R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-08-2012, 03:08 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 37
Default Is it worth getting Drift assisters?

Hey all, I saw a youtube video of the HPI D Box drift assist chip. I was wondering if it is worth getting? My local shop sells it for $125 its a tad expensive for a small part. The video seems like it helps alot, I can drift already without it but on low speeds, I cant rev it that high otherwise it will spin out. But in the vid it seems like the bloke was really pushing his car with alot of speed and it handled really well. Reading the comments in some of the vids people say just practice and use your own skill and save your money as it can do the samething without the assist. Is that true or should I save and spend on the chip because I do like to drift?
Archangel22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:09 PM   #2
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 37
Default

Or are their better alternatives to drift assist chips because my car is a HPI so not sure if I can use another brand that does the samething for less
Archangel22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:33 PM   #3
Tech Addict
 
FauxMako's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 523
Default

You can use any brand drift gyro on any car.

But, you don't really know how to ride a bike until you take the training wheels off.

Having the drift box in the car won't help you learn how to drift.
__________________
Mike

3 3Racing Sakura Zeros: Mustang Boss VTA // Lexus LFA USGT // MazdaSpeed 6 TC
Mini M03 & M05
Life is better with a soundtrack
FauxMako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 11:12 PM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 37
Default

Are these compatible with redcat racing cars? I found a cheaper gyro from eugile for $13 and have checked youtube vids for HPI's version, Eguile and the T190 but I dont know if they will work for redcat. I dont think I can connect it to my servo. Looking at the pics of the gyros it has 1 cable that has 3 pins and the other has 5 pins. From my servo and receiver they both have 3 pins no 5 pin connection so Im not sure where to connect it.
Archangel22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:36 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
td-civ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: London Ont Canada
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)
Default

dont get one it will make you a lazy drifter its not hard to drift it just takes time

you just need to set your chassis up right and it will drift it self
td-civ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 12:42 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 276
Default

It is just an overpriced gyro..... get any helicopter gyro and it will do samething.....
__________________
http://www.gpm-parts.com
gpm-parts.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 03:40 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 111
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by td-civ View Post
dont get one it will make you a lazy drifter its not hard to drift it just takes time

you just need to set your chassis up right and it will drift it self
+1

D-Box is for rc rally and offroad. In my opinion it should never be used for rc drifting. Using a gyro/drift assist box, for the purpose of rc drifting, is shameful in the rc drift world
rudeboy03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:40 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net