Spec-R R1

Old 10-13-2012, 06:17 PM
  #136  
OVA
Tech Champion
iTrader: (84)
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 9,700
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jeff jenkins View Post
So I went to the track today for some practice to break in the new car and all I can say is that this thing is great!!! Box stock setup was easy to drive and felt.pretty good. I made a few changes to fit my driving style and I will post the.setup but this car is right there with the rest of the crowd in terms of performance I am actually blown.away with how good it is out of the box. Very happy I made the decision to get this car. I like it more than my tc6 I previously had.
that's good to hear Jeff , How much did you have to change on the setup compare the box stock?
OVA is offline  
Old 10-13-2012, 07:26 PM
  #137  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (82)
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,077
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

I lengthened the rear link and moved the rear shocks in a hole on the tower. Used 35wt AE oil (425 CST) in the shocks. I was just making changes to see what would happen and kept the ones that gave better laptimes. I even ran it with the supplied roll center shims but found it too edgy for my driving style so I took them off. But I am wanting to try staggering the roll center and see what happens . Ie lower front higher rear or vise versa as well as anti dive and squat.
jeff jenkins is offline  
Old 10-13-2012, 08:05 PM
  #138  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (82)
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,077
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

Also to add I got a.pm asking about any broken parts and durability. During its first outing it did see.some hard hits . But good.thing is no broken parts to speak of so durability is good . When I hit stuff I make it count. Haha
jeff jenkins is offline  
Old 10-14-2012, 01:25 AM
  #139  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Default

@Jeff

Is all of this on carpet or on asphalt?

What does the car weigh raceready?
(your LiPo weighs...?)
Kensei is offline  
Old 10-14-2012, 04:34 AM
  #140  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (5)
 
Xenolance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Houston, TX, USA.
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Well Mine won't see the track till Thursday now, just got out of an overnight stay at the hospital, I'm fine but dead tired now so no racing today!
Xenolance is offline  
Old 10-14-2012, 06:41 AM
  #141  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (82)
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,077
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kensei View Post
@Jeff

Is all of this on carpet or on asphalt?

What does the car weigh raceready?
(your LiPo weighs...?)
I was running on carpet med traction . My car weighed in at 1367g so I had to add a little bit of wieght to the left side of the car since the lipo was on the heavier side. Not sure of the actual lipo wieght as it was a borrowed Lipo so didn't pay much attention to it. Still waiting for my battery to show up in the mail.

Last edited by jeff jenkins; 10-14-2012 at 11:02 AM.
jeff jenkins is offline  
Old 10-14-2012, 06:41 AM
  #142  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (82)
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,077
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Xenolance View Post
Well Mine won't see the track till Thursday now, just got out of an overnight stay at the hospital, I'm fine but dead tired now so no racing today!
Glad everything is ok!
jeff jenkins is offline  
Old 10-14-2012, 11:25 AM
  #143  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Default

Originally Posted by jeff jenkins View Post
I was running on carpet med traction . My car weighed in at 1367g so I had to add a little bit of wieght to the left side of the car since the lipo was on the heavier side. Not sure of the actual lipo wieght as it was a borrowed Lipo so didn't pay much attention to it. Still waiting for my battery to show up in the mail.
I am considering buying this car.
But it has to be as close as possible to 1,350gr.
Did you use a light weight body or not?
I am trying to find a LiPo as light as possible (<300gr)

Maybe titanium screws will help also.
Kensei is offline  
Old 10-14-2012, 11:33 AM
  #144  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (82)
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,077
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

I have heavy electronics so that is one thing to consider and the Lipo was heavy . I was using a light wieght body.
jeff jenkins is offline  
Old 10-14-2012, 11:42 AM
  #145  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (82)
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,077
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

Why does the car need to be 1350 g the roar limit is 1380g??
jeff jenkins is offline  
Old 10-14-2012, 12:06 PM
  #146  
Tech Adept
 
spacendeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Voorhout, Netherlands
Posts: 241
Default

Here in the Netherlands the cars weight needs minimal 1350grams. He is always thinking about some chassis... He is in more topics active... Also was in serpent and corally hmx.
spacendeman is offline  
Old 10-14-2012, 12:21 PM
  #147  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (82)
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,077
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

well im sure with the right electronics and battery 1350g will be easily done as mine was 1367g with heavy equipment before i added wieght to balance it out and get it to wieght.
jeff jenkins is offline  
Old 10-14-2012, 02:21 PM
  #148  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 388
Default

Originally Posted by spacendeman View Post
Here in the Netherlands the cars weight needs minimal 1350grams. He is always thinking about some chassis... He is in more topics active... Also was in serpent and corally hmx.
THANKS A LOT TIM
GO BOIL AN EGG MAN
Kensei is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 08:45 PM
  #149  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (82)
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 4,077
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

i cant seem to atach my setup sheet as it says the file is too big for a pdf?? anyone know how to get around that or how to shrink the file size??
jeff jenkins is offline  
Old 10-15-2012, 08:49 PM
  #150  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
wwddww34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas Texas
Posts: 2,560
Trader Rating: 9 (91%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jeff jenkins View Post
i cant seem to atach my setup sheet as it says the file is too big for a pdf?? anyone know how to get around that or how to shrink the file size??
Hey Jeff, you can go to http://www.box.com and create a free personal account. Then you can upload large document files to your Box.com account and post up a link for those files you choose to share.
wwddww34 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.