R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-20-2007, 09:58 AM   #7846
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

YOU CANNOT REMOVE THE TRIANGLE THING

the shockbodies do NOT have a uniform inner diameter. they are bigger at the bottom.
you have to put the plastic things back in

use the old bd shocktower not the masami one.

if you need additionals travel use ss or the new shock bodies, but this is not needed if you use the old shocktower.

do not put something above the bladder. try using the tamiya diaphragm. they fit better and do not get bigger because of the oil.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 10:08 AM   #7847
Tech Addict
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default




thanks Martin ill re-check the build of the shock. i was not getting much droop out of the shock and thats why i took out the triangle piece.
__________________
Yokomo|SpeedPassion|McgooCreative|TeamOrion|FusionPower|Futaba|Spektrum|RP|Trinity|Protoform
Island Losi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 10:48 AM   #7848
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 131
Default

You need to cut the triangle piece in half then put it in upside down.
Also the shock tower from the standard car is better, you should not need to use the Masami tower, its quite alot higher than the standard and not really suitable for the shock angles droop settings and ride height we run here.
Rarely do we run o o rings above the diafram, you only need to run them when you need the car to hold up better in the corner, ie high speed track.
__________________
Schumacher
Team Sorex
EA Motorsports
Speed Passion
East Coast Bodies
John Pape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 12:41 PM   #7849
Tech Addict
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

thanks John

funny thing is.....the problem came from the front shocks not the back. this was from when i bought the car on rctech. ill see when i rebuild them.

would 40/35 oil weight combo give me similar balance as 45/40? i don't have 45w oil to hand and i see many setups using the 45/40 combo.


great help, thanks
__________________
Yokomo|SpeedPassion|McgooCreative|TeamOrion|FusionPower|Futaba|Spektrum|RP|Trinity|Protoform
Island Losi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 02:34 PM   #7850
Tech Regular
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to coons88
Default

When you guys say don't use the Masami tower, is that simply because of ride height and droop? Or handling characteristics too? If it is handling too, what sort of differences are there?
__________________
Associated TC6.1 | Hobbywing V3 | LRP X12 | Spektrum | Futaba | Reedy
coons88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 02:40 PM   #7851
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

it's just because of the fact that the shocks do not fit with this shocktower installed if you use more than 3mm rideheight
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 03:37 PM   #7852
Tech Elite
 
Francis M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 4,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coons88 View Post
When you guys say don't use the Masami tower, is that simply because of ride height and droop? Or handling characteristics too? If it is handling too, what sort of differences are there?
You can use it but need to get the updated shock body that works without the triangle peices. You will not get proper ride height using the stock shock bodies not unless you cut the triangle peices down like previously posted.
__________________
TQ-racing Yokomo BD7 Airtronics
Francis M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2007, 04:15 PM   #7853
Tech Regular
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to coons88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Francis M. View Post
You can use it but need to get the updated shock body that works without the triangle peices. You will not get proper ride height using the stock shock bodies not unless you cut the triangle peices down like previously posted.
Well I do use it and I don't have any problems getting ride height or droop, probably because I run my shocks on the inner most hole of the tower, but I also find I get more bite and traction doing this.
But yea I do agree that most of the holes except the 2 or 3 closest to the inside you can't get enough ride height.
__________________
Associated TC6.1 | Hobbywing V3 | LRP X12 | Spektrum | Futaba | Reedy
coons88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 04:48 PM   #7854
Tech Addict
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

i had a CVD failure at the track today. the pin that holds it together parted company with the axle during the race. on the end of the shaft there are 4 holes whick the pin fits into, 2 of these holes are now broken open. would this affect the performance of the CVD if i get back a pin?

what is the best next step now? contact TiR or do someone had spare pins?

whats a good 'quick fix'? i was goin the cut a piece of body pin to use as a pin. any other ideas?

whats a good replacement for TiR?



please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Yokomo|SpeedPassion|McgooCreative|TeamOrion|FusionPower|Futaba|Spektrum|RP|Trinity|Protoform
Island Losi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 04:50 PM   #7855
Tech Elite
 
JasonC's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

In the past i have used Drill Blanks cut to size to replace the Pin
JasonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 05:08 PM   #7856
Tech Addict
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

thanks man.

where can i order TiR parts from in the USA?
__________________
Yokomo|SpeedPassion|McgooCreative|TeamOrion|FusionPower|Futaba|Spektrum|RP|Trinity|Protoform
Island Losi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 05:19 PM   #7857
Tech Elite
 
JasonC's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

http://www.racing-cars.com/usa/searc...rtname2=partno

Amp draw stock TIR they are just OUT of Stock on everything
JasonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 04:37 AM   #7858
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 177
Default

Anyone have a fixed spool setup to share with please. What are the important notes when compare to the double oneways setup? THX.
MARKANO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 12:19 PM   #7859
Tech Elite
 
Francis M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 4,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARKANO View Post
Anyone have a fixed spool setup to share with please. What are the important notes when compare to the double oneways setup? THX.

Just run your current set up and put a fixed pulley and front spool. the major difference is you will get a little less steering coming into corners but you have brakes. You will probably start changing set ups to gain more steering off power.
__________________
TQ-racing Yokomo BD7 Airtronics
Francis M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2007, 12:29 PM   #7860
Tech Elite
 
Francis M.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 4,719
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Heres one for the Yok experts. When do you guys use the higher hinge pin position on the front and Rear hubs?
__________________
TQ-racing Yokomo BD7 Airtronics
Francis M. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yokomo MR4TC CGM wyl03 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 06-26-2007 04:39 PM
yokomo mr4tc pro racer57 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-07-2006 02:34 AM
Looking for Yokomo MR4TC BD1 yyhayyim R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 08-24-2006 07:07 PM
yokomo mr4tc i730 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-20-2005 02:51 PM
WTB: Yokomo MR4TC SD SSG! DOMOisCOOL R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 03-06-2004 08:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:33 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net