R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 09-29-2012, 11:00 PM   #1
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Corally RDX Belt moving help.

Hey all, thanks for looking at my post.

I'm new to belt driven TCs and so I'm having one small issue after having just rebuilt a corally rdx from parts cars I bought.

The belt moves back and fourth on the pulley connected to the spur gear/lay shaft. It seems to move from one side to other pretty quickly.

I made sure the belt guide was straight and it stays perfectly centered on the front one way. Is this normal? It seems like under hard acceleration the belt may jump to the rear short belt side and cause damage.

Thanks for looking and any help you can offer!
Xenolance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 08:27 AM   #2
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 14 (94%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Timbo99 Send a message via AIM to Timbo99 Send a message via MSN to Timbo99 Send a message via Skype™ to Timbo99

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xenolance View Post
Hey all, thanks for looking at my post.

I'm new to belt driven TCs and so I'm having one small issue after having just rebuilt a corally rdx from parts cars I bought.

The belt moves back and fourth on the pulley connected to the spur gear/lay shaft. It seems to move from one side to other pretty quickly.

I made sure the belt guide was straight and it stays perfectly centered on the front one way. Is this normal? It seems like under hard acceleration the belt may jump to the rear short belt side and cause damage.

Thanks for looking and any help you can offer!
Hey there,this is normal.
I would suggest buying a belt tensioner which attaches to the top deck,this will really keep the belt in-line and also give you piece of mind.
Could try tightening the front belt slightly as the rear can be run a bit loose.
Also get rid of the one way and get a spool.(better corner entry).
Hope this helps,
Tim