R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-09-2007, 06:45 PM   #7636
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 162
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Good day guys, i was on my way to ordering parts over the internet for my bd,, i was just wondering is yokomo really gonna stop production for bd parts??? just asking to confirm so i can stock and order more parts,, thanks!!!
imel24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 06:49 PM   #7637
Tech Addict
 
Island Losi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barbados
Posts: 473
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imel24 View Post
Good day guys, i was on my way to ordering parts over the internet for my bd,, i was just wondering is yokomo really gonna stop production for bd parts??? just asking to confirm so i can stock and order more parts,, thanks!!!
when u say 'really gonna' it sounds as though u heard a rumur. its this so or are u just checking?
Island Losi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 01:47 AM   #7638
JJC
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim fry View Post
Hi all

Almost finished my Grainger BD build but a little stumped on the front roll bar.
It seems too big is this normal?
Tim,

Run the wider bar on the rear and the narrower one on the front.

Fine choice of chassis by the way

Jez
JJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 02:04 AM   #7639
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsidian View Post
On grainger's set up, why does he use spacers inside the shock.

cheerz
It is cause the new shockbodies do not have the plastic spacers.

they use a 1,5mm spacer under the piston to have the same shocklengh as if they used the old body.
__________________
Schumacher Racing
Team GM-Racing
Team Sorex
Xenon Racing
Tonisport
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 03:37 AM   #7640
Tech Addict
 
Simon K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blazer2 View Post
hey ARK

i noticed that pulley mod aswell also if you look closely on the back pulley you can c that every second tooth is missing.
does any body know why his done this and the advantages or was it just for the euros and that particular track and set-up.
cheers
I have a Tamiya 05R to play with while my BD gathers dust and the kit pullies have every second tooth removed to make the transmission a little more efficient(supposedly). I think it increases the amount of belt slip, especially with the tiny center layshaft gears on the Tamiya.

Wouldn't like to do it with my BD though...
Simon K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 04:42 AM   #7641
Tech Fanatic
 
|JayFlores|2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: parañaque
Posts: 910
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by imel24 View Post
Good day guys, i was on my way to ordering parts over the internet for my bd,, i was just wondering is yokomo really gonna stop production for bd parts??? just asking to confirm so i can stock and order more parts,, thanks!!!
Personally, i think that will not happen because as we all know the BD is their current touring car chassis.
|JayFlores|2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 04:52 AM   #7642
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greece , Athens
Posts: 450
Send a message via MSN to Zacharopoulos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Pape View Post
Yes pulleys are modified, Yokomo did them for the Japan Nationals last year where duration was an issue.
They do free the car up, particularly when combined with the Bomber belts and do not alter the ratio of the car.

You can do them yourselves quite easily:
1. Using a scaplel blade carefully pry off the side that is glued on the pulley.
2. Using a fine set of side cutters cut away every other tooth.
3. Using a carbide tipped dremel bit clean up that area where you removed the teeth.
4. Glue the pulley side back on.

Job done
i tried this guys!!
I made 2 pulleys , i can say that it really helps with the transmission !! But you have to be carefull when doing it , it must be as smooth as possible!! Also after that , you have to check the belt tension and set it again!!
I noticed a difference that i think is enough if you think that you just cut some teeth of the pulley out !! also not only it doesn't slip but it CAN'T slip!!

i can post some pics if you want!!
__________________
Z works RC paints

www.zworks.tk

^^^Check it ^^^
Zacharopoulos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 05:45 AM   #7643
Tech Addict
 
Sleighty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 568
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zacharopoulos View Post
i tried this guys!!
I made 2 pulleys , i can say that it really helps with the transmission !! But you have to be carefull when doing it , it must be as smooth as possible!! Also after that , you have to check the belt tension and set it again!!
I noticed a difference that i think is enough if you think that you just cut some teeth of the pulley out !! also not only it doesn't slip but it CAN'T slip!!

i can post some pics if you want!!
Yeh please do post some pics as im going to try do this mod.

do you have a method for setting the belt tension? any way to know whether its set correctly?

thanks
Sleighty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 09:50 AM   #7644
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: england
Posts: 304
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zacharopoulos View Post
i tried this guys!!
I made 2 pulleys , i can say that it really helps with the transmission !! But you have to be carefull when doing it , it must be as smooth as possible!! Also after that , you have to check the belt tension and set it again!!
I noticed a difference that i think is enough if you think that you just cut some teeth of the pulley out !! also not only it doesn't slip but it CAN'T slip!!

i can post some pics if you want!!
hi did u do front and back or just the front.
mwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 10:43 AM   #7645
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 131
Default

Do both the front and rear pulleys.

