R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2007, 11:10 AM   #7216
Regional Moderator
 
mrrcguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Jonesboro Akansas
Posts: 3,157
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default Yok Parts.

I stock a descent ammount of BD parst at my shop.
mrrcguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 11:20 AM   #7217
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

is 24deg steering (inner wheel) decent? i'm using the stock steering ackerman plate, chub and suzuki hubs...
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2007, 01:09 PM   #7218
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

roar paved nats will be held at my one of my local tracks, if anyone is planning on coming and needs a good starting point for a setup let me know.
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 09:40 AM   #7219
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

looks like everone is busy... hehehehehe...

anyway, anyone have pix of their car with a GTB installed? trying to figure out where to put the huge transcap thingie...
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 09:58 AM   #7220
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greece , Athens
Posts: 450
Send a message via MSN to Zacharopoulos
Default

here is a pic of my friend John Doucakis car , an HB cyclone , and i am sure that BD is more comfotable than cyclone so i think it will help!

__________________
Z works RC paints

www.zworks.tk

^^^Check it ^^^
Zacharopoulos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 02:13 PM   #7221
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Here's mine, I put the cap behind the motor.
Attached Thumbnails
Yokomo MR4TC-BD-p1010547_resized.jpg  
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 02:36 PM   #7222
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, England
Posts: 110
Default

Quante,

An observation. Don't know if it makes any difference, but your layshaft appears to be in backwards?

Stu
__________________
CML | TiR | Microtech Racing | Tubz Designz
StuartC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 02:41 PM   #7223
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greece , Athens
Posts: 450
Send a message via MSN to Zacharopoulos
Default

yeap you are right but no difference at all , if also the spacer are wrong it may hit the bulkhead if not then no prob at all!!

guys do you still run 6 cell?? sorry but the pic i uploaded is for 5 cell
__________________
Z works RC paints

www.zworks.tk

^^^Check it ^^^
Zacharopoulos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 02:57 PM   #7224
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

lol, yep, yer right, never even noticed, I've been driving like that since I bought it...
Might need to fix that one I guess, allthough it doesnt hit anything, and with the spool and all its perhaps better to drive the front directly.
I still drive 6 cells idd, I was never fond of the 5 cell rule, my temps are lower than persons driving 5 cells and laptimes are the same.
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 03:06 PM   #7225
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Greece , Athens
Posts: 450
Send a message via MSN to Zacharopoulos
Default

I wasn't either but i race since it's an EFRA rule.
Sorry to say that but this isn't a problem of 6 or 5 cell
6 cell means more voltage than 5 cell so more power than 5 cell ( with the same speedo and motor) so you should have better lap times and higher temps. if you don't , means that you don't push the car as much as it can handle. that's why your temps are lower , they push the car to thel imit to get your laptime the same time you can't handle your power and you don't push the car , esc , and motor!!

that's why..
__________________
Z works RC paints

www.zworks.tk

^^^Check it ^^^
Zacharopoulos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 03:17 PM   #7226
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Well, my local track is a technical track where, with the 4.5 I can barely touch the throttle.
The only place I'm quicker than a 5 cell car is the straight, which is pretty short. The guys I race with drive 5 cells and their cars are better to handle because of the lack in power, but for them to keep up somewhat on the straight they need to gear it to the moon and back, this generates more heat cause their motors are constantly pushed a lot more than mine is.

Now if I were driving a fast track, they prolly dont stand a chance cause of my extra voltage.
For me going to 5 cells is just stupid cause I also drive 4 cell 1/12 and I use these cells to drive touring in the summerseason, I'm not gonna be buying new cells every time I switch ;-)

Oh well, as long as I'm having fun, they can drive 2 cells for all I care ;-)
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2007, 06:05 PM   #7227
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quante
Here's mine, I put the cap behind the motor.

Zach, thanks for the pix. but we run 6-cells back here.

Quantum, thanks for the pix too. is that a power cap for the RX as well? Also, i noticed the transcap is wrapped in blue. is that electric tape? problem is i got my GTB 2nd hand and the wires off the transcap are far too short. if i were to rewire it with longer wires, i'd need to either cut out the stock shrink tube and tape it up after soldering the wires (can't seem to find shrink tube that's big enough to fit the whole powercap with board). or just attach wires to the existing wires and shrink tube the joint.

Thanks!
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 12:08 AM   #7228
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Belgium
Posts: 528
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Yep, thats electric tape. When I got my GTB I had tremendous glitching problems so I checked that the powercap was soldered correctly. Well the problem was my 40MHz system, changed to spektrum and then I had the same problem most had, under hard acceleration and a sharp turn the receiver quit.
Powercap from 2200uF, 10V solved it.
But it all takes up space.
Quante is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 12:44 AM   #7229
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quante
Yep, thats electric tape. When I got my GTB I had tremendous glitching problems so I checked that the powercap was soldered correctly. Well the problem was my 40MHz system, changed to spektrum and then I had the same problem most had, under hard acceleration and a sharp turn the receiver quit.
Powercap from 2200uF, 10V solved it.
But it all takes up space.

would you have a closer pic of the ESC/motor/TransCap area?

Thanks!
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 02:30 AM   #7230
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to canto54
Default

here's a pic of my car with LRP TC spec speedo. Cap is smaller than the one of the GTB but there are so much place on the car!!

__________________
Robitronic Avid V2
Robitronic - Graupner - GM racing
JP Products
www.mrclongwy.fr
www.petitrc.com
canto54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yokomo MR4TC CGM wyl03 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 06-26-2007 04:39 PM
yokomo mr4tc pro racer57 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-07-2006 02:34 AM
Looking for Yokomo MR4TC BD1 yyhayyim R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 08-24-2006 07:07 PM
yokomo mr4tc i730 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-20-2005 02:51 PM
WTB: Yokomo MR4TC SD SSG! DOMOisCOOL R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 03-06-2004 08:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:42 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net