Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
YOKOMO Touring Car BD-7 >

YOKOMO Touring Car BD-7

Like Tree6Likes

YOKOMO Touring Car BD-7

Reply

Old 11-23-2013, 02:17 PM
  #3091  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (9)
 
haura415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 210
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I will get a black bd7 and upgrade my blue bd7 so I will have both
haura415 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 06:04 AM
  #3092  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by evochick View Post
ok so we have a new motor mount and new shock bodies
New top and bottom decks too and the flex point has been moved further forward - the devil is in the details. The new motor mount is a huge improvement on the tweak prone current design and the mounting holes are symmetrical and more centrally aligned. I actually think it would be impossible to tweak the new motor mount

Oh and the black version is the best looking car I've ever seen
CraigM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 10:18 AM
  #3093  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
B00t13g's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,041
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

The black series is gorgeous!!
B00t13g is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 12:26 PM
  #3094  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 894
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone that has a BD7 RS comment on the stock servo mounting. I am trying to figure out how the stock is mounted. Is it secure, how do you secure it (servo tape/shoe goo with one side secured) or is it a joke? Anyone know of a downloadable pdf file of the BD7 RS? Thanks for any help!
429racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 12:29 PM
  #3095  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 437
Default

I don't have the RS, but 1 mount and servo tape is the "standard" way to do it on a BD7 if you don't get the optional floating mount.
cyclonetog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 02:38 PM
  #3096  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM View Post

Oh and the black version is the best looking car I've ever seen

Thanks Craig,

Sounds like you want to switch brands
evochick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 03:35 PM
  #3097  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,446
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 429racer View Post
Can anyone that has a BD7 RS comment on the stock servo mounting. I am trying to figure out how the stock is mounted. Is it secure, how do you secure it (servo tape/shoe goo with one side secured) or is it a joke? Anyone know of a downloadable pdf file of the BD7 RS? Thanks for any help!
Just download the manual off of Yokomo's website. It's there. It's in Japanese but it's there.
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 04:50 PM
  #3098  
gom
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 147
Default

Originally Posted by 429racer View Post
Can anyone that has a BD7 RS comment on the stock servo mounting. I am trying to figure out how the stock is mounted. Is it secure, how do you secure it (servo tape/shoe goo with one side secured) or is it a joke? Anyone know of a downloadable pdf file of the BD7 RS? Thanks for any help!
I run a BD7 RS. The stock servo is mounted using servo tape plus a servo mount on the inner side. it's It's exactly the same as the old BD5wxi. It was the best solution they had before the floating servo mount was invented. It is actually really secured and safe. definitely not a joke....
gom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 06:44 PM
  #3099  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,446
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gom View Post
I run a BD7 RS. The stock servo is mounted using servo tape plus a servo mount on the inner side. it's It's exactly the same as the old BD5wxi. It was the best solution they had before the floating servo mount was invented. It is actually really secured and safe. definitely not a joke....
+1

On my old BD,5 I had ShoeGoo'd my servo down. I couldn't get the servo back off so I just sold the car with servo. But yeah, plenty secure. That's how the BD7 comes stock. One servo horn and servo tape. Or just upgrade to the optional floating servo mount. I use the CSO floating servo mount. Only $12 from RCMarket and it matches the blue. Now if I get the black '14 BD7 I'm gonna need to find a black mount!
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 06:46 PM
  #3100  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 437
Default

The black car includes the Yokomo floating mount.
cyclonetog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 06:47 PM
  #3101  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,446
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cyclonetog View Post
The black car includes the Yokomo floating mount.
But it's not black...
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 06:49 PM
  #3102  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 437
Default

It blends in well enough.

cyclonetog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 06:53 PM
  #3103  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,446
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cyclonetog View Post
It blends in well enough.

Seen it and Mehhhh.

Need something like this...
http://www.rc-mushroom.com/product_i...y-2013-p-25820
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 08:01 PM
  #3104  
Tech Master
iTrader: (5)
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,550
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hi Everyone I need some help,

my BD7 is suffering from serious initial understeer, that I cant seem to dial out,

I am running very close to this setup (except 1.5 camber on front), but I am missing something ???

http://www.petitrc.com/reglages/yoko...i_SMA20121014/

The car was very good with 32 compound tyres that I was using on club nights with a much cooler track when I first ran the car, the downside with these tyres is that they only last 5 runs. On the weekend just past it was very hot and very high grip. So I switches to 36 and tried both ride and muchmores, but with both it just wouldn't turn in.

I just removed the steering bridge to see if that might help with some more flex, and it seems no one is running one anyway, is it worth while removing the top motor mount screw as well ? any downsides to doing this ?

anything else I can try ? help ... I am hopeless at trying to setup cars

Thanks.

Beth.
evochick is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2013, 08:12 PM
  #3105  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,446
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

You try 2 degree caster blocks?
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service