R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2005, 01:01 AM   #1
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default Batteries Question

Hi All

Do these sound like good cells?

3700 with voltage 1.202v Run time 660 sec @ ave. 20Amp discharge

Are the new 3700 cells going to fit an X-ray??

Thanks
Scott
acutts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 01:15 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,355
Send a message via AIM to micros_rock
Default

I wouldn't get any cells matched at 20A.
micros_rock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 01:21 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

I second that...

Industry standard of matching is by using 30A discharge.By using 20A discharge it'll be harder to compare with other manufacturer,whiich all are using 30A.

Orion just launch their's not long...The team cells are like 1.9+V and 460+ secs of run time...Using 30A for matching...
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 01:23 AM   #4
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default

Thanks guys ... thats what I thought ..... will only get cells matched at 30a then ..!

Anyone comment on the size difference between 3700 ... I am worried they won't fit in my new X-Ray 05 kit when it arrives?

Cheers
acutts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 01:57 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 140
Default

I think it highly unlikely that GP would release a cell for RC industry that did not fit the product for which it was intended.
Lano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 02:32 AM   #6
Tech Master
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by acutts
Thanks guys ... thats what I thought ..... will only get cells matched at 30a then ..!

Anyone comment on the size difference between 3700 ... I am worried they won't fit in my new X-Ray 05 kit when it arrives?

Cheers
It's larger by about 1mm in total diameter. Not a large enough difference to screw up fit in any modern RC-Car
__________________
"You don't get hurt racing little cars..."

-Me
Soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 02:47 AM   #7
Tech Addict
 
acutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 507
Default

Thanks
acutts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 09:13 AM   #8
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Send a message via Yahoo to koabich
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Soviet
It's larger by about 1mm in total diameter. Not a large enough difference to screw up fit in any modern RC-Car
Each cell is larger by 1mm. For a total of 6mm larger for a complete pack...that's a lot!!
Actually, yes the 3700's are large enough to to mess with the fit in a car. They will not fit correctly or as well and the 3300's do.
Cars that use strapping tape or have room for 7 cells (e.g. TC3)will not be greatly effected. But cars that use a battery brace with battery posts like Schumacher, X-ray, Corally...etc the batteries will not fit without modification. The modification needed involved widening the battery slots in the chassis for a good fit and shaving material off of the battery brace posts.

Just an FYI...Corally just redisigned the RDX chassis so that it is designed to fit 3700's...meaning that the 3700 cells would not fit into their chassis without modification.
koabich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2005, 09:37 AM   #9
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

According to what being said to xray forum from the designers, the FK05 is designed having in mind the GP3700. In case you use 3300 you might need extra weight from the batteries size!

Nick
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on batteries azgreg Rookie Zone 12 07-31-2007 12:56 AM
Question about running two batteries? GMSea97 Electric Off-Road 5 07-15-2006 09:40 PM
rechargable batteries question dohc91crx Nitro On-Road 5 05-13-2006 09:28 AM
Very simple question about my batteries! reznikvova Electric On-Road 3 08-21-2004 03:57 AM
Quick question about batteries plbman Electric On-Road 9 01-16-2004 08:19 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:28 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net