R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-25-2007, 08:21 AM   #10336
Tech Elite
 
RaceAce701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carbondale, Pa
Posts: 2,985
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JL View Post
Thanks RaceAce701. I'll try the softer front tyres.... this is actually the car I bought second hand from you a few months ago. Cheers
i also found out that on a short tight track shortning the wheelbase 1mm in the rear will help the car rotate more
__________________
The Skid Marks -- 24 Heures Du Jackson 9/22-23/2011
"Go for broke or go home broke"
"If it ant broke your not trying"
Alex "ACE" Kubilus
ACE design works
RaceAce701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 12:33 AM   #10337
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,300
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaceAce701 View Post
i also found out that on a short tight track shortning the wheelbase 1mm in the rear will help the car rotate more
Wouldn't shortening the front wheelbase offer better rotation since by moving your rear arms forward you are actually increasing rear mechanical traction since weight transfer is greater under acceleration when you bring the rear arms forward? By moving the front arms closer to the rear you are shortening the wheelbase - thus increasing rotation at lower speed-to-mid speeds without effecting rear traction.
duckman996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 08:49 AM   #10338
Tech Elite
 
RaceAce701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Carbondale, Pa
Posts: 2,985
Trader Rating: 86 (99%+)
Default

yes moving the front arms back helps transfer more weight to the front


but in general a shorter wheelbase will rotate faster no matter which end you shorten

i have a stock chassi car and a bmi

my stock chassis car is 1mm shorter in the rear and rotates much faster that the bmi but the bmi is smoother and carries more corner speed
__________________
The Skid Marks -- 24 Heures Du Jackson 9/22-23/2011
"Go for broke or go home broke"
"If it ant broke your not trying"
Alex "ACE" Kubilus
ACE design works
RaceAce701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 11:07 AM   #10339
Tech Champion
 
RC MARKET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: HK
Posts: 6,172
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Jan release New carpet chassis & upper deck...

http://www.hpiracing.co.jp/
RC MARKET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 04:06 PM   #10340
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Adrian, MI
Posts: 823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joehwee View Post
Forget about the AE screw, just get the following parts and you shouldn't be breaking the diff screw. Just make sure that you run a 2.6mm drill bit thru the centre of the diff outdrives.

http://www.hotbodiesonline.net/searc...=61535&lang=en

http://www.hbeurope.com/piw.php?lang=en&partNo=61544
Hay !!!! I just built a diff using the parts Joehwee suggested this is my first diff using all HPI parts that dose not slip and is still very, very smooth !!! man am I ever happy I got the parts from RC MARKET.

Thank you Joehwee
Lazer Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 11:02 PM   #10341
Tech Addict
 
SpeedySST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Meeker, CO
Posts: 658
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Cool Brushless motor mount

Hi! I dont know if this has been covered before but I saw a "brushless motor mount" for the Cyclone. Is this necessary or will the stock motor mount work? Thanks!
SpeedySST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 01:37 AM   #10342
Tech Master
 
Joehwee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,553
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedySST View Post
Hi! I dont know if this has been covered before but I saw a "brushless motor mount" for the Cyclone. Is this necessary or will the stock motor mount work? Thanks!
The brushless motor mount raised the centre lay shaft 2mm higher so you are able to use bigger spur to get the gearing you want when running 3.5t brushless.
Joehwee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 02:38 AM   #10343
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Hi, This post of mine is very knowledgable and may enhance the information of the viewers , however I would like some specific information for myself. If someone can help me then please send me a private message. Best Regards,

Property Directory | Wholesale Billiards
Wholesale Batteries |Stock Brokers Directory
Muaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 01:37 PM   #10344
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Surrey British Columbia Canada
Posts: 304
Default

http://www.redrc.net/2007/12/hot-bod...e-carpet-spec/

carpet chassis
C_Suzuki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 08:39 PM   #10345
ASM
Tech Master
 
ASM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 1,493
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

I have a WCE edition and I thought I had read that a 3200 lipo will fit with no modifications, is this correct? What about a 4800 which is what I really want to run.

I thought I had read somewhere that there were optional bulkhead pieces that were made for lipo use....

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
__________________
Scott Meeks

2016 & 2017 ROAR Region 4 VTA Champion
USVTA Member #116
ASM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 08:42 PM   #10346
Tech Elite
 
BlackedOutREVO's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 3,791
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASM View Post
I have a WCE edition and I thought I had read that a 3200 lipo will fit with no modifications, is this correct? What about a 4800 which is what I really want to run.

I thought I had read somewhere that there were optional bulkhead pieces that were made for lipo use....

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!
The 4800, as well as the TrakPower 4900 fit no mods, there close, but they fit
__________________
R1 Wurks/Awesomatix USA/Roche USA/Protoform/Solaris/Mo Speed/Speedworld Raceway
BlackedOutREVO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 08:54 PM   #10347
ASM
Tech Master
 
ASM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Posts: 1,493
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

So a hard cased 4800 will fit?
__________________
Scott Meeks

2016 & 2017 ROAR Region 4 VTA Champion
USVTA Member #116
ASM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2007, 09:43 PM   #10348
Tech Fanatic
 
bmmer701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 947
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ASM View Post
So a hard cased 4800 will fit?

yup it will fit with no modification.
bmmer701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 12:53 AM   #10349
Tech Adept
 
yzf-r1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NY & AZ
Posts: 218
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

anyone know if rdx or t2 alum caster blocks and knuckles will fit cyclone?
__________________
RLM, LRP, Thunderpower, Ko propo, Checkpoint, Hacker, Muchmore, FFE
Cyclone, Sf501, KP09e, 25.5 mono, 26 mono no step, GPV-1,HOR, teamwalbern promods, 5Bss...list goes on
yzf-r1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2007, 01:53 AM   #10350
Tech Elite
 
LOSI123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gold Coast-Australia
Posts: 2,616
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know if there is a hb or hpi original part that is a 3 hole shock piston to fit in the cyclone?

as almost all of the setup sheets from the hb website say 3 hole piston and the car comes with a 2 hole?

also if you put 30wt oil with 2 hole 1.2mm pistons, would that be simillar to 40wt oil with 3 hole 1.1mm pistons?

as i dont have a 1mm drill bit.

Last edited by LOSI123; 12-28-2007 at 03:10 AM.
LOSI123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 08:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 08:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 08:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 03:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 06:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:33 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net