Like Tree5Likes

Hot Bodies TCXX

Old 04-11-2013, 01:08 PM
  #961  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Airwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,943
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mxgregg View Post
So I can run the tamiya spool up front?
Don't forget about the Roche spool, I used that with Tamiya 46mm dogbones
Airwave is offline  
Old 04-11-2013, 01:38 PM
  #962  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
mxgregg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 610
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Man! Whats the advantage of the Roche spool over the stock HB spool setup?

Originally Posted by Airwave View Post
Don't forget about the Roche spool, I used that with Tamiya 46mm dogbones

Last edited by mxgregg; 04-11-2013 at 02:22 PM.
mxgregg is offline  
Old 04-11-2013, 11:27 PM
  #963  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
ali_g's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,156
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AGNO View Post
Yes, I Use on high grip carpet surface, work very well.
using 0.75mm spacers will get you more roll and grip? is it required on a high grip surface?
ali_g is offline  
Old 04-12-2013, 12:29 AM
  #964  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 106
Default

Originally Posted by mxgregg View Post
Thanks Man! Whats the advantage of the Roche spool over the stock HB spool setup?
I've been running the Roche/tamiya setup for over 18 months and not one issue with it. Oh and I do bump into a lot things
markrobinson is offline  
Old 04-12-2013, 02:31 AM
  #965  
Tech Addict
 
AGNO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Firenze Italy
Posts: 609
Default

Originally Posted by ali_g View Post
using 0.75mm spacers will get you more roll and grip? is it required on a high grip surface?
Yes, with low roll center we have more roll, but the handling is more predictable.
High roll center, on high bite carpet, makes driving very nervous and unpredictable the roll over.

At least, it worked for me.
AGNO is offline  
Old 04-12-2013, 03:46 AM
  #966  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Nuno Gancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 418
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

when all the options will be on the market.
Nuno Gancho is offline  
Old 04-12-2013, 10:10 AM
  #967  
Tech Rookie
 
EvaldasD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Posts: 16
Default

Hi. Bought my TCXX today! I noticed that main chassis has a slightly different cut-out than in official HB pictures. My chassis has straight motor cooling holes, not one big hole that is shown and some triangles near the chassis center are missing. Is that normal ?
Sorry, can't add photos yet
EvaldasD is offline  
Old 04-12-2013, 11:37 AM
  #968  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 67
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EvaldasD View Post
Hi. Bought my TCXX today! I noticed that main chassis has a slightly different cut-out than in official HB pictures. My chassis has straight motor cooling holes, not one big hole that is shown and some triangles near the chassis center are missing. Is that normal ?
Sorry, can't add photos yet
That is the optionial HB chassis See link http://www.redrc.net/2012/12/hb-tcxx...ssis-top-deck/
HD Racer is offline  
Old 04-12-2013, 11:47 AM
  #969  
Tech Rookie
 
EvaldasD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Posts: 16
Default

Here is photo of mine
www(dot)evaldasdzialtuvas.lt/rcm/IMG_0529.png
And here is official HB photo
www(dot)hpieurope.com/graphics/kits/kitpages/68299/under-side-chassis.jpg

Few small changes.
EvaldasD is offline  
Old 04-12-2013, 01:28 PM
  #970  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 67
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EvaldasD View Post
Here is photo of mine
www(dot)evaldasdzialtuvas.lt/rcm/IMG_0529.png
And here is official HB photo
www(dot)hpieurope.com/graphics/kits/kitpages/68299/under-side-chassis.jpg

Few small changes.
this is a link to HB Europe showing the stock TCXX chassis
http://www.hpieurope.com/piw.php?lang=en&partNo=68296
The picture of the chassis in the bag is the HB TCX not TCXX
HD Racer is offline  
Old 04-12-2013, 02:29 PM
  #971  
Tech Rookie
 
EvaldasD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Posts: 16
Default

Thanks mate, now it's all clear.
EvaldasD is offline  
Old 04-12-2013, 02:34 PM
  #972  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 67
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by EvaldasD View Post
Thanks mate, now it's all clear.
Glad I could help!
HD Racer is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 06:56 AM
  #973  
Tech Master
iTrader: (108)
 
M3Roc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: ★216★
Posts: 992
Trader Rating: 108 (100%+)
Default

I finished building my TCXX last night and right away I noticed that the rear diff is leaking from both the grub screw and the four screws that keep it together. Is there anything I can do to make it not leak or could I replace it with a ball diff?
M3Roc is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 07:16 AM
  #974  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 114
Default

Originally Posted by M3Roc View Post
I finished building my TCXX last night and right away I noticed that the rear diff is leaking from both the grub screw and the four screws that keep it together. Is there anything I can do to make it not leak or could I replace it with a ball diff?
When I built mine, I left the grub screw out until the 4 main screws were in and tight. The grub screw hole acts as an overflow. After the excess oil had drained and the grub screw put in its place, no further oil leaked out.

I've not suffered from any leaks in the 4 months that I've been using the car.
THancock is offline  
Old 04-15-2013, 08:14 AM
  #975  
Tech Master
iTrader: (108)
 
M3Roc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: ★216★
Posts: 992
Trader Rating: 108 (100%+)
Default

Ok the problem here may be then that I overfilled the diff. I was advised by another user that I should fill the diff until the oil is half way up the gears. Is this the incorrect way? Forgive my ignorance, this is my first time building a kit like this.
M3Roc is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.