R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-16-2005, 10:38 AM   #3556
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 363
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee
The EXCEL part number is #EY005
Going to have to get some of them along with the new layshaft. I remember you posting a pic with it in the car a while back makes it look sharp. Does it make it any smoother?
Dan Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 10:40 AM   #3557
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

No, I'm afraid not. The only parts of the diff that makes it smoother are the type of innards and good grease...
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 10:42 AM   #3558
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 363
Default

Has anyone got a setup for carpet on rubbers thats not with a 1 way?

Thanks
Dan Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 10:50 AM   #3559
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hughes
Going to have to get some of them along with the new layshaft. I remember you posting a pic with it in the car a while back makes it look sharp. Does it make it any smoother?
The ones that were in the car then were the Pro4 Delrin diffs... I won't go back
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 10:52 AM   #3560
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrcbuggy
Where can we get this Excel Delrin diffs on line? Is that for front, rear or both?
They are for both just use the different axle lengths...
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 12:51 PM   #3561
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 349
Default

I can't wait to test my new BD carpet chassis out. I was fortunate to get a hold of a custom cut BD chassis; it's 3.2mm thick. Has anybody else been able to get a hold of a thicker chassis
Attached Thumbnails
Yokomo MR4TC-BD-chassis_topplate.jpg  
kmorast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 12:56 PM   #3562
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 363
Default

Im designing one in cad at the moment in two versions one for SDW front suspension and normal for when i use the normal 1 piece mounts and one copy of the current chassis.
Dan Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 01:45 PM   #3563
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kmorast
I can't wait to test my new BD carpet chassis out. I was fortunate to get a hold of a custom cut BD chassis; it's 3.2mm thick. Has anybody else been able to get a hold of a thicker chassis
3.2mm thick ? Wow !!

Why carpet setup need thicker chassis ? Crash protection ?
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 01:47 PM   #3564
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 363
Default

More grip is available so less chassis flex is needed.
Dan Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 03:06 PM   #3565
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Hinckley, England
Posts: 448
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee
The EXCEL part number is #EY005
hi have you got a link to the exact place where you can get these from as i cant find them anywhere.

cheers
gower
agower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:56 PM   #3566
Tech Elite
 
Piyo Piyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jakarta - INDONESIA
Posts: 3,051
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576
3.2mm thick ? Wow !!

Why carpet setup need thicker chassis ? Crash protection ?
Carpet need stiffer car so it reduce chassis roll.
Asphalt need more flex car to increase overall grip. Maybe that's why Yokomo release BD with 2,5mm chassis and 2mm upperdeck for deck for that reason. Not 3mm chassis like the old SD.
So don't try to stiff your car if you play at low-grip asphalt tracks!!! .
__________________
VIOLA ARIELLE & FLOREN ISABELLE
Piyo Piyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 10:21 PM   #3567
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MIKA
"Advise on rear belt tension"

The kit set-up seem loose, shall I tightened by 1 knot?
Any preformance effect on a loose or tight belt set-up?


dirst time out try the kit settings first... a loose belt might skip under wither heavy braking, i noticed that in tightening the rear belt, the back rotated a bit more, but be careful not to overtighten the belt, the drive train will get heavier.
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 10:28 PM   #3568
Tech Elite
 
highwayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,334
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee
Everything stays the same except you are going to have to shave the pins (NOT MUCH) so that they fit into the slots. I've built four sets of diffs but haven't used them yet being that I have the Yoke ones in at the moment. The Pro4 ones were a pain to adjust since the diff screw nut have no recessed area to sit in.

just to clarify... when using the TC4 bones you have to shave off some material off the pins?

how about when using the stock rear yokomo bones?
highwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 12:13 AM   #3569
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 9
Default Carpet set up?

Any one got a carpet setup for the BD, with the standard chassis? Or do I really need to get a custom chassis?
phoebusb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 07:24 AM   #3570
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoebusb
Any one got a carpet setup for the BD, with the standard chassis? Or do I really need to get a custom chassis?
If you're running foam tires on carpet you'll need to get a thicker chassis. The BD was optimized for outdoor racing so the chassis flex that you want there is something you absolutely don't want for carpet racing
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yokomo MR4TC CGM wyl03 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 06-26-2007 04:39 PM
yokomo mr4tc pro racer57 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-07-2006 02:34 AM
Looking for Yokomo MR4TC BD1 yyhayyim R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 08-24-2006 07:07 PM
yokomo mr4tc i730 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-20-2005 02:51 PM
WTB: Yokomo MR4TC SD SSG! DOMOisCOOL R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 03-06-2004 08:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:18 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net