Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Device for wheel speed checking? >

Device for wheel speed checking?

Device for wheel speed checking?

Old 10-09-2012, 01:42 PM
  #1  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Radio Active's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,128
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Device for wheel speed checking?

In a nutshell: I want to be able to put new drivers in a slow class regardless of the equipment they have. The easiest way to do this is adjust the EPA of the throttle. But we hire the venue by the half hour and are really short on time at the beginning of the meets, so driving up and down the straight isn't the best option. I figure if I could just free-rev the cars and measure the wheel speed that would be pretty close to what I want. Does any one know of a cheap hand held device I could use to do this job?
Radio Active is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 05:09 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 1,260
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

A timing light and a mark on the rim?
HenBeav is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 05:38 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Mr RCTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,291
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Radio Active View Post
In a nutshell: I want to be able to put new drivers in a slow class regardless of the equipment they have. The easiest way to do this is adjust the EPA of the throttle. But we hire the venue by the half hour and are really short on time at the beginning of the meets, so driving up and down the straight isn't the best option. I figure if I could just free-rev the cars and measure the wheel speed that would be pretty close to what I want. Does any one know of a cheap hand held device I could use to do this job?
Check under a load with a simple to build dyno.

http://www.rccartips.com/rc-car-dyno-cheap.htm

https://sites.google.com/site/simpledyno/the-dyno
Mr RCTech is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 05:40 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (29)
 
silvalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 1,545
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

mark the rim and a strobe in a dark place?

Alternatively, do you have a radio with telemetry? I recall that the DX3S/SR3300T came with an RPM sensor, you just need a bunch of the stickers they use or similar...
silvalis is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 05:53 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
BlueGlowBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 1,676
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

http://www.extech.com/instruments/pr...=21&prodid=252

If budget is a little higher, this would be good....but again, it doesn't test under load....
BlueGlowBoy is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 05:55 PM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
RedBullFiXX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Intergalactic Planetary
Posts: 6,542
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

How about a wheel to wheel drive, with a rear end off of a pan car, and a silvercan as a slave motor
Measure voltage from the slave motor=rpm
RedBullFiXX is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 06:11 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,337
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

How about a bicycle speedometer.
trigger is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 06:54 PM
  #8  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Radio Active's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,128
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BlueGlowBoy View Post
http://www.extech.com/instruments/pr...=21&prodid=252

If budget is a little higher, this would be good....but again, it doesn't test under load....
Lots of good suggestions. I particularly like this one because it means I don't have to fiddle or build anything more complicated than a car stand. Also it's portable (we race at temporary venues).

It won't test under load, sure. But how much will that really matter in the long run do people think? I mean, after a short time it should be possible to get used to interpreting the reading, and the load isn't going to be too dissimilar between cars. I don't really need accuracy, just precision enough to know that the car will do about the right speed when it's put on track.
Radio Active is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 08:50 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
hotrod1933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: The Shire, Sydney Australia
Posts: 312
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default digital tacho

my first thought was same as earlier posted. but try this a bit cheaper.

http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=QM1448
hotrod1933 is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 09:46 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (149)
 
roadkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Max, North Dakota
Posts: 2,189
Trader Rating: 149 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RedBullFiXX View Post
How about a wheel to wheel drive, with a rear end off of a pan car, and a silvercan as a slave motor
Measure voltage from the slave motor=rpm
+1 for this idea, we use this on our bomber class.
invert the pan car tires on a wedge shaped board,hook up a multi meter to the silver can ,and read the voltage.works ok
roadkill is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 09:53 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,965
Default

Originally Posted by BlueGlowBoy View Post
http://www.extech.com/instruments/pr...=21&prodid=252

If budget is a little higher, this would be good....but again, it doesn't test under load....
That is exactly what I was going to suggest and I have actually bought the Jaycar version linked in another post above. Resolution is much more than you will ever need, and it's a piece of piss to measure each car.

But there is a problem. A good battery freshly charged coupled with a good speedo and a nice wiring job will give you a higher reading (no load revs will be higher) than an old tired battery etc. even if both cars have the same FDR.

I used the tacho to check there was no wear in my drivetrain that would cause the wheels to spin at different speeds (worn bearings, belts, etc).
niznai is offline  
Old 10-09-2012, 10:30 PM
  #12  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Radio Active's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,128
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by niznai View Post
That is exactly what I was going to suggest and I have actually bought the Jaycar version linked in another post above. Resolution is much more than you will ever need, and it's a piece of piss to measure each car.

But there is a problem. A good battery freshly charged coupled with a good speedo and a nice wiring job will give you a higher reading (no load revs will be higher) than an old tired battery etc. even if both cars have the same FDR.

I used the tacho to check there was no wear in my drivetrain that would cause the wheels to spin at different speeds (worn bearings, belts, etc).
Thanks for the feedback. How much would you say is the difference between good gear, fresh charge over older gear?
Radio Active is offline  
Old 10-10-2012, 02:10 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
 
niznai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: All over the place
Posts: 2,965
Default

Originally Posted by Radio Active View Post
Thanks for the feedback. How much would you say is the difference between good gear, fresh charge over older gear?
I reckon it can be anything, but I think you need to think how much a tolerance you are ready to accept. 10% wouldn't surprise me and that is a lot.

That said, a good speedo is going to deliver and sustain much higher currents than your ordinary el cheapo, so not sure where that leaves you.
niznai is offline  
Old 10-10-2012, 02:51 AM
  #14  
Tech Champion
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Radio Active's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,128
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by niznai View Post
I reckon it can be anything, but I think you need to think how much a tolerance you are ready to accept. 10% wouldn't surprise me and that is a lot.

That said, a good speedo is going to deliver and sustain much higher currents than your ordinary el cheapo, so not sure where that leaves you.
If what I measure correlates reasonably with car speed on track then that's ok. These will mostly be new drivers I'm slowing down, so I just need a ball park to make sure they aren't missiles. We can always make adjustments after the first heat, I just don't want to have to go to the trouble of straight line testing half a dozen cars if I can get close on a desk top.
Radio Active is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.