R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2005, 06:10 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
revzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nor * Cal
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default Brushless maintenance

I know Novak says zero maintenance but dirt will definately build up escpecially around the bearings. What do you guys do for maintenance? Any good sites?
revzalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 06:41 PM   #2
Registered User
 
RC Noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to RC Noob Send a message via MSN to RC Noob
Default

all you really need to do...is seal up the holes where dirt might get in...and once in a while, oil the shaft and clean the bearings and get all that dirt out..but that is about it
RC Noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 06:59 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 82
Default Novak ss5800 thermal cut

My SS5800 has thermally cutoff when using with new cells.

When use with my old packs, they are OK. Thermal cutoff happens once in a while when weather is hot.

Gearing is close to 7.5.
ah_liang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 07:15 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
revzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nor * Cal
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

What new cells you running? The Intellects? Maybe it's wise to add fans for those hot days.
revzalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 10:10 PM   #5
Registered User
 
RC Noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 246
Send a message via AIM to RC Noob Send a message via MSN to RC Noob
Default

im running gp3300s....but i dont know about other people..
RC Noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2005, 10:49 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default Re: Novak ss5800 thermal cut

Quote:
Originally posted by ah_liang
My SS5800 has thermally cutoff when using with new cells.

When use with my old packs, they are OK. Thermal cutoff happens once in a while when weather is hot.

Gearing is close to 7.5.
Just put one of those little Reedy fans on the speed control, over the fins...works great. It drops the temps by 40-50 degrees.

It really shouldn't thermal that easy though...you might want to send it in. I had one that would thermal easy and I exchanged the ESC and it hasn't thermaled since...even geared down in the low-mid 5's.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 12:11 AM   #7
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 82
Default

I read from somewhere that the early batches of SS5800 had thermal sensitivity problems. Maybe mine is one of them, had it over a year now.
ah_liang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2005, 12:53 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

That could be the case...mine was a VERY early one.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 11:08 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
17driver's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Mayville,Wi
Posts: 1,382
Default

A guy I race with has had his system for 6 months and has not done a thing to it,and it works without any problems.
__________________
Midwest malitia member
17driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 08:44 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
Turbo Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Corona, CA
Posts: 4,878
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

I ran mine since they came out (2003?)...I didn't notice anything until I tried to gear it WAY past the recommended gearing.

I love mine. I won't race at a track that doesn't allow them.
Turbo Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 09:04 AM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
revzalot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nor * Cal
Posts: 958
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I find the wires on the brushless are too bulky. You guys think 16ga wire will suffice?
revzalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 12:35 PM   #12
Tech Elite
 
kufman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Elburn, IL
Posts: 3,428
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
I find the wires on the brushless are too bulky. You guys think 16ga wire will suffice?
It would probably work, you will just lose performance if the wires can't pass enough current.
__________________
Brushes? We don't need no stinking brushes!!!
kufman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Novack brushless maintenance? LadiesFirst Electric Off-Road 5 02-24-2008 10:18 PM
what maintenance?? bigboss Nitro On-Road 3 10-09-2006 09:58 PM
Brushless motor maintenance uniquexme Electric On-Road 32 05-26-2006 12:14 PM
Maintenance For Your Gp Car mop_iko Rookie Zone 8 06-10-2004 01:07 AM
maintenance? cHckbOY5 Nitro On-Road 2 06-08-2003 07:22 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:13 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net