R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-19-2012, 09:34 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default Problem with MMP, please help!

I'm having a problem with my Mamba Max Pro ESC. I've tried multiple batteries and motors so I know those are not the issue. When I first power up the ESC it turns on fine, making the motor emit the proper start-up tones. After the start-up tones, I get a blinking yellow LED which is normal. I can apply very light throttle and get the motor to turn, but as soon as I apply any more than 10-15% throttle, the ESC cuts out and I get blinking green and yellow LEDs. I've read that this indicates low-voltage cut-off, but this happens on multiple freshly charged lipos. Any suggestions?
bflan2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 09:53 PM   #2
Tech Addict
 
dubum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 744
Trader Rating: 85 (98%+)
Default

Same thing happened to my sons MMP is his Slash. I couldn't figure it out either until I finally decided to remove the switch. Guess what, it was the switch! We had just been running in some very dusty conditions and it started acting up as you described. I cut the switch off, twisted the wires together to complete the circuit and shrunk the heat shrink tubing to keep it contained. Add the heat shrink tubing first btw

Good luck
dubum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 10:13 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

My switch is already removed, but I will take the case off and bypass it directly on the circuit board to see if that does the trick. It has all new wires and solder connections for the battery leads and the motor leads, so all that should be fine. But I remember the switch wiring looking a little messy, hopefully that's the issue. Thanks, dubum.
bflan2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 11:32 PM   #4
Tech Regular
 
Joe Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 287
Send a message via AIM to Joe Ford
Default

If you have a Castle Link try updating/reflashing the software on the controller, and make sure the ESC is set for "auto-lipo" and "3.2v/cell". Retest. If a sensored motor try replacing the sensor wire first, then the motor/sensor board. All else fails send it in and we'll see what's going on.

http://castlecreations.com/support/repairs.html
http://castlecreations.com/support/s...quest_form.pdf
__________________
Joe Ford
Product Specialist
Castle Creations
Joe Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 11:46 PM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Ford View Post
If you have a Castle Link try updating/reflashing the software on the controller, and make sure the ESC is set for "auto-lipo" and "3.2v/cell". Retest. If a sensored motor try replacing the sensor wire first, then the motor/sensor board. All else fails send it in and we'll see what's going on.

http://castlecreations.com/support/repairs.html
http://castlecreations.com/support/s...quest_form.pdf
I have the field link, I've updated the firmware but I'll reflash it and reset the lipo settings, thanks Joe!
bflan2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 11:57 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
lbenton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fort Worth Tx
Posts: 2,132
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Ford View Post
If you have a Castle Link try updating/reflashing the software on the controller, and make sure the ESC is set for "auto-lipo" and "3.2v/cell". Retest. If a sensored motor try replacing the sensor wire first, then the motor/sensor board. All else fails send it in and we'll see what's going on.

http://castlecreations.com/support/repairs.html
http://castlecreations.com/support/s...quest_form.pdf
I had a bad sensor kill power to a MMP before, it would go OK for a bit and die, all power would be off for a while then several long minutes later it would power back up and repeat the aggravation. Replaced the sensor board on the motor and it cleared all that up and ran like a top.

So remove the sensor wire, ignore the cogging issue that will cause long enough to see if that fixes this problem. If that is the case it is either the wire or the board.
lbenton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:24 AM   #7
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

Redo your Calibration of TX. & make sure it's not set for brushed motor.
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 02:51 AM   #8
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 184
Default

In my mmp it was the bec, which was weak depending on the servo (savox power suckers), so external bec may help.
__________________
Serpent Cobra E RTR, HB VE8, Summit, Vaterra Kemora/Kalahari, XRAY X10, XRAY X12
Buying and selling as tracks open and close
hoousi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:47 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Central Wisconsin USA
Posts: 3,338
Trader Rating: 217 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bflan2001 View Post
I'm having a problem with my Mamba Max Pro ESC. I've tried multiple batteries and motors so I know those are not the issue. When I first power up the ESC it turns on fine, making the motor emit the proper start-up tones. After the start-up tones, I get a blinking yellow LED which is normal. I can apply very light throttle and get the motor to turn, but as soon as I apply any more than 10-15% throttle, the ESC cuts out and I get blinking green and yellow LEDs. I've read that this indicates low-voltage cut-off, but this happens on multiple freshly charged lipos. Any suggestions?
You could try disabling the cutoff and see if that helps. Be careful when running and bashing so you don't run the battery too low!
Andy Koback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 04:00 PM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the help so far guys, here is the update:

I reflashed the firmware, and also tried downgrading to the newest full release (not the newest beta), but that didn't change anything. I removed the switch completely and bridged the connections at the circuit board, again no change. Recalibrated the ESC & TX, switched to an AM rx/tx to eliminate binding as an issue, and reset all the lipo & power settings to factory defaults.

None of that changed anything, so I finally tried disabling the lipo cut-off, and it works but not well. If I ease into the throttle I get very little power, and if I hit it hard I get full power for about half a second and then it drops down sharply. I tried different lipos and got the same results. So with that said, where should I go from here? Again I appreciate all the help so far, hopefully I can get this fixed this weekend.


One thing I just thought about is the battery connector. It's new which is why I haven't considered it as an issue, but I suppose it is possible that I have a weak solder connection there. I'll take that apart right now and resolder those just to make sure, but I'm not new to soldering so I doubt that is the issue.
bflan2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:30 AM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Bump
bflan2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 01:58 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: California
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

bump
bflan2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 06:36 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
Geezatec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,460
Default

What Radio system are you useing? How Lipo useing?
Geezatec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ODD CUTTING OUT OF POWER PROBLEM IN 4X4 SC twisted Radio and Electronics 7 08-09-2012 06:54 PM
Having Problems with my Pro4 and Orion Speed Control. Please Help. SixFeetDeep Electric Off-Road 14 07-24-2012 09:20 AM
OMG Please help!!!! b.mcdaniel.2009 Electric Off-Road 52 02-25-2011 04:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:49 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net