Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team CRC Xti 1/12th Scale!! >

Team CRC Xti 1/12th Scale!!

Like Tree145Likes

Team CRC Xti 1/12th Scale!!

Old 12-08-2017, 01:41 PM
  #2431  
Tech Regular
 
Pinkz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Down in a Hole
Posts: 301
Default

Originally Posted by Airwave View Post
low grip chassis for CK25? Interesting. I'm running 1/12th outside, on asphalt, it could be great...
stock kit from what i have seen is killer on asphalt and gray carpets.
Pinkz is offline  
Old 12-10-2017, 01:05 PM
  #2432  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
tim fry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kent UK
Posts: 566
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So I'm just building my CK25 and was wondering what the views are on front mounted servo versus standard? I've always run it up front on my XTi
tim fry is offline  
Old 12-11-2017, 11:53 AM
  #2433  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (46)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 806
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tim fry View Post
So I'm just building my CK25 and was wondering what the views are on front mounted servo versus standard? I've always run it up front on my XTi
It's really up to you. IMO, if you have the Sanwa SRG-HR the front mounting position is the only place to run the servo. This position will probably give you a bit more steering as you have placed ~25 grams of weight over the front axle. This layout also makes for a very roomy chassis to place your other electronics. If you have a different servo, there is certainly no harm in running the servo in the traditional (behind the front axles) spot, but the car will likely handle a bit differently between the two layouts. Make sure you set up your ackerman angle correctly for either setup.
biz77 is offline  
Old 12-11-2017, 12:36 PM
  #2434  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (25)
 
MPisterzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 288
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by biz77 View Post
It's really up to you. IMO, if you have the Sanwa SRG-HR the front mounting position is the only place to run the servo. This position will probably give you a bit more steering as you have placed ~25 grams of weight over the front axle. This layout also makes for a very roomy chassis to place your other electronics. If you have a different servo, there is certainly no harm in running the servo in the traditional (behind the front axles) spot, but the car will likely handle a bit differently between the two layouts. Make sure you set up your ackerman angle correctly for either setup.
I've run the car in both configurations and would have to say that the SRG-HR front mounted gives the car ample steering and a bit smoother than a JR 9650 traditionally mounted.
MPisterzi is offline  
Old 12-11-2017, 12:47 PM
  #2435  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
RussF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 535
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tim fry View Post
So I'm just building my CK25 and was wondering what the views are on front mounted servo versus standard? I've always run it up front on my XTi
On my Xti-WC I had a Savox mounted up front. I always had too much steering for our gray carpet track and tried everything but moving the servo to the standard spot to get rid of it. I bought the CK25 and a new Futaba 9650 servo and used the nice servo rack they have. My car is now much more driveable than ever before for me. Its nice to use softer tires and try different levels of sauce and springs. With the front mounted servo I could only run the hardest front tires and springs and no sauce ever.
RussF is offline  
Old 12-14-2017, 10:08 PM
  #2436  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
fast-ho-cars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: it's a dry heat
Posts: 1,160
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

question on CK25 was looking at carbon front cross braces, long or short one fit the car as it comes in kit?

also looking for a alternative 2-56 ball cup. i have not finished my CK yet, but seems at the track, drivers having them pop off on even slightest bumps with other cars and delicate taps on boards
fast-ho-cars is offline  
Old 12-15-2017, 07:11 AM
  #2437  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (17)
 
f1larry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
Posts: 2,155
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

https://www.rctech.net/forum/electri...ed-fantom.html
Attached Thumbnails Team CRC Xti 1/12th Scale!!-3e9750fe-d4d1-4d6b-9117-0e8a7b9c72a1.jpeg  
f1larry is offline  
Old 12-15-2017, 07:50 AM
  #2438  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
RussF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 535
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fast-ho-cars View Post
question on CK25 was looking at carbon front cross braces, long or short one fit the car as it comes in kit?

also looking for a alternative 2-56 ball cup. i have not finished my CK yet, but seems at the track, drivers having them pop off on even slightest bumps with other cars and delicate taps on boards
I have the CRC3276. I've not had any problems so far with the ball cups on either my WC or CK25. I guess the biggest problem is they are fully enclosed making them difficult to remove. Some guys will drill out the back of the cup, I might try that.

Last edited by RussF; 12-15-2017 at 09:32 AM.
RussF is offline  
Old 12-15-2017, 09:22 AM
  #2439  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: CRC Raceway
Posts: 1,048
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

For the car as it comes out of the box, you will need the #3276 cross brace.
dumper is offline  
Old 12-15-2017, 09:33 AM
  #2440  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
RussF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 535
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dumper View Post
For the car as it comes out of the box, you will need the #3276 cross brace.
You are correct, thanks for the correction. I edited my post above.
RussF is offline  
Old 12-18-2017, 09:41 AM
  #2441  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
AMitchell05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Chatham, IL
Posts: 115
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Anyone else have an issue with the left rear hub on a ck25? I was building the kit last night and tightened it down to where I felt comfortable and it slid right off. I tightened it down a little more and stripped it out.
AMitchell05 is offline  
Old 12-18-2017, 10:01 AM
  #2442  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sniffin the 'Sauce Fumes
Posts: 3,563
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AMitchell05 View Post
Anyone else have an issue with the left rear hub on a ck25? I was building the kit last night and tightened it down to where I felt comfortable and it slid right off. I tightened it down a little more and stripped it out.
I can't say for sure about your particular case but the new two-screw hubs need to be tightened carefully, alternating between the two screws until it is tight. You cannot tighten one down and then the other, its a bit like lug nuts on a car.
DesertRat is offline  
Old 12-18-2017, 10:06 AM
  #2443  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (21)
 
RussF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Salt Lake City Utah
Posts: 535
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AMitchell05 View Post
Anyone else have an issue with the left rear hub on a ck25? I was building the kit last night and tightened it down to where I felt comfortable and it slid right off. I tightened it down a little more and stripped it out.
That sucks that it stripped. When I installed mine the first time I was a little tentative about tightening the screws down as well. I noticed that if you snugged up both sides it was still loose and required a little more on each screw to get it clamped firm. I did each side just a slight turn each until it was tight. I didn't strip it but I was nervous I might and was extra careful.

Is it possible that there was something in the slot stopping it from clamping all the way? I dont know what you can do from here other than get a replacement. Check with CRC they have superior customer service and would probably help you out.
RussF is offline  
Old 12-18-2017, 10:38 AM
  #2444  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
AMitchell05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Chatham, IL
Posts: 115
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I made sure to tighten both sides evenly at the same time. I didn't see anything in it before or after I tried putting it on. I have no problem ordering a new one, just didn't know if anyone else had it happen.
AMitchell05 is offline  
Old 12-18-2017, 10:44 AM
  #2445  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (57)
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Duluth MN
Posts: 611
Trader Rating: 57 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AMitchell05 View Post
Anyone else have an issue with the left rear hub on a ck25? I was building the kit last night and tightened it down to where I felt comfortable and it slid right off. I tightened it down a little more and stripped it out.
Not trying to sound like a troll here, but is the screw head on the open hole side, or the threaded side? We had a guy up here that tightened the screw til it wouldnt move and it kept sliding off. Found he had the screws opposite holes and there isnt clamping force. Just an idea to check.
RussF likes this.
Race19s is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.