R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-20-2006, 12:37 PM   #6346
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: auburn washington
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR JOLLY
that`s nothing i am old
full lock on my BD is like 26 degrees on the setup gauges , when i go racing in 27t or 19t rubber/carpet & the grip comes up i start to click back the rates on me tranny & i`ll end up around the 80% rate on me 3PK which works out around 15-19 dgree on gauges ,i can still get round hairpins really well aswell

they are after more lock not more grip , coz i believe that you can have the wheel at to much angle it will scrub speed off !! a straighter wheel is a faster car
And like all real life racing cars they don`t have much lock & surely this equates to more corner speed

me perssonaly think if you need more lock to get round corners then your masking a badly setup car by asking the steering to give you all the lock to get round the corners
But if you have proper grip upfront then you don`t need full lock to get round ,this also looks after your tyre`s more because they are not scubbing across the top of the surface thus making them hotter & roughening the tyre suface up

agree 100%
Turtlemaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 01:13 PM   #6347
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: princeton, NJ and wall street, NYC
Posts: 514
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to aoizip
Default

Orlando,

thats why you need to get a 12th scale... hehee!

the spring i gave you is 33ib man.... That is supposed to be for the front..
and you put it in the rear???? I will bring my BD to the track this weekend if my butt is not at killington over the break... <Winter is my snowboarding season >

~Ming
aoizip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 02:55 PM   #6348
Tech Regular
 
ATLAS COPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud 69
Posts: 468
Default

Hi
Can someone help please
What pistons come on the tree and can you give me the sizes
Thanks
ATLAS COPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 03:02 PM   #6349
Tech Elite
 
olhipster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Asgard
Posts: 3,994
Trader Rating: 98 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to olhipster1
Default

Ming
were you looking at the car backwards...again
i put the corally on the front shocks, next time you can wear my glasses...

think I need to change to 2 hole pistons.
We'll go over it on Sat..bring your BD and well race them up to the A's
olhipster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2006, 06:01 PM   #6350
Tech Regular
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to coons88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576
I hate to say this : the axle pin on yokomo CVD is easy to come off ? The pin occasionally ruin the steering knuckle and rear upright.....

I never know it until it already happened

( even I already super glue it ........ the pin will move someday somehow )
Get a heat gun and some 10-12mm heat shrink and cut it to about 3 or 4mm in width, slip it over the axel so that it covers the pin, and shrink it with the heat gun, hold the heat gun there for a long time (about a minute) so that it sticks there really tight, otherwise it will just slip off. Pin will never come out again, works so well that you can run it without the grub screw - though I wouldn't suggest to try!
__________________
Associated TC6.1 | Hobbywing V3 | LRP X12 | Spektrum | Futaba | Reedy
coons88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 12:35 AM   #6351
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLAS COPCO
Hi
Can someone help please
What pistons come on the tree and can you give me the sizes
Thanks
if you get yoko pistons ,just the 3 hole & drill out to 1.2 mm ,this is where the rayspeed pistons come in (white one) allready done & a straight fit
same as tamiya piston thye are 1.2mm holes aswell
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 06:59 AM   #6352
Tech Regular
 
Holmenkollen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR JOLLY
if you get yoko pistons ,just the 3 hole & drill out to 1.2 mm ,this is where the rayspeed pistons come in (white one) allready done & a straight fit
same as tamiya piston thye are 1.2mm holes aswell
I think the Tamiya piston have 0.9 mm holes in them.
__________________
Xray - Hobbywing - Graupner
Holmenkollen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 07:03 AM   #6353
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

I use the yoki 3-hole pistons as they are.

the rayspeeds are definately to soft. the car losses so much traktion because of these pistons.
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 07:43 AM   #6354
Tech Adept
 
S_fender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dijon, France
Posts: 168
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Holmenkollen
I think the Tamiya piston have 0.9 mm holes in them.
Tamiya 3 holes have 1.1 mm holes.
S_fender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 07:46 AM   #6355
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

my tamiya pistons do have 1mm
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 09:14 AM   #6356
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Coca-cola land
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by S_fender
Tamiya 3 holes have 1.1 mm holes.
I second S_fender, Tamiya 3holes pistons have 1.1mm holes.
B-day is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2006, 09:28 AM   #6357
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

Oh Goody lots of chat over the size on tamiya pistons hole`s

In the Uk drilling out the std pistons to 1.1mm or putting rayspeed white in is the norm for outside asphalt stuff
__________________
EAMotorsports;;BRCA 27t National 2007 Champ's
FKO4,AdyB fan club !!
saying of the month;;The Past is History, the Future is a Mystery, this Moment is a Gift- that's why it's called The Present.
MR JOLLY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 01:22 PM   #6358
Tech Regular
 
lignum vitae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 318
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer
I use the yoki 3-hole pistons as they are.

the rayspeeds are definately to soft. the car losses so much traktion because of these pistons.
martin you should try going up 10-15 weight oil to compensate, as yoki are moulded rayspeed are machined= much smoother and more accurate to set even.
lignum vitae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2006, 10:20 PM   #6359
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

I don't care about how the piston is made, I only care about how it performs.

And for typical european tracks the rayspeeds are simply not good. Way to soft. I needed 60WT Oil to get some damping in there. For this reason the yokis are much better.
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2006, 12:56 AM   #6360
Tech Elite
 
JasonC's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

martin which Rayspeed Piston are you refering to as "to soft" Yokomo part # RS-12 RS-13 RS-14 OR RS-17, i have found that the Rayspeed pistion are more consisten because they are a slightly larger outside diamiter, allowing for less " blow by"

If you insist on using the Stock 3 hole piston, you may want to try drilling out each hole with a #60 drill bit with yokomo 450 wt oil
__________________
#60 of the Original 100
If your not part of the solution
Your part of the problem !
JasonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yokomo MR4TC CGM wyl03 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 06-26-2007 04:39 PM
yokomo mr4tc pro racer57 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-07-2006 02:34 AM
Looking for Yokomo MR4TC BD1 yyhayyim R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 08-24-2006 07:07 PM
yokomo mr4tc i730 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-20-2005 02:51 PM
WTB: Yokomo MR4TC SD SSG! DOMOisCOOL R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 03-06-2004 08:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:56 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net