Spec-R R1

Reply

Old 02-26-2013, 04:40 PM
  #1036  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Pit-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali/Texas
Posts: 2,332
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

My S1 don't have info on how to put these opt. swaybars in or the screws....ugh!
Pit-racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 04:55 PM
  #1037  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
nrtv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 893
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pit-racer View Post
My S1 don't have info on how to put these opt. swaybars in or the screws....ugh!
Yea I had to reference the R1 manual
nrtv20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 04:56 PM
  #1038  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indianapolis give or take...
Posts: 659
Default

Originally Posted by Pit-racer View Post
My S1 don't have info on how to put these opt. swaybars in or the screws....ugh!
Download the R1 manual from:

http://www.petitrc.com/reglages/spec...SpecRR1TC.html
.crispy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 04:57 PM
  #1039  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (148)
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,775
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Pit-racer View Post
My S1 don't have info on how to put these opt. swaybars in or the screws....ugh!
The S1 kit does include the hardware, just missing the sway bars and a few set screws. I used a set of sway bars from my Sakura Zero S sedan.
SteveM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 04:59 PM
  #1040  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
nrtv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 893
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris85 View Post
But why does the S1 have 50mm in the front? I thought, the drivetrain from the R1 and S1 is the same?
I ordered the 3Racing 52mm SSK (for Xray T3) for my S1. Hope, the will fit.

Regards,

Chris
I was under the impression the S1 is 50mm because the suspension pivots supplied have more restrictions in adjustments. The R1 has the nice aluminum pieces with inserts
nrtv20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 11:23 PM
  #1041  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 12
Default

Originally Posted by SteveM View Post
The S1 kit does include the hardware, just missing the sway bars and a few set screws. I used a set of sway bars from my Sakura Zero S sedan.
Do you have a picture for us?

Are you using the front or rear sway bars from the Sakura Zero S?

Regards,

Chris

P.S. The 3Racing 52mm SSK (Xray T3) came yesterday, and they fit perfectly the S1
Chris85 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 03:21 AM
  #1042  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (148)
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,775
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Chris85 View Post
Do you have a picture for us?

Are you using the front or rear sway bars from the Sakura Zero S?

Regards,

Chris

P.S. The 3Racing 52mm SSK (Xray T3) came yesterday, and they fit perfectly the S1
Here are pics of my sway bar installation. I'm using both front and rear sway bars from my Sakura. I did have to trim the ends of the rear sway bar a little.

Last edited by SteveM; 12-24-2015 at 07:58 AM.
SteveM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:19 AM
  #1043  
Tech Addict
 
academygaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 718
Default

What brands of spur gear fit? Looking for another 84t 48dp gear, preferably in the UK as I need it for Friday.

Last edited by academygaz; 02-27-2013 at 08:35 AM.
academygaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:49 AM
  #1044  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Airwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 965
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Xenon/HB/Yokomo/Panaracer are fitting well.

I think 3racing too...
Airwave is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 08:56 AM
  #1045  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
nrtv20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 893
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I used a kimbrough and it works great. Don’t think it has the large clearance holes for a motor screw but thankfully Spec-R added that 3rd mounting hole.
nrtv20 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 09:17 AM
  #1046  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (148)
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,775
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by academygaz View Post
What brands of spur gear fit? Looking for another 84t 48dp gear, preferably in the UK as I need it for Friday.
I'm running the RW spurs
SteveM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:23 AM
  #1047  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

This has probably been discussed but I'll post anyway.

Make sure the main belt is a little tight. The belt gets extremely close to the chassis.
I tore my rear diff gasket too, I was delicate with disassembly.
The plastic shims are extremely delicate (spur shaft) - be careful I broke one, I'll wing it.
Watch the metric screw dimensions AND double check again. I thought I saw all "M3x8s" in the shock tower diagram but the screws were actually smaller for the top two holes of each shock tower.

This is for the S1. I really have no complaints just be careful and learn from my mistakes lol.
performula is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 04:48 AM
  #1048  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Pit-racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cali/Texas
Posts: 2,332
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

My S1 is all completed now just waiting for my VTA body to arrive. I built it slowly and tested each part during the build for any sort of binding. Only noise right now is coming from either motor or spur shaft area.
Pit-racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:42 AM
  #1049  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 490
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by performula View Post
This has probably been discussed but I'll post anyway.

Make sure the main belt is a little tight. The belt gets extremely close to the chassis.
I tore my rear diff gasket too, I was delicate with disassembly.
The plastic shims are extremely delicate (spur shaft) - be careful I broke one, I'll wing it.
Watch the metric screw dimensions AND double check again. I thought I saw all "M3x8s" in the shock tower diagram but the screws were actually smaller for the top two holes of each shock tower.

This is for the S1. I really have no complaints just be careful and learn from my mistakes lol.
I noticed on mine that the front belt actually seems to rub the cutout on the chassis. I'm tempted to take a Dremel to it. For now I just have some spare belts.
I used flanged bearing on the spur, so don't have the shims.
I ran into the same problem with the shock tower screws. I just wasn't paying attention.
Jeckler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:51 AM
  #1050  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
performula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CO
Posts: 1,729
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jeckler View Post
I noticed on mine that the front belt actually seems to rub the cutout on the chassis. I'm tempted to take a Dremel to it. For now I just have some spare belts.
I used flanged bearing on the spur, so don't have the shims.
I ran into the same problem with the shock tower screws. I just wasn't paying attention.
I thought about filing the triangular cut out of the chassis. A belt tensioner would help as well. I probably have the bulkhead tensioners set at 2pm. The belt is about .5-1mm away from the cutout. Could definitely be a potential problem.

On page six, if you look, the M3x8 diagram actually looks like M3x6 compared to page five. I'm really not rushing myself I'm just literally blind
performula is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service