R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2005, 05:05 PM   #1
Tech Regular
 
jw92656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 342
Default Glitching issues

I have a Tamiya EVO 4 with a Novak 5800 brushless system. I use a Airtronics MX-3S with the Airtronics Receiver and a Airtronics 357 Servo. I am experiencing some serious glitching issues on the far corner of some tracks I go to. I have a pretty clean wiring setup, but was wondering what else I could do? Will a ferrite magnet help? Where do I attach it. I did forget to place C/A glue on the outer edges of the chassis. How important is this? I do have a little room to reposition the ESC either next to the back end of the motor, or more towards the servo. Any input would be greatly apprecited.
jw92656 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 05:39 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Go to speedtechrc.com and check out the yokomo noise reducer.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 07:49 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,054
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Post

make sure you CA the chassis as this will filter un wanted noise from the motor and servo.. also put 3 pieces of servo tape on the speed control and the reciever .. this has helped me for years with glitching problems and i dont have any glitching problems to date ...
__________________
Mark Barden .
mb racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 09:01 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,491
Trader Rating: 114 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Valentin.H
Default

if it keeps happening, maybe some person accidently forgot to turn off his radio..or its just a jerk that does it even though the frequency stick is gone. happened to me before. had to buy 7 bucks worth of parts just to fix it. then i figured out who did it, got some payback..see how he likes it..lol
__________________
-valentin
www.csjunkies.com
Valentin.H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 09:12 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
DerekB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,421
Default

What band is your radio on? I think Airtronics had some issues with their 75 band synthesized MSX3s. I'd try another radio and see if that helps.
__________________
Velocity RC Magazine
www.vrcmag.com
DerekB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2005, 02:07 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
jw92656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 342
Smile Glitches

Yeah I have the 75 band radio, I bought it about 4 months ago. Is that when they had problems? I have installed the Yokomo Noise reducer, and am trying this out tomorrow. I am going to CA the chassis which I didn't do...but probably not by tomorrow. mb racer do you stack 3 pieces of servo tape, or use three sections cut apart? I hope I don't have a bad radio, that would suck. Thanks everybody..:-)
jw92656 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2005, 03:29 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Glitching at far corners of a track is a range problem. Have the RF output checked on the radio and/or lengthen the Rx antenna. Two peices of servo tape under the Rx can help.

Also, drive with the radio antenna pointed towards the track. If the driver's stand has a roof over it (especially metal) the signal could be bouncing around creating "dead spots" on the track.
-Robert
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2005, 07:11 PM   #8
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,054
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: Glitches

Quote:
Originally posted by jw92656
Yeah I have the 75 band radio, I bought it about 4 months ago. Is that when they had problems? I have installed the Yokomo Noise reducer, and am trying this out tomorrow. I am going to CA the chassis which I didn't do...but probably not by tomorrow. mb racer do you stack 3 pieces of servo tape, or use three sections cut apart? I hope I don't have a bad radio, that would suck. Thanks everybody..:-)
just stack the tape .. it make for a better berrier from the cf .. good luck hope it helps ..
__________________
Mark Barden .
mb racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2005, 10:48 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default Re: Glitches

Quote:
Originally posted by jw92656
I have installed the Yokomo Noise reducer, and am trying this out tomorrow.
make sure you use the sheilding tape that comes with the kit.
__________________
what the heck is r/c car??? ( said in your best redneck voice)

'OL BUZZARD FARMING (lol)
howard hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2005, 02:39 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
jw92656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 342
Smile Glitching Update

Ran at Tamiya this weekend. Yokomo Noise killer kit seems to have helped out alot even though I only had about 1 hr to run the car before going off to work. I also recv'd an email from Airtronics in that a low percent of radios might need to be tuned after they are sold. I am going to fit the kit on my buggy , and hopefully run at SoCal on Thur night. I keep everyone posted, as I have appreciated all the advise I have been getting. Thanks everyone.
jw92656 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2005, 03:47 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
RKeasler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: A step closer to where I need to be a step further from where I was
Posts: 810
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Glitches

Quote:
Originally posted by howard hudson
make sure you use the sheilding tape that comes with the kit.
What is that tape made of?
__________________
ClemsonTigers
USVTA # 224
ERC
RKeasler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2005, 03:53 PM   #12
Tech Regular
 
jw92656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Aliso Viejo, CA
Posts: 342
Smile Glitching Issues

There are two types that come with the kit. The first layer is a weave mettalic type. The second is a mettalic foil that gets applied on top of that. There is also a round ferrite magnet that plugs inline between the ESC, and the receiver.
jw92656 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
esc glitching ScottyRC08 Radio and Electronics 6 03-30-2008 11:51 PM
Glitching Issues pumbaapig5 Oval, Larger Scales and More 2 06-24-2006 05:52 PM
Glitching Newbies Electric On-Road 10 12-07-2004 10:02 PM
SD glitching Techart27 Electric On-Road 26 03-22-2004 10:31 PM
Glitching on my 3PK FUK_WRX Electric On-Road 10 08-15-2003 09:50 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:31 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net