Belt tension will not alter, when using the bomber belts you do have to check the tension more often as they do stretch.

The spacers in the shock are there for 2 reasons, 1 is that without the spacer they would just be too long. Also without the spacer you would have waaaay too much pressure due to the amount of travel the piston would have when fully compressing the shock.

I am working on some pics of the front hub assembly.
__________________
Schumacher
Team Sorex
EA Motorsports
Speed Passion
East Coast Bodies
John Pape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 11:06 AM   #7646
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 144
Default

When using the cyclone knuckles did you also use the cyclone bearings as the yokomo ones seem a little thin requiring a spacer of sorts, The yokomo inline knuckle is a close fit but a little tight esp if the cyclone king pin bushes were used.

Cheers
Bryan D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 12:09 PM   #7647
Tech Addict
 
tim fry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kent UK
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJC View Post
Tim,

Run the wider bar on the rear and the narrower one on the front.

Fine choice of chassis by the way

Jez
That sounds right mate but that would mean the rear roll bar is thicker than the front is that right??
tim fry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 01:24 PM   #7648
JJC
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim fry View Post
That sounds right mate but that would mean the rear roll bar is thicker than the front is that right??
Yes run the thicker bronze colour bar on the rear. Sounds wrong, but I ended up removing the front bar altogether and just ran with the rear one as the rear of the car just generates sooooo much grip
JJC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2007, 03:24 PM   #7649
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greece , Athens
Posts: 450
Send a message via MSN to Zacharopoulos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sleighty View Post
Yeh please do post some pics as im going to try do this mod.

do you have a method for setting the belt tension? any way to know whether its set correctly?

thanks
i will post some pics tomorrow!!

Here is what i've done!! I removed the pinion from the motor and also removed the front belt from the center pulleys , only the rearpart of the transmission and set the belt tension at a point that it wouldn't be harder to move the rear wheels than when it is set to the loosest point. i did the same for the front and then i put it together!! i also have tighten the center tensioner!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by mwoods View Post
hi did u do front and back or just the front.
both pulleys and also used one way for 6 batteries and spool for 4 batteries , and no problem with slipping or anything!!
__________________
Z works RC paints

www.zworks.tk

^^^Check it ^^^
Zacharopoulos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 04:49 AM   #7650
Tech Champion
 
ROBORAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: JP Raceway
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to ROBORAT
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Pape View Post
Do both the front and rear pulleys.

Belt tension will not alter, when using the bomber belts you do have to check the tension more often as they do stretch.

The spacers in the shock are there for 2 reasons, 1 is that without the spacer they would just be too long. Also without the spacer you would have waaaay too much pressure due to the amount of travel the piston would have when fully compressing the shock.

I am working on some pics of the front hub assembly.

wouldnt setting your droop screws do the same thing as the spacers in the shocks? meaing it will limit the amount of travel of the piston since you are effectively limiting how far out the piston extends out of the shock? just wondering ....
__________________
[YOKOMO BD7][REEDY RACING][TEAM ORION]
[Sanwa][LRP][Protoform]

http://www.hobbyhaven.com.my/
ROBORAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yokomo MR4TC CGM wyl03 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 06-26-2007 04:39 PM
yokomo mr4tc pro racer57 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-07-2006 02:34 AM
Looking for Yokomo MR4TC BD1 yyhayyim R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 08-24-2006 07:07 PM
yokomo mr4tc i730 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-20-2005 02:51 PM
WTB: Yokomo MR4TC SD SSG! DOMOisCOOL R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 03-06-2004 08:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:16 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net