R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-03-2005, 12:50 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 20
Post Do I need to break in my new motor?

Hi,

I just purchased a Reedy - 19t spec PRO mod. (on recomendation from a previous thread).

As it has already been run on a dyno at the factory, do I still need to break it in or has it already been done enough???

Also...does ne1 know what a good starting gear ratio would be for this motor?

Thanx heaps!
Captjono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 02:03 AM   #2
Tech Master
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

It's always ok to run it out of the box. However if you want some extra zip, do the following:

1. Pull motor apart, remove plastic / Phenellic washer. It does nothing but rob power.

2. Run a ball point pen through the grooves on the commutator. This will smooth any rough edges that may drag on the brushes.

3. Apply one drop of bearing oil to each bearing.

4. Re-Assemble and run motor at 4v for about 4 mins to seat brushes and generally get everything broken in.

5. Done
__________________
"You don't get hurt racing little cars..."

-Me
Soviet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 02:07 AM   #3
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

I prefer to break-in motors at 1-2 volt for 5 minutes - the idea is that the lower the voltage, the less chance of spark...
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 02:42 AM   #4
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 20
Post

At the risk of showing my ignorance; when you say to run it at 1,2, 4 volts, how do you do that? What does the motor need to be hooked up to? (Sorry, I've never run in a new motor b4...but figure it's a good time to start!)

I'm a bit worried to try the ball point pen thing. I'm sure it will work, but am worried that I will screw up my new motor!

Thanx heaps for the replys...helps heaps!
Captjono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 03:08 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Cole Trickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Denmark / Europe
Posts: 2,571
Default

The best will be, if you have a friend or fellow racer, which can show you how to tear apart a motor.

Second best, is to take a look at this site:

Balak, motor, brushes

Balak, motor, comm cut

The ball point pen suggestion is good. I suggest, you tear apart your motor and take a look at it - if you're in doubt of anything, just do nothing and reassembly.

For running in at 1,2 volt, you need a single cell. Charge it up, and connect it to the motor for 5 minutes.
__________________
Schumacher Mi5 - Sanwa MT-4 / RX-462 / KO Propo PDS-2123 - Nosram 5600 X-treme Saddle Pack - LRP SPX Zero/X12 17,5 - Nosram Stealth Touch Evolution - MAAS SPS 9250
Cole Trickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 04:00 AM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Australia
Posts: 20
Default

i've pulled apart motors b4 to clean them...but that is about it! So pulling it apart is no prob., but beyond that???...so thanx 4 your help!!!
Captjono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 06:25 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
rovic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: az
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
1. Pull motor apart, remove plastic / Phenellic washer. It does nothing but rob power
i dont know of any motor tuners/manufacture who has not used this at one time or another...

reedy motors still use this washer, oh, quick tell barry to take his washer out, so he can start winning again...
rovic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motor Break In Help AWK Electric On-Road 6 05-31-2007 05:31 PM
motor lathe/motor break in andy_b22 Electric On-Road 4 05-17-2006 06:29 PM
Motor Break DOES Higher AMP draw = better motor? Travis S Electric On-Road 13 02-12-2005 03:02 AM
New Motor Break-in!!! hicheef Nitro On-Road 10 05-05-2003 11:43 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:29 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net