R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2005, 09:19 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
RCNitroDude999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Galveston Island
Posts: 1,660
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Exclamation Different Arms, Different Motors?

Ive heard around that different armature can be used in different cans? So actually what arms will work in what cans? And what benefit can be gained by this? Also, if you have done this and had an increase in performance, post the arm/can/endbell and brush/spring setup you use.
RCNitroDude999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 10:27 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,897
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

You can put differnt arms in different cans, almost any combo will fit, but the motor will no longer be legal.
__________________
Kyosho / Orion / Amain.com / Protek / MIP /
Jack Smash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 11:00 PM   #3
Tech Apprentice
 
mcc-bri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: winnipeg manitoba
Posts: 82
Default

if you race stock
mcc-bri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 12:06 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
EddieO's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Well hold on.....

Now, if you swap arms between stocks......it will be illegal and they really don't run any better.....if they did, the companies would of released the motor......

Now, in the terms of modifieds.....you CAN legally swap arms from one to another.....but not in all cases.

Our modified motors are basically made at two companies.....Sagami and Tokoyo Mechs...

Tokoyo Mechs makes all the trinity motors and Sagami makes motors for multiple companies, including both Reedy and Orion/Peak....

So.....they do share parts....A d6 based motor can use ANY arm from a D5.....and the new cobalt can use 3 of the 4 available arms( I was told the skewed blank was not submitted).....

And likewise....the Reedy arms can be swapped some....but not all.

An you CAN take a Reedy Ti arm and put it in any V2 can....its the SAME approved arm, and likewise, a V2 arm could be used in a Ti....( a pissy tech guy could give you fits if the arm was marked ORION, but its still the legal approved arm, so his point is moot who wound it).

From my understanding, the new Checkpoint mods are using the sagami small comm 4mm and 5mm blanks, identical to what the Orion v2 and Reedy Ti/Pt motors use....

I know its confusing, but you CAN in some cases swamp arms......you just need to make sure its within the rules....

If you are ever in doubt, feel free to email me at [email protected] and I will let you know....


Later EddieO
__________________
www.teambrood.com
EddieO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 05:09 AM   #5
Tech Master
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,721
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

So a V2 8x2 with the 5mm web should go like a Ti 8x2 with a 5mm web?
dontfeelcold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 10:04 AM   #6
Tech Elite
 
EddieO's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Guess I am not understanding your question....

If you are saying performance wise....it all depends. There are other factors in the equation....so its quite possible swapping the arm between a v2 and a Ti could be a dog.....or it could turn it into a rocket.....or more than likely, it will perform about the same.


If you are just asking if they will work......yes they will....there are two sagami small comm arms that are imported into the US for reedy and orion mods....the 4mm blank and 5mm blank.....either of which is legal to be used in a Ti, Pt, or V2.....doesn't matter who wound it....its the same arm....

Later EddieO
__________________
www.teambrood.com
EddieO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 02:45 PM   #7
Tech Master
 
RCNitroDude999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Galveston Island
Posts: 1,660
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

well, have any of you tried it? what kind of results did u get?
RCNitroDude999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mod motors, arms, etc. glgraphix R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 01-01-2008 12:34 PM
Modified Motors and arms FroBoy R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 09-29-2006 12:50 PM
Mod motors, arms, and cans f/s Monti R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 07-05-2005 09:30 AM
Mod Motors and Arms 19 turns dan-o R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 2 01-08-2005 03:06 PM
KCR MOD motors and arms *TI stuff* frank p R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 11-17-2004 05:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:43 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net