R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2014, 02:09 PM   #2701
Tech Regular
 
daveaustin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've been running the Pro Spec for a few weeks now and I love it.

I'm having major issues with the steering rack though! The screws work themselves loose. On a couple of runs the screw has actually come out and ended my run.

It's the screws that mount the rack to the arms.

I've tried a bit of blue threadlock but they still work lose. At the end of each run the steering is really sloppy.

I've built it exactly as per the instructions. If I tighten the screws too much the steering feels stiff to move. Backing them off half a turn makes it nice and free but it feels like the arms aren't holding the screw.

Any ideas on how to solve it? It's starting to drive me crazy!!! Last race meeting I changed it over to the plastic one from my S1 I was getting so fed up with it.
daveaustin5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2014, 03:48 PM   #2702
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oshkosh, WI
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 40 (100%+)
Default

Try adding some shims under the existing spacer. Find the right thickness and that should space the center link from the arms enough to provide a smooth steering rack assembly. I see 3 Racing makes a 3mm shim pack in varying thicknesses.
Ropes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 12:15 AM   #2703
Tech Elite
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,025
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to valk Send a message via AIM to valk Send a message via MSN to valk
Default

really hoping to get some details about the r2 soon. couple of us are looking at picking up some prospecs. list of changes at least would be nice, or if the r2 parts will still be compatible with the r1.
__________________
My stuff
| Team Associated - Reedy - Reflex Racing/RSD - ProAMPS RC |
My RC
www.irocc.ca - www.wcics.ca - www.vrcworld.com - http://proampsrc.com/ - www.teamassociated.com
valk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 01:44 AM   #2704
Tech Regular
 
daveaustin5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 464
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ropes View Post
Try adding some shims under the existing spacer. Find the right thickness and that should space the center link from the arms enough to provide a smooth steering rack assembly. I see 3 Racing makes a 3mm shim pack in varying thicknesses.
Thanks, I'll give it a try.
daveaustin5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 04:49 AM   #2705
Tech Regular
 
mrjudd77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 251
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBM View Post
Thank you for your thoughts on the front diff vs spool Oldfart and mrjudd. I think I will try the front diff with 300k fluid. Wouldn't you know, tqrc is out of stock of 300k fluid. Being in Canada, every time I order, I pay $30-$50 in shipping, so I try to order everything from one vendor to reduce shipping costs. Looks like I'll be ordering from two different places again...doh!

Mrjudd, what radio are you using? I have been using a cheap Turnigy 3xs, but just ordered a Spektrum DX4S yesterday. I felt the cheap radio was creating some issues. I realize there is a love/hate thing for Spektrum, but I have a bunch of Spektrum receivers already, so I thought I'd stick with the brand.
I run the FlySky GT3-C. They are a half decent radio for next to no money, but I feel like it had come to the end of its useful life. I.E It responds slower than I do. I have been tossing up a couple of different Spectrum radios. DX3R, DX3C if I can get enough cash together then maybe DX4R.

I think that the radio upgrade would improve my lap times. I also have a new ESC on the way. I have been running the X-Car 60a but it was damaged recently so I have a new X-Car 120A on the way. I hope this will improve lap times as well.
__________________
HPI Sprint 2 Flux (second ed.) Porsche 911 GT3 (sold)
Spec-R S-1
Spec-R R-1
http://au.dollarshaveclub.com/ref/index/r/yc8/1wmmuv8/s/tx/cx/1/
mrjudd77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 06:19 AM   #2706
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjudd77 View Post
I run the FlySky GT3-C. They are a half decent radio for next to no money, but I feel like it had come to the end of its useful life. I.E It responds slower than I do. I have been tossing up a couple of different Spectrum radios. DX3R, DX3C if I can get enough cash together then maybe DX4R.

I think that the radio upgrade would improve my lap times. I also have a new ESC on the way. I have been running the X-Car 60a but it was damaged recently so I have a new X-Car 120A on the way. I hope this will improve lap times as well.
radio would MOST definitely improve your driving. the Flysky's are decent for what they are - but from everything I've seen, just don't cut it for racing (shoddy quality control, slow frame rate, slow response time, bad design, frail wiring)...Heck there are rock crawler guys that won't even run that radio - and that's not a fraction of the usage a touring car racer would use
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 07:24 AM   #2707
Tech Champion
 
SteveM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 6,304
Trader Rating: 142 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBM View Post
Anyone know if this will fit the R1/S1?
http://www.tqrcracing.com/shop/produ....asp?p_id=6978
I realize that its tooth count is 19 instead of 20 so will change the internal ratio. I suppose all that really matters is the inside diameter of the bearings.
I see an alloy R1 pulley on eBay at this link;

