Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Shopping for small VTA esc? >

Shopping for small VTA esc?

Shopping for small VTA esc?

Old 10-28-2012, 07:35 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Shopping for small VTA esc?

Ok, I think it's time to shop, replace my GTB with something smaller for VTA. Baa...I like Tekin RS in case I want to run a faster class someday, but can't use a timing esc. So....I like the price and size of the spec Novak but the resistance rating is higher. The Novak GTB2 with xdrive seems nice but it's about same size as my GTB. So what are some good options here?
RCknight is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 07:48 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PITTSBURGH, PA
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Hobbywing justock
oceanhighz is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 07:58 AM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (102)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by oceanhighz View Post
Hobbywing justock
x2 on this! Great speed control and it is 49.75 right now. I ordered mine and had it in 3 days!

http://www.falconsekido.com/products...c-esc-for-1-10
ricerscott is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 08:25 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ricerscott View Post
x2 on this! Great speed control and it is 49.75 right now. I ordered mine and had it in 3 days!

http://www.falconsekido.com/products...c-esc-for-1-10
Wow I'm impressed, does it have a Novak style motor plug?
RCknight is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 08:25 AM
  #5  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (38)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 745
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Is that hobbywing smaller than the ESC he is replacing? If you are limited to a speed control that doesn't allow timing in any configuration the Novak Edge will be the smallests. The Speed Passion Reventon Stock Spec is also a good choice and a bit smaller than the GTB but not as small as the Edge.
linkless is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 08:35 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (32)
 
markt311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nashville Tennessee
Posts: 1,373
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by linkless View Post
Is that hobbywing smaller than the ESC he is replacing? If you are limited to a speed control that doesn't allow timing in any configuration the Novak Edge will be the smallests. The Speed Passion Reventon Stock Spec is also a good choice and a bit smaller than the GTB but not as small as the Edge.
The Hobbywing is 28mm x 32mm pretty small. Standard sensor port
markt311 is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 08:44 AM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (2)
 
DARKSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nashville-Memphis
Posts: 9,242
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

the Edge is the smallest esc on the list(mongoose), the Speed Passion Citrix is next...
DARKSIDE is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 08:59 AM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 908
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

I can attest to the fact that the justock is smaller than a Novak GTB and a GTB2. It's just about the same size as a Novak Edge.

Before I switched to the Hobbywing, I had to mount my receiver on top of my servo (stupid Airtronics receivers are so large) when I used the GTB2. After switching, I can get it all down onto the chassis.
hyujmn is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 09:08 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PITTSBURGH, PA
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Price wise, I'd take the hobbywing justock over the edge and ive had 2 edges for about a year, counting lights and memorizing gets old compared to using the program card.
oceanhighz is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 10:46 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
RCknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,294
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

I've always run Novak, but I may venture out this time. Novak seems to be re labeling, and considering production costs over performance. Where's the small, compact, and low resistance stock est? Nothing fits the bill, so I may try this one. Thanks for the info.
RCknight is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 11:29 AM
  #11  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 207
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Reflex racing has the hobbywing esc if you don't want to order from overseas.
anr211 is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 12:19 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (22)
 
CraigMBA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valley of the Dirt, CA
Posts: 2,832
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RCknight View Post
Novak seems to be re labeling, and considering production costs over performance.
Why do you say that? Just curious.
CraigMBA is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 12:44 PM
  #13  
Moderator
iTrader: (11)
 
Deja Vu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Omaha, Ne
Posts: 1,015
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigMBA View Post
Why do you say that? Just curious.
I too have to ask why do you say that?

There are a lot of re-labeled ESCs out there, but Novaks aren't one of them. They are typically price competitive and competent. I run them almost exclusively anymore.

The Novak Club is another option for VTA. It's even less costly than the Edge, is just as tiny and works well for the class. I am running 3 of 'em now with no trouble and my cars are very competitive (in the hands of a good driver lol).
Deja Vu is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 12:45 PM
  #14  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (44)
 
YR4Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 5,637
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by oceanhighz View Post
Price wise, I'd take the hobbywing justock over the edge and ive had 2 edges for about a year, counting lights and memorizing gets old compared to using the program card.
The program card is another $20 on top of the cost of the speed control. It is a necessary must have to program the Juststock. Although the instructions says you can program using the set button on the switch, it is almost impossible to do so.

Also the program box will allow you to download the latest firmware for the speed control. This is a must have because the new firmware fixed the speed controls problems of not having enough brake out of the box.
YR4Dude is offline  
Old 10-28-2012, 12:54 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: PITTSBURGH, PA
Posts: 2,162
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

I've never had a problem programming via the lights on the Hobbywing, just the same as a novak. I happen to have a program card because I have another of their esc's in my WGT.
oceanhighz is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.