Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
3 Racing Sakura D3 CS Drift >

3 Racing Sakura D3 CS Drift

Like Tree2Likes

3 Racing Sakura D3 CS Drift

Old 03-19-2013, 05:54 PM
  #1576  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 477
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Tommy R View Post
I finally got a center belt tensioner.


Aesthetically speaking, I could've done without the added "thorns", but I guess that's their thing.
nice...i like that new pulley mount with tensioner built in.

Pickled...that XXX-D VIP will be a sweet chassis...
i guess you will probably start a new thread on that chassis.
i will look forward to it.

i'm out of funds for a while.
I have a new car (1:1) project and might even need to get a new used motor for it.
(for my rc hobby) and (for my car hobby)
i did just get a shipment for 2S and 3S lipo for my Losi Micro Rally
even just on 2s..turns that thing into a different animal! LOL!

lately I've been fixing my Slash 4x4 that I turned to a Buggy with 1/8 scale wheels
eunique is offline  
Old 03-21-2013, 02:03 PM
  #1577  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
muney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Guys I've picked one of these cars up with a lot of hop ups already installed and I'm finding I spin out a lot with the stock cs ratio..does anyone know how I can reduce the ratio a little? Part no.s or links to the part I need would be much appreciated
muney is offline  
Old 03-21-2013, 02:39 PM
  #1578  
Tech Addict
 
pickled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 533
Default

Originally Posted by muney View Post
Guys I've picked one of these cars up with a lot of hop ups already installed and I'm finding I spin out a lot with the stock cs ratio..does anyone know how I can reduce the ratio a little? Part no.s or links to the part I need would be much appreciated
you just need more practice, don't use so much throttle. the CS ratio in the D3 is perfect
pickled is offline  
Old 03-22-2013, 08:13 PM
  #1579  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by muney View Post
Guys I've picked one of these cars up with a lot of hop ups already installed and I'm finding I spin out a lot with the stock cs ratio..does anyone know how I can reduce the ratio a little? Part no.s or links to the part I need would be much appreciated
On the rear layshaft, where the center and rear belts meet you will see two pulleys. The larger of the two pulleys is 22t, and the other is 13t. Replace the larger pulley with one that has less than 22 teeth but more than 13t to run a lower CS ratio.

But, really you just need practice. When I first got my car I thought I wanted to lower the ratio too. After about an hour of run time I had it learned and was getting faster and more aggressive. Now I wouldn't dream of lowering the CS ratio.
M-chassisMark is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 01:48 PM
  #1580  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
muney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Yeah you may be right..practise is making me better but transitioning from one direction to another is a PITA for now..which cause a spin out just about every time..
I might try the pulley just to see how if it improves..
Any idea what size pulley I should aim for..I would like to lower it a but so I can see the difference between the stock settings and the lowered ratio..I also don't want it to be that extreme where I have to change belts
muney is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 03:55 PM
  #1581  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 477
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Make sure your servo is a fast servo. ..makes a big difference with those transitions...makes it a lot harder with slower servos.
eunique is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 09:22 PM
  #1582  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
Rodarbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 1,034
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

I ended up installing a 16T pulley from a Hot Bodies Cyclone instead of the stock 22T pulley after seeing sgtsteve do his and providing positive feedback from the lowered 1.56 ratio. He raised his rear pulley mount with spacers by 7 mm. I didn't go that route, but I raised the tensioner with spacer I made that is 6 mm tall. I'm able to do long sweeping drifts much easier now (I don't have the FOW). He's running the FOW and will probably be more apt to moving back to the 22T pulley much sooner than I.

My servo is fairly quick and I'm practicing every chance I get. This thing is a blast!
Rodarbal is offline  
Old 03-23-2013, 11:35 PM
  #1583  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
muney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Got a link for the pulley? My servo is a cheap hk one but its very fast and reliable
Just want to experiment with the different setups and see what suits me
muney is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 07:16 AM
  #1584  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 477
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by muney View Post
Got a link for the pulley? My servo is a cheap hk one but its very fast and reliable
Just want to experiment with the different setups and see what suits me
You can get the pulleys from 3racing.hk or rcmart...
The servos are fine... I'm using hk fast servos also...I have bluebird and solar and have been happy with them.
eunique is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 09:24 PM
  #1585  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
muney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

yeah ive got the bluebird too..great bang for ya buck!! i would say they are about the same kind of speed as what my savox is, but at a quarter of the price..
is this the hotbodies pulley mentioned previously?
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...s-16T-Pulley-2
muney is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 09:57 PM
  #1586  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
Rodarbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 1,034
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by muney View Post
yeah ive got the bluebird too..great bang for ya buck!! i would say they are about the same kind of speed as what my savox is, but at a quarter of the price..
is this the hotbodies pulley mentioned previously?
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...s-16T-Pulley-2
Yes. The TQ website has a better view of it.

http://www.tqrcracing.com/shop/produ....asp?p_id=4484

Just so you know, it's not a drop in piece. You have to drill holes in it to get the spring pin in.
Rodarbal is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 10:20 PM
  #1587  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Gilroy, CA
Posts: 477
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If u get an aluminum pulley...then u just use the sst screw. ..no mods necessary.
eunique is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 10:22 PM
  #1588  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
muney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

gotta link for the aluminium pulley
muney is offline  
Old 03-24-2013, 10:33 PM
  #1589  
Tech Master
iTrader: (46)
 
Rodarbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cedar Park, TX
Posts: 1,034
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

TQ has several available for the D3. Scroll down the page and you'll run into them:

http://www.tqrcracing.com/shop/produ....asp?p_id=4416
Rodarbal is offline  
Old 03-25-2013, 04:44 AM
  #1590  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
muney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 470
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Are we talking about the aluminium centre pulley which is shown on that link above?
muney is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.