Track making thread

Reply

Old 03-30-2005, 10:18 PM
  #166  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
mistercrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Guelph, Canada eh!
Posts: 722
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Same size as the last one but a slightly different layout using the same parts to see if it was feasible. Seems like it is. Purty darn easy too.
Attached Thumbnails Track making thread-piste34.jpg  
mistercrash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 12:44 AM
  #167  
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,355
Default

crash - what program are you using?

WOW - that looks realistic and just plain old GOOD.
Boomer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 05:00 AM
  #168  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
trackdesigner71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lynchburg/Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 4,980
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

WOW - that looks realistic and just plain old GOOD
Who are you talking to on this one?
trackdesigner71 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 05:55 AM
  #169  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: NY/FL
Posts: 3,378
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

TD, just wanted to say thanks for starting this thread once again. I think this time it's really taken off and for those of us laying a track down each month....it helps a lot !! One more thing my wee little brain doesn't have to stress about.
Evoracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 05:58 AM
  #170  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
trackdesigner71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lynchburg/Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 4,980
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Evoracer
TD, just wanted to say thanks for starting this thread once again. I think this time it's really taken off and for those of us laying a track down each month....it helps a lot !! One more thing my wee little brain doesn't have to stress about.
Glad to be of service Evoracer. I thought this would be of help to all the track owners out there who I am sure would like to come up with some new layouts to keep their constituents happy
trackdesigner71 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 09:00 AM
  #171  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
mistercrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Guelph, Canada eh!
Posts: 722
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Boomer
crash - what program are you using?
CorelDraw 11 and little bit of Corel Photopaint 11
mistercrash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 09:50 AM
  #172  
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,355
Default

Originally posted by trackdesigner71
Who are you talking to on this one?
Crash. . .the realistic looking one!
Boomer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 10:38 AM
  #173  
Tech Elite
 
MR JOLLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: MOOD;; feeling good not racing ,saving shed loads of money,lovely Tan i have aswell
Posts: 4,762
Default

i need contact details for `Road rail` track markers
they are not answering some body elses e-mails thought i have a go
MR JOLLY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 11:22 AM
  #174  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
mistercrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Guelph, Canada eh!
Posts: 722
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

You mean the Road Dome system? Here's a link http://www.roaddome.com/ and a contact [email protected]
mistercrash is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 12:02 PM
  #175  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
trackdesigner71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lynchburg/Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 4,980
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I am kinda starting to like using these open tiles. It allows for bigger tracks. This is my third experiment in using Trackmaker's open tiles
Attached Thumbnails Track making thread-open-tile-track-3.jpg  
trackdesigner71 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 12:32 PM
  #176  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (14)
 
primusblowsgoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Pingree Grove, IL
Posts: 987
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

i kinda like that one
primusblowsgoat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 01:09 PM
  #177  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 579
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by trackdesigner71
I am kinda starting to like using these open tiles. It allows for bigger tracks. This is my third experiment in using Trackmaker's open tiles
So how big is it? Is there some sort of dimensions you can put on it to put it into perspective? Anyway of telling how long the driveline is?
acyrier is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 01:20 PM
  #178  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
trackdesigner71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lynchburg/Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 4,980
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by acyrier
So how big is it? Is there some sort of dimensions you can put on it to put it into perspective? Anyway of telling how long the driveline is?
136x72 with 8 ft lanes (each square represents 4 ft) With 10 ft (each square representing 5 ft) it would be 170x90 (which is getting up near nitro size right there)

I counted the number of tiles along the interior (71), then counted the number of tiles along the exterior (79) and then multiplied the 2 by 4 and added them together and got about a 600ft driveline

Last edited by trackdesigner71; 03-31-2005 at 01:27 PM.
trackdesigner71 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 04:11 PM
  #179  
Tech Elite
 
Boomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Southern Cal - Claremont
Posts: 3,355
Default

gotta take away a bit for the width of the lines, but you're still around 7' driving lines - that looks good.

Just a couple of suggestions -

1. Make your chicanes more "chicanier" - - there's a straight line through it right now. . .which makes it a straight instead of a chicane. We know what you mean and this is more of a "can the program do it?"

2. Your cool looking jog in the upper left. . .it doesn't actually do anything there. It's a neat idea but all it does is to make the carousel turn into a, well. . .a carousel turn that's not as sharp. . .

I LIKE what you seem to be able to do with those open block things. . .
Boomer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2005, 05:49 PM
  #180  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
trackdesigner71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lynchburg/Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 4,980
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Boomer
gotta take away a bit for the width of the lines, but you're still around 7' driving lines - that looks good.

Just a couple of suggestions -

1. Make your chicanes more "chicanier" - - there's a straight line through it right now. . .which makes it a straight instead of a chicane. We know what you mean and this is more of a "can the program do it?"

2. Your cool looking jog in the upper left. . .it doesn't actually do anything there. It's a neat idea but all it does is to make the carousel turn into a, well. . .a carousel turn that's not as sharp. . .

I LIKE what you seem to be able to do with those open block things. . .
That is one of the inherent disadvantages I have noticed with the open tiles is the fact that you cannot really make good "chicanes" or very tight left-right combination style corners. That is what is nice about the original tiles I was using is the fact that I could make some very good sections like that.

The little thing in the upper left on number 3 was kind of a last minute thing because I couldnt decide If I wanted to take it all the way across and bring it back around or create a little switch back there.
trackdesigner71 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service