Yokomo MR4TC-BD

Reply

Old 04-03-2005, 01:00 PM
  #691  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 349
Default

I just finished running my BD across the setup board; all I can say the car is very well balanced. I've never gotten a touring car perfectly tweeked without a lot of adjustments. The BD came off the tweak station pefect without adjustment. I haven't gotten to drive the car on the track yet but with all of the weight moved forward (batteries, motor, servo) it should steer awesome. Yokomo has built a winner.
kmorast is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 01:17 PM
  #692  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,816
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Glad to hear that, I'll be getting one soon...I hope - JB
JayBee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 01:56 PM
  #693  
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,337
Default

I heard there were two BDs running in the UK today ordered from japan... anybody on here???? any shops sent to the UK?

The source that told me is usually full of bull excrete though.
pheyhoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 02:32 PM
  #694  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,816
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

JayBee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 02:54 PM
  #695  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,685
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Mr. Shookie
Center diff....
I put in the right bearings and it seems to need more shims which the kit did not have in them...Other than that....if you have ever build a shock set you should be fine...oh yea make sure you mount the anntena mount and belt tentioner before putting ont he top deck...I felt so stupid un-screwing them not once but twice.
[email protected]
Stephen <><
Oh yea Get that heavy grease out of those bearings...Man once i did that the drive train was free as a bird MAN...lol
With the big pulleys and adjustable tensioners in the bulkheads, I wasn't planning on running the tensioner on the upper deck, is there any reason to?
Randy Caster is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 03:02 PM
  #696  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,446
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Not really, other than to take out some of the belts "backlash" or bouncing around during stop and go... stop and go.

On the rear diff, I found it a tad tight with the shim on each side. So I took out the shim on the long side of the diff (left side).
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 04:06 PM
  #697  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Randy Caster
With the big pulleys and adjustable tensioners in the bulkheads, I wasn't planning on running the tensioner on the upper deck, is there any reason to?
I would run it if only to save on wear. The antenna mount is real close to the belt and any slap could begin to rub a little. I found that the tentioner is really just to keep it from the STOP AND GO back lash. I didn't have any problems with it so I will leave it....But you have a good point. with all those diff adjustments why would you need it? Hey I am new to the adjusting diff what will each tick mark do? going tighter front or looser and vise versa?
Just trying to get a head start on tuning knowledge...This is my first real belt car...I do have a Yokomo Mini TC but it is basic when it comes to belt cars. LOL I am going to sell it soon as I never run it and I don;t have time to keep it maintanced...If Anyone is interested send me a PM.
Thanks,
Stephen <><
Mr. Shookie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 04:19 PM
  #698  
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,337
Default

lol, i never thought about belt tension etc... going to be strange running belt again.....
pheyhoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 04:39 PM
  #699  
Tech Master
 
FW-05RR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,384
Default

Does anybody know why the pulleys aren't made out of aluminum as shown on the yokomo website pictures of the BD
FW-05RR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 04:40 PM
  #700  
Tech Master
 
pheyhoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 1,337
Default

I guess because that was a prototype....

Might be worth an investment though.
pheyhoe is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 04:49 PM
  #701  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,816
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

maybe too expensive to replace if they warped or somehow got something caught in it and broke a tooth? - JB
JayBee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 04:57 PM
  #702  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (120)
 
JasonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

FW-05RR--- my guess would be one of Two reason they are plastic, cost and or less rotating Mass
JasonC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 05:01 PM
  #703  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,816
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post

Originally posted by JasonC
FW-05RR--- my guess would be one of Two reason they are plastic, cost and or less rotating Mass
or both reasons - JB
JayBee is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 05:03 PM
  #704  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Ortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Question?

Does anyone else's long belt rub the left steering post just a bit?

Ortiz
Ortiz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2005, 05:07 PM
  #705  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 349
Default

Originally posted by Ortiz
Question?

Does anyone else's long belt rub the left steering post just a bit?

Ortiz
I just looked and mine rubs a little also.
kmorast is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service