R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2012, 10:53 AM   #1
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default Nosram pure 13.5T

Hi,

That's my first post and I have very small experience on RC cars.

I bought a used xray T3 and it came with a nosram pearl racing ESC and an old 10.5T nosram motor. After driving a few times I replaced the old motor with a new nosram pure 13.5T. After 4 minutes of driving the car, the new motor died... The gearing is exactly the same as I had with the previous motor, the same battery and I haven't changed the ESC settings.
After coming back home I realised there is an extra rotor supplied with the motor because some rotors had quality issues leading to quick discharging.

Is that a common issue with nosram motors? Is the motor going to be OK if I replace the rotor??
mike_GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 12:14 PM   #2
Tech Fanatic
 
UrabusDenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_GR View Post
Hi,

That's my first post and I have very small experience on RC cars.

I bought a used xray T3 and it came with a nosram pearl racing ESC and an old 10.5T nosram motor. After driving a few times I replaced the old motor with a new nosram pure 13.5T. After 4 minutes of driving the car, the new motor died... The gearing is exactly the same as I had with the previous motor, the same battery and I haven't changed the ESC settings.
After coming back home I realised there is an extra rotor supplied with the motor because some rotors had quality issues leading to quick discharging.

Is that a common issue with nosram motors? Is the motor going to be OK if I replace the rotor??
Mine also came with a replacement rotor and a note to change it immediately
__________________
Alpha Plus - alpha-rc.com
JQRacing - eu.jqracing.com
Blue Bird - www.blue-bird-model.com
Boca Bearings - www.bocabearings.com
UrabusDenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 01:28 PM   #3
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

To be honest, I saw there was a spare rotor in the box. But didn't read the note...

Now, I took the old rotor out BUT when I try to fit the new one I can't close the can of the motor! I am not sure whether the end of the rotor is in the bearing or not. Any tips on that??
mike_GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 01:56 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
UrabusDenis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 790
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_GR View Post
To be honest, I saw there was a spare rotor in the box. But didn't read the note...

Now, I took the old rotor out BUT when I try to fit the new one I can't close the can of the motor! I am not sure whether the end of the rotor is in the bearing or not. Any tips on that??
Hmm, if you opened your motor for the first time (which includes removing the roto) you probably found out that putting it back is a pain in the a**, which I'm afraid there is no helping There are some little tips and tricks, but it's a generally complicated procedure, you have to find out the best way yourself
__________________
Alpha Plus - alpha-rc.com
JQRacing - eu.jqracing.com
Blue Bird - www.blue-bird-model.com
Boca Bearings - www.bocabearings.com
UrabusDenis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 05:48 PM   #5
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Maybe the new rotor needs different shimming tolerances... Try to mount it without shims first.....
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 03:52 AM   #6
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Default

The problem was that I was trying to fit the rotor without removing the sensor first.
After removing the sensor it was much easier to fit the rotor in the bearing.

It looks like the motor works again with the new rotor. But I have to try it at our local track. Hopefully I haven't damaged it when running it with the old rotor.

Do be honest I am quite dissapointed that the new motor was delivered with a faulty rotor. If NOSRAM knew that there was a batch of faulty rotors, they should have replaced them themselves...
mike_GR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW HOBBYWING STOCK SUPERCHARGED SOFTWARE COBRARACING Radio and Electronics 12544 10-09-2017 09:03 AM
Open Drift Fun-Challenge @ Singapore Flyer 12th Sep 2010 SIA Singapore R/C Racers 68 09-12-2010 09:24 AM
HPI Open Drift Challenge @ S'pore Expo 30-May SIA Singapore R/C Racers 120 06-07-2010 08:46 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:46 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net