Spec-R R1

Old 12-28-2014, 10:13 AM
  #3511  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,097
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

i have my old ltcr if your in a bind. front end is all smashed up since summer but doesn't stop me from laying out the smack at club racing.
ill prob be running blakes s2 for touring stock just for an extra class.
my focus more on pancars for wcics 5 but mod tc has received a lot of attention as well.
valk is offline  
Old 12-29-2014, 01:18 AM
  #3512  
DBM
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 907
Default

Thanks for the offer the your extra body. I do have a new unpainted ltcr that I could bring as a spare, although I find the ltcr to be a bit too unstable for me. My driving skills are still quite noobish so I need all of the stability I can get...lol.

Can anyone recommend alternate shock bladders to the spec-r ones? Mine are always leaking. I even machined down the upper shock cap a bit to get more clamping force on the bladder, but they still leak.

Ran the red doodle firebird on the custom aluminum chassis for the first time today. The car handled well and drove great, but it really seemed to bind up in sharp corners (we run on a tight tiny track), so I installed a front diff in it tonight. Hopefully the track is open for practice on Tuesday so that I can try it again.

The front upper ball cups popped off on me twice today on light wall taps. They are tamiya ball cups that I have had on the car since I started racing in March. I installed new ones when I installed the front diff.

I think my 21.5t trackstar motor might be on its way out. It seems to have much less grunt than it used to have. I acquired it used on a trade, and I think it might have had a few looong practices runs by the previous owner, so it might have gotten a bit hot, but I don't know for sure. I was hoping to buy a revtech killshot from a local guy but it sold before I could get it. Doh! Not sure what else I could get for a 21.5 before leaving for Victoria.
DBM is offline  
Old 12-29-2014, 10:17 AM
  #3513  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,097
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I ordered a set of yokomo bladders to try. Never had issue with the top of the shocks leaking but the bottoms sure do. Also gonna try yokomo orings.
Funny. In 17.5 I can never get enougj steering lol. My car is so aggressive and has sooo much turnin its offputting to most. Kind of a side effect of trying to get as much mod steering as possible.
valk is offline  
Old 12-29-2014, 12:24 PM
  #3514  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 333
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I use 3Racings bladders and TOP 30* green orings in my shocks. Got over a season on them and multiple rebuilds with no leaking.
Robbob is offline  
Old 01-03-2015, 10:16 PM
  #3515  
Tech Apprentice
 
Butler02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 92
Default

So with the R2 set to release next week, who plans on getting one? My local shop is putting in their order and they will have one coming for me!! I'm pretty excited for it!
Butler02 is offline  
Old 01-03-2015, 10:32 PM
  #3516  
DBM
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 907
Default

I ordered a set of tamiya bladders and two sets of c-hubs. They are being rush shipped to Victoria. Hopefully they get there before Friday. I go through so many bloody c-hubs these days. Thats what happens when you use aluminum steering blocks, eh?
Painted up my spare LTCR body. Hopefully I don't need it.
Attached Thumbnails Spec-R R1-20150103_001021%7E01.jpg  
DBM is offline  
Old 01-04-2015, 07:25 PM
  #3517  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (10)
 
funked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 241
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I am probably jinxing myself... but I am continually amazed at how tough and reliable these cars are. I bought a bunch of spares and they just sit in my box.
funked1 is offline  
Old 01-04-2015, 11:56 PM
  #3518  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,097
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

id LOOOOOVE to get an r2 right away.. but ill prob have to wait til outdoor season. spent quite a bit preparing for wcics 5 as it is, and after the race, i prob wont wanna spend on rc for a bit. but if tq gets them in in feb and the price is the $289, i could end up with one pretty soon me thinks.

still waiting on a few parts to get my r1pro refreshed for my big race. just painting bodies atm.
ps, matrix hobbies/blake carries spec r locally. he doesnt have a TON of stuff but steering blocks, chubs ect. i think he had some belts and hingpins and little stuff. I have shitloads of arms and random stuff so come see me if something goes bad.

durability wise heh.. i break steering blocks quite often, but its always in modified. stock i dont really touch the car a lot. if its fast in mod its usually fast enough for stock heh.
ill also be running his s2 in touring stock. hoping to not make any setup changes to it but him and i are very different in our stock setups.
valk is offline  
Old 01-05-2015, 09:52 AM
  #3519  
DBM
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 907
Default

Good to hear there will be guys with spare spec-r parts if I ever need anything. At the previous few WCICS events that I've been to, I'm usually the only guy running spec-r.

I modified a couple of right c hubs into left c hubs by filling the pivot hole with jb weld and redrilling it. If I break more than two c hubs, I should probably just pack up my stuff and just take photos.

At the airdrie wcics race, I ran my S1 in CTA, my R1 in mod, and my D06 in stock. It was my first time running mod. The r1 did fine, but my speedo was having issues (the more boost I ran, the worse the brakes got). I parked the car after two qualufying rounds.....I was having to start slowing down so early on the straight that I was going to cause a wreck.

A guy wanted to buy my S1, so I converted my R1 into my CTA car. Then the guy backed out of buying my S1, so I won't be running mod in Victoria. Probably best that way since I'm pretty slow in the faster classes.
DBM is offline  
Old 01-05-2015, 10:16 AM
  #3520  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,097
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I ran a 4.5 in s1 for ages lol. You would'nt be missing out really s1 has tons of flex and is quite good for mod.
And trust me, mod is quite varied at our race. Sure we have korgae and blake and the like, but a lot of stock guys just boost their stock cars to run an extra class. Our rounds are about 4 hrs heh.
valk is offline  
Old 01-06-2015, 10:13 AM
  #3521  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

If anyone is looking for a great VTA setup..
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...spec-r-r1.html
Pinebox is offline  
Old 01-06-2015, 05:05 PM
  #3522  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,097
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Got my refresh package yesterday. r1 got new shock parts including yokomo YOKYS-7HG YOKYS-8HD.
more reistance than the spec r low friction parts i was running but no leaks and still very smooth.
i might look at some coated shafts in the future that fit the guides a little better. tamiya would prob drop right in.

also added hard plastics and low friction belts.

rest of the parts are to rebuild the front ends of my vbc pancars.. getting to that tonight.
valk is offline  
Old 01-06-2015, 05:21 PM
  #3523  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
Infamous 1ER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: bergen county nj
Posts: 133
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Where can I get an aluminum chassis for the spec r1? Thanks
Infamous 1ER is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 10:20 AM
  #3524  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
rtenzo02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ca.
Posts: 256
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone no if I can use the r1 aluminum rear solid arm mount with the 2 seperate plastic rear s1 mounts and r1 adapters and get 3 toe in ? Thanks.
rtenzo02 is offline  
Old 01-09-2015, 10:24 AM
  #3525  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: CT
Posts: 333
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rtenzo02 View Post
Does anyone no if I can use the r1 aluminum rear solid arm mount with the 2 seperate plastic rear s1 mounts and r1 adapters and get 3 toe in ? Thanks.
Yes - all the same between the two cars.
Robbob is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.