R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-25-2005, 01:32 PM   #3016
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

Try this. I drove this Setup last Weekend on a pretty technical track, med to high bite.

Works with CS27s too.

Edit: Just have seen, that I made some writing mistakes in the Setup, but it's pretty later over here in Germany :-)
Attached Thumbnails
Yokomo MR4TC-BD-setup_harburg_bd_%FCbersetzt.jpg  
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 06:30 PM   #3017
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

The solution I found for my BD and I was having the same problem, was laying my shocks down in the second outermost hole, removing the spacer under the camber link on the front bulk-head, 2-degrees rear toe, no rear sway-bar, kit springs, and the inline 0-degree steering blocks. Major improvement and problem solved, FOR ME...HTH... You might want to play with droop too -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 08:23 PM   #3018
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Hofer
Try this. I drove this Setup last Weekend on a pretty technical track, med to high bite.

Works with CS27s too.

Edit: Just have seen, that I made some writing mistakes in the Setup, but it's pretty later over here in Germany :-)
How can I modify Blank setup sheets.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 09:40 PM   #3019
Tech Apprentice
 
muahaha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 75
Talking New to BD

Hi guys, I am new to the bd car (but have driven the original special and sd series). all i can say is this car has so much grip it's unbelievable. So much so that i need a stiffer chassis. I have read that some of u have got an alternate chassis. My question is where can i locate some of them? btw here's a pic of my bd .
Attached Thumbnails
Yokomo MR4TC-BD-bd-002.jpg   Yokomo MR4TC-BD-bd-005.jpg  
muahaha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 01:14 AM   #3020
Tech Regular
 
beer_drinker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pro4Capece
How can I modify Blank setup sheets.
I answered this on the SD thread
beer_drinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 01:57 AM   #3021
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,675
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muahaha
Hi guys, I am new to the bd car (but have driven the original special and sd series). all i can say is this car has so much grip it's unbelievable. So much so that i need a stiffer chassis. I have read that some of u have got an alternate chassis. My question is where can i locate some of them? btw here's a pic of my bd .
Hey, just lookin at the pic of you car, make sure the front pulley is on the 1 way correctly, looks like you mounted it in the center and it needs to be off to the left.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 02:18 AM   #3022
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Adelaide..
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to v0rtex Send a message via AIM to v0rtex Send a message via MSN to v0rtex
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Caster
Hey, just lookin at the pic of you car, make sure the front pulley is on the 1 way correctly, looks like you mounted it in the center and it needs to be off to the left.
I did that the first time i built my BD, but noticed it after I installed the one-way
__________________
;)
v0rtex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 03:06 AM   #3023
Tech Master
 
Martin Hofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via ICQ to Martin Hofer
Default

I made one by myself, editable with ms paint (jpg)
Martin Hofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 06:47 AM   #3024
Tech Addict
 
Mach10_shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Indiana: USA
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muahaha
Hi guys, I am new to the bd car (but have driven the original special and sd series). all i can say is this car has so much grip it's unbelievable. So much so that i need a stiffer chassis. I have read that some of u have got an alternate chassis. My question is where can i locate some of them? btw here's a pic of my bd .
I have an aftermarket chassis and top deck available. Both components are made from 3.2mm (.125") carbon fiber. They are very stiff. Please see the pictures and send me a PM if you are interested.

Chris

Last edited by Mach10_shooter; 01-02-2011 at 09:42 PM.
Mach10_shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 07:00 AM   #3025
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

Are there any differences in the geometry of your chassis - battery position, servo and steering position, shorter or longer, etc, or is it just the thicker plate.

I had cut a similar chassis in 3.4 for my SD, with cells mounted closer to the centre and further forward, etc and it works great, and am considering something similar with the BD.

Just one difference. The BD is so brilliant anyway that I can't really think it will improve.

I built up a couple of TC4's with BMI chassis and that was a big improvement over the tub. I'm often tempted to cut a chassis for the BD too.
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 07:10 AM   #3026
Tech Addict
 
Mach10_shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Indiana: USA
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default BELL CRANK PLATE

If anyone is interested, I am going to be cutting some steering bell crank plates. These plates will be the same size and thickness as the stock plate, however instead of 5 holes for tie rod location there will only be one. I will have these available for all 1-5 locations. Location 1 being closest to the front of car location 5 being to the back. I will also have them without any holes if someone wants a custom location. Attached is a cad drawing of the #2 plate.


Send me a PM if you are interested.

Last edited by Mach10_shooter; 01-02-2011 at 09:42 PM.
Mach10_shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 07:15 AM   #3027
Tech Addict
 
Mach10_shooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Indiana: USA
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnbull
Are there any differences in the geometry of your chassis - battery position, servo and steering position, shorter or longer, etc, or is it just the thicker plate.

I had cut a similar chassis in 3.4 for my SD, with cells mounted closer to the centre and further forward, etc and it works great, and am considering something similar with the BD.

Just one difference. The BD is so brilliant anyway that I can't really think it will improve.

I built up a couple of TC4's with BMI chassis and that was a big improvement over the tub. I'm often tempted to cut a chassis for the BD too.
It is basically a copy of the stock plate just made from thicker material.
I did change the way the servo mounted on the outer mount. Instead of the huge hole and chamfer, there is a nice tight counterbore. You can see it in one of the pictures.
Mach10_shooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 11:00 AM   #3028
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just added the Cool Can Fans to the BD, I hope this will keep the heat down on the motors a little better.
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 01:11 PM   #3029
Tech Addict
 
dynoman007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Memphis,TN BEEEEIOTCH
Posts: 703
Send a message via MSN to dynoman007 Send a message via Skype™ to dynoman007
Default fans

who made the fan mount i tink i need one of those ....
dynoman007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 02:54 PM   #3030
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,197
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dynoman007
who made the fan mount i tink i need one of those ....
Cool Can Fans, see the thread on this site.
pops is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yokomo MR4TC CGM wyl03 Australia For Sale/Trade 0 06-26-2007 04:39 PM
yokomo mr4tc pro racer57 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 10-07-2006 02:34 AM
Looking for Yokomo MR4TC BD1 yyhayyim R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 08-24-2006 07:07 PM
yokomo mr4tc i730 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-20-2005 02:51 PM
WTB: Yokomo MR4TC SD SSG! DOMOisCOOL R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 03-06-2004 08:31 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:28 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net