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/Spec-R-7075-A...item20e1df30c7
SteveM is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 07:36 AM   #2708
Tech Initiate
 
PEEKracing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Montreal
Posts: 45
Default

When I started out racing again last year I was using my 15 year old Futaba Magnum 3PDF it worked well, used it for a month or so. Then I got my R1 and F109 so I decided to upgrade to the FlySky GT3c and just the light weight was amazing, let alone other features that the Futaba doesn't have such as ABS brakes, small antenna. Just recently I decided to upgrade again to Airtronics MT4, and wow! That's a major upgrade, the whole thing is so adjustable, steering resistance, throttle resistance, steering throw, trigger position and angle. I haven't used it yet because March is a bit of a dry spell for racing around here, but I'm sure I'll see an improvement in my driving. As for the frame rate, lag and durability of the FlySky, I noticed no difference from the Futaba, though that's pretty much ancient technology nowadays. I'll let you know about the MT4 in a couple of weeks when I've got some racing done on it.

As for an R2, I thought the evidence was of an S2, and the R2 was conjectured speculation. It's too bad the SpecR website has no info whatsoever.
PEEKracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 08:44 AM   #2709
Tech Apprentice
 
Butler02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 92
Default

You'll be happy with the MT-4 for sure.
If you race at a track with guys using a FlySky, I highly recommend you stay away from Spektrum. I have noticed a direct correlation between Spektrum radios glitching and FlySky radios being in use near them. I learned from experience. I switched from a DX3C to an Airtronics MX-V and had no issues, and then bought a used MT-4 and I couldn't be happier!

Is there really evidence of an S2? I understand that one hobby shop has said that it should be coming out soon, but is that fact or are they themselves speculating about it? Has anyone else seen any hard proof from spec-R about it?
__________________
Lou's Speedway and Hobbies
Spec-R R1 USGT, R2 Stock TC, S1/R1 hybrid "Mod"
Airtronics MT-4
Butler02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 09:44 AM   #2710
DBM
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 665
Default

From what I've read, the spektrum dsm and dsm2 radios are susceptible to interference from flysky radios, but the new spektrum dsmr radios now finally have frequency hopping technology, so aren't affected by flysky radios.
DBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 02:44 PM   #2711
Tech Regular
 
mrjudd77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 251
Default

Cheers for the radio in guys, any further info would be great. There are alot of guys that are newer at our track using the last 2 models of FlySky (GT3B and C) and plenty of Futaba and Spectrum. I am leaning towards the Spectrum as it is the one that feels right in my hand. I will miss having the rechargeable battery in the FlySky though
__________________
HPI Sprint 2 Flux (second ed.) Porsche 911 GT3 (sold)
Spec-R S-1
Spec-R R-1
http://au.dollarshaveclub.com/ref/index/r/yc8/1wmmuv8/s/tx/cx/1/
mrjudd77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 03:53 PM   #2712
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indianapolis give or take...
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrjudd77 View Post
I will miss having the rechargeable battery in the FlySky though
Why will you miss it? There are Spektrum models that have recharge jacks. Just put in rechargeable batteries and buy the charger...
.crispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 04:36 PM   #2713
DBM
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 665
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by .crispy View Post
Why will you miss it? There are Spektrum models that have recharge jacks. Just put in rechargeable batteries and buy the charger...
I agree.....I solder a jst connector into my radios so that I can run them on lipo.
DBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 05:32 PM   #2714
DBM
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Saskatoon, Canada
Posts: 665
Default

Can anyone recommend ball cups that fit better than the tamiya ones? Also, I like the xray ball cups that have the access hole in them. Will drilling a hole in the tamiya ones weaken them too much and make them failure prone?
DBM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2014, 06:28 PM   #2715
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indianapolis give or take...
Posts: 659
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBM View Post
Can anyone recommend ball cups that fit better than the tamiya ones? Also, I like the xray ball cups that have the access hole in them. Will drilling a hole in the tamiya ones weaken them too much and make them failure prone?
What doesn't fit?

The Tamiya ball cups seem tight, but they're perfect. You can adjust your linkages without the balls popping off.
.crispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Losi JRXS Type-R Andrew Gray Electric On-Road 13454 07-11-2017 08:26 PM
2012 R.O.A.R Carpet Nationals andrewdoherty Electric On-Road 774 04-04-2012 04:26 PM
JR R1 Pro w/ case for sale... Sorcerer001 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 12-10-2004 12:44 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:35 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net