Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Associated RC 12 R5.2 >

Associated RC 12 R5.2

Like Tree24Likes

Associated RC 12 R5.2

Old 11-17-2016, 05:42 PM
  #976  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
azeroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Da Burbs
Posts: 1,127
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

could you give me a measurement across the bulkheads?
azeroth is offline  
Old 11-17-2016, 07:20 PM
  #977  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: El Mirage, AZ, USA
Posts: 1,474
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RacinJ View Post
The Roche P12-2016 floating servo mount works. You'll need to use your AE ackermann shims to bring your tie rods back to correct alignment. (Move the servo forward.)

You may also want to order the Roche 16mm stand offs.

I've run it twice, so far, this way. Works fantastic.
Sweet! That's exactly what I needed to hear! It fits on the shock mount?

And they make a kit for that.....
Bubonic-X is offline  
Old 11-17-2016, 07:53 PM
  #978  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
chris moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Phx AZ
Posts: 3,873
Trader Rating: 93 (99%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bubonic-X View Post
Sweet! That's exactly what I needed to hear! It fits on the shock mount?

And they make a kit for that.....
There is no kit, you would have to buy the individual parts that J used.
chris moore is offline  
Old 11-17-2016, 08:10 PM
  #979  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: El Mirage, AZ, USA
Posts: 1,474
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RacinJ View Post
The Roche P12-2016 floating servo mount works. You'll need to use your AE ackermann shims to bring your tie rods back to correct alignment. (Move the servo forward.)

You may also want to order the Roche 16mm stand offs.

I've run it twice, so far, this way. Works fantastic.
How do bolt the shock mount to it?
Bubonic-X is offline  
Old 11-17-2016, 09:18 PM
  #980  
Tech Fanatic
 
RacinJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa Az
Posts: 828
Default

Po
Originally Posted by Bubonic-X View Post
How do bolt the shock mount to it?
I mounted the shock directly to the servo mount. You may need to lengthen your shock a few millimeters for proper pod droop.
Attached Thumbnails Associated RC 12 R5.2-20161117_223022.jpg  

Last edited by RacinJ; 11-17-2016 at 09:31 PM.
RacinJ is offline  
Old 11-18-2016, 07:32 AM
  #981  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: El Mirage, AZ, USA
Posts: 1,474
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RacinJ View Post
Po

I mounted the shock directly to the servo mount. You may need to lengthen your shock a few millimeters for proper pod droop.
Nice! So the outer most holes on the floating servo mount are the same location as the standoffs that are there now? So I just order the Roche graphite floating servo mt. and the aluminum servo posts?
Bubonic-X is offline  
Old 11-18-2016, 07:49 AM
  #982  
Tech Fanatic
 
RacinJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa Az
Posts: 828
Default

Originally Posted by Bubonic-X View Post
Nice! So the outer most holes on the floating servo mount are the same location as the standoffs that are there now?
Yes. The floating servo mount lines up perfectly.

Originally Posted by Bubonic-X View Post
So I just order the Roche graphite floating servo mt. and the aluminum servo posts?
That would be the simplest solution. I'm using Tuning Haus 15mm standoffs with 1mm AE shims under the plate.
RacinJ is offline  
Old 11-18-2016, 08:16 AM
  #983  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: El Mirage, AZ, USA
Posts: 1,474
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RacinJ View Post
Yes. The floating servo mount lines up perfectly.


That would be the simplest solution. I'm using Tuning Haus 15mm standoffs with 1mm AE shims under the plate.
Tried Rocheusa out of stock any other place you know of that would have it in stock?
Bubonic-X is offline  
Old 11-18-2016, 08:52 AM
  #984  
Tech Fanatic
 
RacinJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa Az
Posts: 828
Default

Originally Posted by Bubonic-X View Post
Tried Rocheusa out of stock any other place you know of that would have it in stock?
The only other site I know of that handles Roche products is Apex RC.
RacinJ is offline  
Old 11-18-2016, 12:35 PM
  #985  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,496
Default

Originally Posted by azeroth View Post
could you give me a measurement across the bulkheads?
2mm wider per side. Most people then space the top arm mount back so it's in the same position as 5.0 and use the 5.0 upper brace.

I "think" the chassis is 2mm longer as well.
MattW is offline  
Old 11-18-2016, 01:58 PM
  #986  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
azeroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Da Burbs
Posts: 1,127
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

ok hmm the 5 and 5.1 use the same brace # 4606 so if that's the case I need to space the lower arms out 2mm per side to get to the same front width at kingpin as a kit 5.2
azeroth is offline  
Old 11-18-2016, 02:05 PM
  #987  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
azeroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Da Burbs
Posts: 1,127
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

oops my bad to many windows
azeroth is offline  
Old 11-18-2016, 02:11 PM
  #988  
Tech Fanatic
 
RacinJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Mesa Az
Posts: 828
Default

Originally Posted by azeroth View Post
ok hmm the 5 and 5.1 use the same brace # 4606 so if that's the case I need to space the lower arms out 2mm per side to get to the same front width at kingpin as a kit 5.2
The 12R5.1 and 12R5.2 use the same chassis plate. (4691) This chassis requires the longer, 12r5.1 Lipo Hinge Pin Brace. (4698) The 12R5 used the shorter, FT Hinge Pin Brace. (4606)

If you use the shorter 4606 you can shim your upper arm mounts in and have longer upper arms.
RacinJ is offline  
Old 11-18-2016, 02:28 PM
  #989  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
azeroth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Da Burbs
Posts: 1,127
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I am running the original 4600 chassis plate with transvers battery not the 4691
azeroth is offline  
Old 11-18-2016, 03:16 PM
  #990  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,496
Default

Shim your lower arms out 2mm, and you'll be the same as the 5.2 in front width.
MattW is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.