R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-21-2005, 09:01 AM   #16
Tech Addict
 
crACkeD ChaSsiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Getting practice 1/10 stock onroad
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crACkeD ChaSsiS Send a message via Yahoo to crACkeD ChaSsiS
Default zapper

either u can buy a magnet zapper or find some1 at your local track that has a magnet zapper.Thats how i usually go about doing it.some1 correct me if im wrong.
crACkeD ChaSsiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 12:25 PM   #17
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,154
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yea, certain motors use cheap low quality magnets that can benifit from zapping in just a few runs......while other's use magnets that almost never need to be zapped..........
__________________
1/8 Scale: Tekno EB-48.2... Tekin RX-8 GEN-2 W/2050kv... Airtronix M11-X Radio... HiTec HS-7954SH Servo...

1/10 Scale: Associated B-5(rear motor)...Tekin RSX Gen-2 W/8.5t... Savox SC-1258-TG Servo
Joe B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 02:24 PM   #18
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

the heat of the motor run after run weakens the magnets over time... zapping the magnets on a good zapper, can bring thm back to new or in some cases better then new...

the key is to find a good zapper.. they uaually run a 500 bucks or more.. thats why its good to find one, and pay a few bucks to have it done... i have been using a good one.. i notice a huge difference.. most magnet zappers ccome with a meter, to read the magnets power... you can do a before aand after to see the results... it does help alot on old tired motors

you cant get a magnet to hold more then its rated for.. but on some new motors, the magnets are not as good as they are rated.. this is where it helps when there new.. most motor builders, will zap a motor when they are new.. this assure maximum magnet strength...
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 02:34 PM   #19
Tech Addict
 
crACkeD ChaSsiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Getting practice 1/10 stock onroad
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crACkeD ChaSsiS Send a message via Yahoo to crACkeD ChaSsiS
Default magnets being zapped

burbs- so youre saying it wouldnt be that big of a deal to purchase a new stock arm, while getting the magnets zapped in the used can? or i wouldnt lose rpm/torque compared to a new stock motor?
crACkeD ChaSsiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 02:44 PM   #20
Tech Master
 
burbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,152
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to burbs Send a message via Yahoo to burbs
Default

i just replaced 3 arms in my monster stocks.. as far as i can see they run the same as they ever did...

the motor may run a bit different... your putting a different arm in, and depending on how it is wound compared to the old arm will make a difference...

but if you can find a good zapper do it... and droop in a new arm... im pretty confident the motor will run good..

when you get it zapped write down th before numbers.. then after it is zapped see what it goes up to.. the zapper man should have a meter to check strength.. you should see an increase in magnet power
burbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2005, 02:52 PM   #21
Tech Addict
 
crACkeD ChaSsiS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Getting practice 1/10 stock onroad
Posts: 632
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to crACkeD ChaSsiS Send a message via Yahoo to crACkeD ChaSsiS
Default ty

ok kewl ill give that a try. ty
crACkeD ChaSsiS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MASSIVE Motor and Armature Sellout!!! DirtyDog3375 Australia For Sale/Trade 11 07-03-2007 12:40 AM
CP money motor armature Jochim_18 Electric On-Road 2 08-14-2006 05:28 PM
Faulty armature in new motor? Tral Electric On-Road 7 05-08-2006 01:53 AM
noob question about Motor Armature aoizip Rookie Zone 3 05-16-2004 08:51 PM
motor armature ongbenghui Singapore R/C Racers 5 04-01-2002 11:05 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:13 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net