (well, technically 3rd, but only by 0.001 of a second!). For a first time out, it was great!

I do have one question regarding the diff - I was unable to use the plastic diff nut to secure the diff - it would not thread on, since the threaded part of the axle just wasn't long enough. I ended up taking the aluminum nut off my 10r5, removing one of the diff washers, and using the nut backwards. It held all weekend, but I'm confused as to why I couldn't use the plastic nut.

Anyone else have any issues with the diff build? I haven't compared the two axles, but I will this week.

Other than this one issue, the build was flawless. I know that I had a lot of people wander by my pit table over the weekend, and fondle the car I'm sure there will be a few more sales as a result...
Dog Bone is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 02:02 PM
  #101  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Dog Bone View Post
Guys, ran my new WGT for the first time this weekend, and I was really impressed with it. I ran the stock setup, and I was able to lay down the second fasted lap in the a-main with it (well, technically 3rd, but only by 0.001 of a second!). For a first time out, it was great!

I do have one question regarding the diff - I was unable to use the plastic diff nut to secure the diff - it would not thread on, since the threaded part of the axle just wasn't long enough. I ended up taking the aluminum nut off my 10r5, removing one of the diff washers, and using the nut backwards. It held all weekend, but I'm confused as to why I couldn't use the plastic nut.

Anyone else have any issues with the diff build? I haven't compared the two axles, but I will this week.

Other than this one issue, the build was flawless. I know that I had a lot of people wander by my pit table over the weekend, and fondle the car I'm sure there will be a few more sales as a result...
I had the same issue with the short threaded sub on the axle and I inverted an allow nut just like you did. It is not perfect but it works fine so I am not sweating it.
AdrianM is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 02:55 PM
  #102  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,181
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Can't you use the "old" axle from the 10R5 or 12R5??
Hasn't got that one enough thread on it?
I never has any issues with the axles on my 10R5 or 12R5.

regards Roy
Pro10noob is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 07:30 PM
  #103  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Can't you use the "old" axle from the 10R5 or 12R5??
Hasn't got that one enough thread on it?
I never has any issues with the axles on my 10R5 or 12R5.

regards Roy
I thing we just got some wonky axles with short threaded inserts.
AdrianM is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 07:44 PM
  #104  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (95)
 
Josh-n-ya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 2,837
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RCvetran View Post
I have modified my car with the long top arm, Initially made a brace with standoffs but found this was quite a bulky item so making a carbon one same as on the 1/12th .
In case any one interested in doing the same sizes are.

2mm thick
80mm long
4.40 mm wide
2.02 holes
73.50 mm hole centre

if wanting to use this on a standard car add 4mm to hole centre 77.50mm.HTH
They made a carbon fiber brace that fit the 10r5 front end. Do they not sell them anymore?
Originally Posted by Pro10noob View Post
Can't you use the "old" axle from the 10R5 or 12R5??
Hasn't got that one enough thread on it?
I never has any issues with the axles on my 10R5 or 12R5.
regards Roy
I want my old cars back! Tell them I miss em! lol
Josh-n-ya is offline  
Old 12-04-2012, 10:36 PM
  #105  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,181
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Still got my old trusty 10R5 and running it with shorty's or 2x 3.7V 1:12 packs.

regards Roy


Originally Posted by Josh-n-ya View Post
I want my old cars back! Tell them I miss em! lol
Pro10noob is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.