Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
cutting carbon fiber >

cutting carbon fiber

Like Tree24Likes

cutting carbon fiber

Reply

Old 07-18-2002, 03:56 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
seaball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,304
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
cutting carbon fiber

how is this done properly?
i was using a 1/4" end mill in my router with great success, but i was tracing an existing chassis for most of the design. i was using a .252 id thin wall aluminum tube to ride over the bit exposing the tip to cut the blank while the alum would ride the old chassis which was screwed in two places to the blank. well after two inches the heat and force gobbled up the aluminum and into the template chassis i went.
so far, i not only screwed up my blank, but now the original is marred.
what can i use to trace to old? same idea, but with stainless?
for those of you who've done it, how do you do it?
seaball is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2002, 04:15 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Let a professional do it... I hope you have a good resparator on... Carbon dust can be deadly if you breath it or get on you skin.
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2002, 04:28 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
RAP66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 335
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthre...ight=carbon%2A
RAP66 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2002, 04:49 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Seaball,

I was going to do some carbon fiber work myself, my plan was to use a side cutting router bit, the kind that has a ball bearing on the end the same diameter as the cutting portion. Then you stack the carbon fiber plate with your template, and the ball nearing guides on the template while the cutter cuts the carbon fiber.

Like others have mentioned, use a really good respirator if you're going to work with this stuff.

Trips
Trips is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2002, 05:30 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
seaball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,304
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

hey trips,
that's basically what i did, but i made my own flush cutting bit. i have that bit for my router, but as you may have said, you have to space the chassis about 1/4 " away from the blank to clear the gap between the cutter and the bearing.
that's not a bad idea. i bet my flush cutting bit is way to dull though. i'll try agian. thanks.
what? respirator? ummm yeah, i better get one.
seaball is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2002, 05:33 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
seaball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,304
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

oh yeah, thanks jokur.
seaball is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2002, 05:39 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Racer X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 475
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

...also wear gloves and long sleeves. Graphite is shaped like little arrows:

>>>>>>>

Once the splinters go in, its VERY HARD for them to come back out. Even the dust can get rubbed into the skin and cause bad itching for days.
Racer X is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2002, 06:11 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 703
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys,

check out www.fiber-lyte.co.uk. They do customised parts.

save your health, let the pro with the right equipment do it.
ongbenghui is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2002, 06:36 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Kenneth Tan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,123
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The Fibre Lyte link does not work.
Kenneth Tan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2002, 12:45 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
Ian S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 241
Default

the correct address is http://www.fibre-lyte.co.uk ongbenghui got the R and the E the wrong way round
Ian S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2002, 06:29 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

My planned method of shaping CF sheets is to draw the outline on the CF with an offset of about 1mm - 2mm. Instead of using a router (I don't have one ) I would use a small drill bit and start drilling thousands of holes along the line until I finish the whole shape...

Then somehow, I would break the shaped chasis out from the sheet then use a high-speed dremel to smooth out the edges. I've never had the need to do this yet. I wish I won't have to, and I hope I won't get cancer in the process
rough512 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2002, 06:31 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Maybe If I start very early in the morning I would finish cutting out the chassis by evening. Then spen another day cutting out the battery slots etc...


rough512 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2002, 08:04 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (9)
 
seaball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,304
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

hey when i drill through i get a poor backside. how are those holes cleaned out? i'm gonna try a countersink. hopefully that'll work. any better suggestions?
seaball is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2002, 08:18 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,455
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

try using higher drill speed and don't put too much pressure on the drill bit...

Let the bit eat through the material.

Do it slow...


rough512 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2002, 01:19 AM
  #15  
Tech Adept
 
Rowdy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 156
Default

A jigsaw can be used to cut the carbon fibre. Although you will need to make sure your using a blade that won't blow out the bottom layer. A trimmer (small router) with a flush cutter in it would be my preferred choice. Don't use expensive trimmer bits like CTM because the CF will kill them very quickly best bet is to buy 2 or 3 cheap chinese bits from the local hardware.

Also, it's the fibreglass that causes cancer and the itching,the carbon is not so dangerous. The small particles of glass get in you skin and lungs which then scratch the tissue in the lungs causing cancer. This said, a dust mask would be sufficent for the small amounts that most people do at home. It's only when you use the stuff day in and day out as I do that a resporator would be nessesary.

How do you guys layup your carbon. I'v looked at a few chassis and they all seem to be 4 layers of plain wieve, approx 6oz but I was just wondering what others are using. Any one use a core material.

Sorry if I come off as a bit of a know all but I have much knowledge of all different types of composite materials. Iwork with the stuff for a living. please feel free to ask any questons and I will do my best to answer.
Rowdy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service