Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team CRC Xti 1/12th Scale!! >

Team CRC Xti 1/12th Scale!!

Like Tree145Likes

Team CRC Xti 1/12th Scale!!

Old 04-02-2014, 06:39 PM
  #1396  
Tech Master
iTrader: (63)
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati OHIO
Posts: 1,817
Trader Rating: 63 (98%+)
Default Front arm track width

Hope someone can help

Cpl of the local fast guys who run (AE platforms) have addressed that I may need to widen my front track with on my ego. Is there a longer lower front arm as an option vs the stock arm that comes with the kit??? All they have to do is shim the arm away from the bulkhead, what is our option with the altered ego platform??? Can someone enlighten me on any option please.

Thx!
ghoppa is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 07:33 PM
  #1397  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,125
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

how much wider are you needing to go? and what width do the AE guys run at, as you will eventually be limited by what maximum width is in the rules you race to.
I)arkness is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 07:53 PM
  #1398  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

max width according to rules is 172mm.
Andrew S is offline  
Old 04-02-2014, 07:55 PM
  #1399  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

why do you want to go wider? That makes the car have less steering and therefore slower.
I can see why if your on high traction and traction rolling or car is to aggressive.
Andrew S is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 03:46 AM
  #1400  
Tech Master
iTrader: (63)
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati OHIO
Posts: 1,817
Trader Rating: 63 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by I)arkness View Post
how much wider are you needing to go? and what width do the AE guys run at, as you will eventually be limited by what maximum width is in the rules you race to.

Im currently running 166mm the cars I mentioned are 169 & 168mm. They seemed just a bit more planted entering and in the middle of on throttle sections of our local track
ghoppa is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 03:48 AM
  #1401  
Tech Master
iTrader: (63)
 
ghoppa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Cincinnati OHIO
Posts: 1,817
Trader Rating: 63 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Andrew S View Post
why do you want to go wider? That makes the car have less steering and therefore slower.
I can see why if your on high traction and traction rolling or car is to aggressive.
the local track is super high bite for sure, I believe this will help, just need to know if there are longer arms available..
ghoppa is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 04:30 AM
  #1402  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 263
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I think it would help. Why can't you just add shims to the axle?
166 is pretty narrow.
Andrew S is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 04:37 AM
  #1403  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,125
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

not sure what your budget is but crc did release the CRC Pro Strut Front End (1/12th Scale) [CLN3240], which i believe uses longer arms
I)arkness is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 07:44 AM
  #1404  
avs
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
avs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,175
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by I)arkness View Post
not sure what your budget is but crc did release the CRC Pro Strut Front End (1/12th Scale) [CLN3240], which i believe uses longer arms
that is not new.

the xti uses a plate 32583 that would need to machined with a wider placement. a new cnc machined part more likely than a new molded plastic part. I don't see how to change the front width other than shims on the front axle or a different front wheel offset.
avs is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 11:37 AM
  #1405  
Tech Adept
 
gdiddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: the Senna S's
Posts: 215
Default Xti Inline for sale

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=141245290025
gdiddy is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 02:52 PM
  #1406  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,125
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by avs View Post
that is not new.

the xti uses a plate 32583 that would need to machined with a wider placement. a new cnc machined part more likely than a new molded plastic part. I don't see how to change the front width other than shims on the front axle or a different front wheel offset.
i never stated it was new!
I)arkness is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 03:22 PM
  #1407  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

Originally Posted by I)arkness View Post
not sure what your budget is but crc did release the CRC Pro Strut Front End (1/12th Scale) [CLN3240], which i believe uses longer arms
That is the same as the front end that comes with the car already. There is a longer upper arm option but that doesn't make the car wider and can't be used with the in-line version of the car because the servo is in between the front arms.
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 03:26 PM
  #1408  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,669
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by InspGadgt View Post
That is the same as the front end that comes with the car already. There is a longer upper arm option but that doesn't make the car wider and can't be used with the in-line version of the car because the servo is in between the front arms.
You CAN use the long arms with the servo between the arms. It will work on the inline car as well as the transverse car with the servo mounted up front.
Kave is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 03:36 PM
  #1409  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,191
Default

Originally Posted by Kave View Post
You CAN use the long arms with the servo between the arms. It will work on the inline car as well as the transverse car with the servo mounted up front.
You can use the long arms with the hinge pin in the short arm holes. But to use the long arms with the battery in-line the brace that moves the arm mounts will hit the servo. Unless you can find a really tiny servo that will fit under the brace and still give you enough room to adjust for ride height. Not everyone is running a servo that small.
InspGadgt is offline  
Old 04-03-2014, 04:24 PM
  #1410  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
I)arkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Victoria,Aus
Posts: 1,125
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

my mistake, i thought the long arm set was actually physically longer, making the front end wider,

so yes as AVS mentioned you would need to make a new carbon plate where the arms bolt onto to offset them out 2mm, if you are not able to just shim the front on axles
I)arkness is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.