Spec-R R1

Old 08-12-2013, 02:08 PM
  #1786  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by grippgoat View Post
I wouldn't recommend going straight to an FDR that low. I'd start it up more like 3.6 and then work your way down depending on temperature and on-track performance.

EDIT: I replied to SteveM's post, but I'm actually talking to Pinebox.

-Mike
Thanks for the starting point!
Pinebox is offline  
Old 08-12-2013, 04:47 PM
  #1787  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
32819toon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North of England
Posts: 580
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=JimmyMack12;12437441]Link is incomplete and doesn't work. Try this: http://jfgifygufh.blogspot.com/

Thanks JimmyMack12 - try this link :-

www.spec-r-racer.com

Should have an update and set up sheet this weekend.
32819toon is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 06:49 AM
  #1788  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indianapolis give or take...
Posts: 659
Default

Can somebody walk me through the final setup of the sway bars?

I just added a set to my S1. I followed the R1 manual and have everything installed correctly.

I need to know do I tighten down the two set screws at the back of the sway bar? I thought the sway bar needed to "rotate"?

Also, what is the function of the rod stopper. I know it sits in that groove and does not allow side to side movement. What else does it do?
.crispy is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 07:17 AM
  #1789  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,128
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Couldnt resist. Picked up an S1 for $89 lol. Gonna run it in 17.5 stock with new orca power. First tc thats totally new for me.
Where can i get parts for the car? Got a few arms and hubs with it but thinking of upgrading the arm mounts right away.
valk is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 07:19 AM
  #1790  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 688
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by .crispy View Post
Can somebody walk me through the final setup of the sway bars?

I just added a set to my S1. I followed the R1 manual and have everything installed correctly.

I need to know do I tighten down the two set screws at the back of the sway bar? I thought the sway bar needed to "rotate"?

Also, what is the function of the rod stopper. I know it sits in that groove and does not allow side to side movement. What else does it do?
The two set screws in the back are only to stop the front/back movement of the sway bar. It still needs to rotate, so don't tighten them too much.

The rod stopper is there to stop the side/side movement of the sway bar.


Originally Posted by valk View Post
...Where can i get parts for the car?
http://www.tqrcracing.com
seems to have a good selection of parts. Plus parts from other names that will fit the car.
Pinebox is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 07:29 AM
  #1791  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Airwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,889
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by .crispy View Post
Can somebody walk me through the final setup of the sway bars?

I just added a set to my S1. I followed the R1 manual and have everything installed correctly.

I need to know do I tighten down the two set screws at the back of the sway bar? I thought the sway bar needed to "rotate"?

Also, what is the function of the rod stopper. I know it sits in that groove and does not allow side to side movement. What else does it do?
the small screws are there to limite the slop... you have to set them to prevent the BAR to move in its hole but not to rotate...
Airwave is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 07:41 AM
  #1792  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indianapolis give or take...
Posts: 659
Default

Originally Posted by Pinebox View Post
The two set screws in the back are only to stop the front/back movement of the sway bar. It still needs to rotate, so don't tighten them too much.

The rod stopper is there to stop the side/side movement of the sway bar.
Thanks. But... the two M3x10mm screws clamp them into that slot pretty well. So I'm wondering what the sets screws really do?


Originally Posted by Airwave View Post
the small screws are there to limite the slop... you have to set them to prevent the BAR to move in its hole but not to rotate...
I guess this answers that. Thanks both.
.crispy is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 08:11 AM
  #1793  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,128
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

There is a front and rear arm block listed there. Just one of each and two sets of split blocks needed?
valk is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 09:56 AM
  #1794  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sweden
Posts: 410
Default

Originally Posted by .crispy View Post
Thanks. But... the two M3x10mm screws clamp them into that slot pretty well. So I'm wondering what the sets screws really do?




I guess this answers that. Thanks both.
Originally Posted by Airwave View Post
the small screws are there to limite the slop... you have to set them to prevent the BAR to move in its hole but not to rotate...


If you dont use set screws the swaybars will have too much movement
Bappe is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 10:47 AM
  #1795  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Woodinville, WA
Posts: 2,567
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by valk View Post
There is a front and rear arm block listed there. Just one of each and two sets of split blocks needed?
You probably need the inserts, too. And pivot balls if the s1 doesn't have them.

-Mike
grippgoat is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 01:24 PM
  #1796  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,128
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Go the hex's, aluminum mounts for the front with inserts and some other little bits. $150 all in for a brand new touring car with a few upgrades and spares. Not bad! Hope it performs well. Dont expect it to match my serpent but if its close ill run in in stock and save my serpent for modified.
valk is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 04:02 PM
  #1797  
Tech Master
iTrader: (32)
 
VenturaDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ventura, SoCal
Posts: 1,133
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by valk View Post
Go the hex's, aluminum mounts for the front with inserts and some other little bits. $150 all in for a brand new touring car with a few upgrades and spares. Not bad! Hope it performs well. Dont expect it to match my serpent but if its close ill run in in stock and save my serpent for modified.
You should be pleasantly surprised, i was.
VenturaDC is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 05:14 PM
  #1798  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,128
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

For the price i got it, im most intersted in showcasing it to newbs who come check out the racing, only to find out how much it costs lol... hard to get new faces when you tell them it costs $1000 to get into.
cars like this are a great gateway, and if i can maintain my top3 in touring car with it, will show all the more what they can get into.

now if only i could find inexpensive roar approved drive trains.. right now its looking like speedpassion. but sucks to HAVE to send people to rcmart if they wanna get in on the cheap. roar is kicking our ass lol.
valk is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 07:56 PM
  #1799  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canal Fulton, OH
Posts: 597
Default

Originally Posted by valk View Post
now if only i could find inexpensive roar approved drive trains.. right now its looking like speedpassion. but sucks to HAVE to send people to rcmart if they wanna get in on the cheap. roar is kicking our ass lol.
Didn't know ROAR had to approve "drive trains"? Is there a set of rules on this somewheres?
JimmyMack12 is offline  
Old 08-15-2013, 08:06 PM
  #1800  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (13)
 
valk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,128
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Im talking about $85 motors and $150 escs lol. found a pretty good deal on rcmart that might be suitable
valk is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.