R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2005, 12:00 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Holland, Gouda
Posts: 113
Default Tuning motors with the Team Orion performance monitor

I would like to tune my motors with this new tool but can someone help me how to do this.
Can someone give me tips and tricks about this?


Arjen
Arjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 12:05 PM   #2
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

The main thing I use mine for is checking amp draw @ 2 volts with a fan and of course the RPM test @ 5 volts. If I have 2 motors that are really really close in performance and I don't know which is better, if someone at the track has a fantom I'll spin them up on that just to break the tie. All in all it's a pretty nifty little tool.

BTW-good stock motors should draw over 9-10 amos @ 2 volts, awesome ones will shut the unit off because the motor goes over the amp limit.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 09:35 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Guo Chean Send a message via Yahoo to Guo Chean
Default

Hi Does anyone know that does it have any difference from the much more racing surikarn motor master and team oiron motor performance? thanks
__________________
[FONT=Comic Sans MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=red]|HotBodies|HPI|Full Throttle Motorsports|KO PROPO|DSM|Nosram|JACO|MUCH MORE RACING|Schacht Design Works|[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]
Guo Chean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 11:07 PM   #4
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If the units you are comparing both have the CTX feature, I believe they are identical.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 07:41 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sin City - Las Vegas
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 54 (98%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Guo Chean
Hi Does anyone know that does it have any difference from the much more racing surikarn motor master and team oiron motor performance? thanks
identical.....
__________________
R1 Wurks - ActivRC - ApexRC - P1 Brands
ghoppa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 11:00 AM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

I bet I can cause the unit to shut down with a stock motor...
any stock motor...

These devices much like the APS 'dyno' feature are only really any good to see if there is anything seriously wrong with your motor.

Compare lets say a 19T Reedy Quad Mag to a stock motor... amp draw won't be much different, but the stock motor will have more rpm. So what does that tell you? Nothing...

The 19T has a lot more power... as any real dyno or the track can show you.

I have an APS and I like the features, I play with them, I can see what difference tweaking the springs does on a motor with NO LOAD... the motor may act completely different under load so what did I achieve? not much, but a cool toy.

Now if anyone with both, one of these fake dyno's and a CE dyno (not a fantom), can prove to me that adjustments made based on no load numbers work, I am ready to listen.
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 11:09 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to DavidAlford
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RC Driver Gary
BTW-good stock motors should draw over 9-10 amos @ 2 volts, awesome ones will shut the unit off because the motor goes over the amp limit.
Thats not totally true. Amp draw can come from many things like brushes not seated, bushing dry, ect ect. I've had motors pull 10amps and be a dog and I've had motors pull 4amps and be just insane on the track.
__________________
Hot Bodies/HPI | Jconcepts | Viper RC | Xpert | Sippel Speed Shop | Lawton RC Raceway | SXT
DavidAlford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 11:11 AM   #8
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

OK, I'll rephrase my statement...


Motors that don't have anything wrong with them tend to pull the numbers stated and have been retested on another dyno (Such as a CE or a Fantom) and confirmed my results were acurate.

Hows that sound?
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 11:31 AM   #9
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

Its reasonable to assume you the racer know what your best motors in your box are. Also-you should know what amp draw your best motors usually run at. So I think the MOtor Master and the like are fair "pseudo-dynos" for club racing. if the motor usually draws 8amps after 300 sec break in, but after a rebuild draws 4amps-WELLLLLL.....you might wanna cut the comm and try another type of brush.

Or if it pulls maybe a little less amps-but after checking RPM-you find it is pullling more RPM-maybe you can stay with those brushes-but go down a tooth.

I am patiently awaiting the disposable income to buy the Motor Master. Perfect tool for club racing and less cluttered pit space.

Last edited by rayhuang; 04-07-2005 at 11:38 AM.
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 11:41 AM   #10
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Ray, I used the Orion version all last weekend on my GT1 and GT3 motors, and you saw my car run. You tell me, was I hurting on power?

The main thing to remember about all of these things is that they are just tools (kinda like you Ray ). If you can get the most out of your stuff using this motor checker, then great. It's all about interpreting the #'s and knowing what they mean to on-track performance. Amp draw isn't everything. It's really easy to get a crappy motor draw a ton of amps because it's ineffecient.
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 11:48 AM   #11
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RC Driver Gary
Ray, I used the Orion version all last weekend on my GT1 and GT3 motors, and you saw my car run. You tell me, was I hurting on power?

The main thing to remember about all of these things is that they are just tools (kinda like you Ray ). If you can get the most out of your stuff using this motor checker, then great. It's all about interpreting the #'s and knowing what they mean to on-track performance. Amp draw isn't everything. It's really easy to get a crappy motor draw a ton of amps because it's ineffecient.
Agreed-I tuned via amp draw ONLY that weekend cause its all I had. I dont own a dyno-but I think having your motors dynod every few rebuilds is a good thing.
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 11:57 AM   #12
Tech Champion
 
RCGaryK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 7,331
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Whoa, everyone just saw that Ray agreed that he's a Tool
__________________
Site Content Specialist- Surface
HorizonHobby.Com

Horizon Hobby is on YouTube with hundreds of different videos! Visit us at
http://www.youtube.com/HorizonRCdotCom
RCGaryK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 12:27 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
JFCJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cincinnati Area
Posts: 1,024
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Motor master

Say, you have two motors in your pitbox that you know nothing about, as far as performance... test each one with the CTX or any function on a motor master...

What metric would you use for your "best guess" in selecting which motor to use?

1. Lower average Amps; Higher RPM?
2. Higher average Amps; Same RPM?
3. Higher average Amps; Lower RPM?
4. ...
...

J

__________________
* www.tsrcar.com * John's BSR Racing Tires * Serpent America * BOCA Bearings *
JFCJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 12:39 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 444
Default

None of the above....

Record the #'s and then run the motors, and see which one runs better. At least you have some sort of baseline.
MartynD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 01:16 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to DavidAlford
Default

I'm not saying amp draw isnt important. It is, but there are many factors that go into amp draw..
__________________
Hot Bodies/HPI | Jconcepts | Viper RC | Xpert | Sippel Speed Shop | Lawton RC Raceway | SXT
DavidAlford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS/FT TEAM ORION MOTOR PERFORMANCE MONITOR Sigearhead R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 11-14-2007 12:33 AM
Team Orion Motor Performance Monitor V2 Chris Mac R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 03-08-2007 12:04 PM
Team Orion Motor Performance Monitor Ginsu R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 08-19-2005 09:03 AM
Team Orion Motor Performance Monitor 2 rc-car-net Electric On-Road 15 03-15-2005 10:20 AM
Team Orion Motor Performance Monitor jrighter R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 03-11-2005 11:31 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:37 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net