Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Associated RC 12 R5.2 >

Associated RC 12 R5.2

Like Tree24Likes

Associated RC 12 R5.2

Old 02-01-2013, 07:18 PM
  #346  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Hi all. I am building a 12r5.2 for my son and I am planning to use an Orion vortex pro esc (1-2s). I would appreciate if anyone could give me feedback on two questions. 1) would that esc work with 1s lipo without a booster of extra battery? (2) it comes with 12 gauge wires, but I read that I should use 16 gauge for motor and 14 gauge for battery. Is that necessary? The esc comes pre-wired and I would have to desolder the 12 gauge wires. Thanks in advance.
nvcnvc is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 01:43 AM
  #347  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Robert_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands, Sweet Lake City
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

NVCNVC

I use the same speedo, and I'm really happy with it.

1) The Vortex 1-2S version does not need a booster or RX battery. It has a build in one, and it works flawless with Mod and Stock.

2) The 12AWG Wires are really thick and can bind up the Pod, I use thiner wires, just to make sure they don't bind up the pod. But then again If you can manage a absolute free Pod, these wires are good.

Regards Robert
Robert_K is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 02:01 AM
  #348  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you Robert_K. Good info!
I think I am going to try the thick wires first and go from there.
Thanks again
nvcnvc is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 02:14 AM
  #349  
Tech Champion
 
Pulse_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 5,081
Default



On this pic it's 12 gauge but 16 is ideal. Just make sure your pod is free
Pulse_ is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 09:18 AM
  #350  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you. A picture is worth a thousand words as they say!
Just to make sure...the wires should be long enough to go over the rear brace (is that the pod? Sorry, i am a rookie at 1/12) without rubbing or pushing down against it?
Thanks
nvcnvc is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 09:26 AM
  #351  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Robert_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands, Sweet Lake City
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

NVCNVC,

Yes, the rear POD is the complete rear 'thing' where the motor is located.
The pod moves from the front end of the car. This movement should not be influenced by any wire, anytime.

If the wire's are over, or underneath the top brace, doesn't matter. I like to have them underneath:

My old 12R5.1 Inline


My current On-Point OP12C:


Regards Robert
Robert_K is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 10:17 AM
  #352  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: lost...
Posts: 2,867
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Robert K, what shock are you using on the On Point car? and why is the shock body on the pod instead of the shock mount?
RoyU is offline  
Old 02-02-2013, 10:27 AM
  #353  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you Robert. I get it now. BTW, what servo are you using?
nvcnvc is offline  
Old 02-04-2013, 12:54 AM
  #354  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Robert_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands, Sweet Lake City
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RoyU View Post
Robert K, what shock are you using on the On Point car? and why is the shock body on the pod instead of the shock mount?
The Center Shock is a HotBodies one.
The body is on the pod, because then the battery fit's a little better in the car. Doesn't really do a thing if you turn it arround....

Originally Posted by nvcnvc View Post
Thank you Robert. I get it now. BTW, what servo are you using?
I've used the Savox 1350, good servo
Now I'm using a Sanwa 141HR and Airtronics 94819

Regards Robert
Robert_K is offline  
Old 02-04-2013, 01:02 PM
  #355  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (52)
 
Logi Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 5,821
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Robert_K View Post
The Center Shock is a HotBodies one.
The body is on the pod, because then the battery fit's a little better in the car. Doesn't really do a thing if you turn it arround....



I've used the Savox 1350, good servo
Now I'm using a Sanwa 141HR and Airtronics 94819

Regards Robert
What body mounts are on the 5.1... i want the fine adjust ability...
Logi Maker is offline  
Old 02-04-2013, 01:12 PM
  #356  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
Robert_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Netherlands, Sweet Lake City
Posts: 500
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Logi Maker View Post
What body mounts are on the 5.1... i want the fine adjust ability...
Yokomo Mounts for BD5 and BD7. I use them also on the On-Point in black :-)

Regards Robert
Robert_K is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 07:28 AM
  #357  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: New Ash Green, Kent, England
Posts: 111
Default

Can anyone help?
Trying to get a top plate AS4703 to completet my conversion to a 5.2 but it seems no one in the UK has one or any idea of when Associated will be sending more.
Whats going on guys are Associated in trouble? Or are they just not making the spares??
Bosscat is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 07:36 AM
  #358  
Tech Fanatic
 
Joost K.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Eindhoven - Brabant (Europe)
Posts: 774
Default

Have you looked outside the UK??? I'm pretty sure that the part is abailable, just look somewhat further...
Joost K. is offline  
Old 02-07-2013, 09:15 AM
  #359  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (4)
 
AdrianM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 5,915
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

4703 is available from a dozen places in the US. Sounds like CML needs to get their stocks up for UK AE racers.
AdrianM is offline  
Old 02-17-2013, 08:13 AM
  #360  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 29
Default

I'm still fighting with this incredible oversteer of my car. It happens at high speed but also at low speed.
My car has:
Front tyres: Jaco black, no liquid for grip, diameter: 41,5
Back tires: Jaco yellow, full liquid for grip, diameter:44
Front springs hard
Side and center spring blue
The center spring was checked by a "pro".
What could I do else?
mitrovic is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.