Xray T4 '13

Old 08-08-2013, 01:28 PM
  #4591  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by locked View Post
Flexes at high speed(some use a 5th body post to counter this)
Speaking of which, how are people doing that on the T4?

-Mike
grippgoat is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 02:05 PM
  #4592  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
Speaking of which, how are people doing that on the T4?

-Mike
Yeah, I should have added that I haven't seen anyone with a 5th post on a T4, yet. I think you could make a custom bridge piece to go over the front belt using two of the holes at the front of the topdeck that go into the bulkheads. Hard to explain the idea in my head, but I'm pretty sure that something could be made to work.

You could maybe mount one on the top deck's front hole that is meant for a belt tensioner, but it might be difficult to get it to not touch the front belt, and might be a bit too far back to be effective.
locked is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 02:14 PM
  #4593  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,834
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by locked View Post
Yeah, I should have added that I haven't seen anyone with a 5th post on a T4, yet. I think you could make a custom bridge piece to go over the front belt using two of the holes at the front of the topdeck that go into the bulkheads. Hard to explain the idea in my head, but I'm pretty sure that something could be made to work.

You could maybe mount one on the top deck's front hole that is meant for a belt tensioner, but it might be difficult to get it to not touch the front belt, and might be a bit too far back to be effective.
I have had a 5th on my car since last Oct . I'll post a pic in a few
jlfx car audio is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 02:27 PM
  #4594  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,834
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Works great I put it on that side since we run clockwise it keeps body from dragging if fenders r cracked any and I have swapped it to other side when we reversed the layout . it was a quick easy free 5th mount is at bottom of windshield I feel the perfect spot to get more strength
jlfx car audio is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 02:38 PM
  #4595  
Tech Addict
 
chasingthepack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: hanworth uk
Posts: 728
Default

or you can drill a hole in the shock tower etc etc
chasingthepack is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 03:25 PM
  #4596  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Uk
Posts: 65
Default

Originally Posted by jlfx car audio View Post
The RSD battery holders r the POO! If and when u get them make sure they don't lock down on battery u want .2-.4mm spacing between the battery and tab. It keeps chassis form tweaking and keep form bending them in a hard crash . I put a thin nylon washer under each so I could squash it to the correct distance . good luck
Ok cool, thanks for the advice. How have you stopped the battery getting amazed by the belt and motor?
Mwdynamics is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 04:12 PM
  #4597  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (37)
 
jlfx car audio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: jackson,tn
Posts: 3,834
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Theirs 2 small m3 nuts on bottom of chassis keeping it from moving in
jlfx car audio is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 04:25 PM
  #4598  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 183
Default

Why didn't u use the hole in the top deck next to the where ur post is in that pic, I've used a 5th body post once and put it there use a front body post cut down as appropriate then if u need to raise add washers underneath.

U don't need to put a hole in the shell just as long as the shell touches the post it can't collapse in.
Jampot is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 05:30 PM
  #4599  
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,912
Default

Originally Posted by cyba888 View Post
Anyone tried LTCR lightweight body? Would this work on 4.5t motor running asphalt?
Yes, but I found I was more consistent with a PF Speed6, think it depends on the grip levels etc.

I only use lightweight bodies as the cars handling is improved, it's much better at direction changes.
Skiddins is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 05:40 PM
  #4600  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (49)
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,524
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

I use two associated 12th scale body posts with set screws and mount it where the two screws go for the bulkhead caps on the rear of shock tower also use the nt1 rear bumper stops on the back of the car
Warren Weaver is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 09:47 PM
  #4601  
Tech Fanatic
 
cyba888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Taipei
Posts: 992
Default

Hagberg's European Championships 2013 he also used LTCR LW body. I dont recall seeing a 5th body post on his car. I do not mind the flex at high speeds as long as it doesn't slow me down?
cyba888 is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 10:21 PM
  #4602  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 31
Default

I really enjoy reading this thread, and watching you guys the masters at work with dialing it in.

I have a question: Am I breaking some unspoken rule of RC by having my T4 as a street queen and running it day in and out on my street?

I very much want to hit the track and keep it in tip top shape; but i need to feel the speed more often then i'm able to make it to the track..

I've noticed my chasis is getting pretty scratched up and I've sparked out many m3 screws at this point and munched up the $13 bumper, Can you guys that are track only post pics of the bottom of your chasis so i can compare.

Forgive the bald tires and the scratched turnbuckles (replacements are coming)


and clearly i have a new chassis purchase coming in the near future, any idea if the T4 2014 chassis will be compatible with the parts
BC2G is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 10:29 PM
  #4603  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
B00t13g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,041
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I would probably keep your t4 as a basher and get the new car as your track car. Did I just say basher and t4 in the same sentence?
B00t13g is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 10:37 PM
  #4604  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Los Angeles, Ca.
Posts: 31
Default

i feel pretty bad about bashing this... i'm doing it... but feel bad

i mean its a freaking 1k+ car....

maybe i buy a basher team associated street car and put a new chassis on this and keep it track only
BC2G is offline  
Old 08-08-2013, 10:49 PM
  #4605  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carrollton, TX
Posts: 908
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Damn that T4 for sure has seen better days.
hyujmn is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.