Hot Bodies Cyclone

Reply

Old 04-02-2007, 07:49 AM
  #7801  
Tech Regular
 
stephen hilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 265
Default mip v steel driveshafts

hey guys lost a pin out of my mip driveshaft. so for the moment i will have to run the steel v1 ones. is there any big performance disadvantage between the two?
thanks stephen
stephen hilton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 08:08 AM
  #7802  
Tech Adept
 
Cyclone Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kent Wa
Posts: 106
Default

I too bought one of the $199 cyclones and bent one of the front axles the second time out. I ordered the same axles 61043(V1) for the front and 61044(V1) for the rear. I'm curious though as to why the original axles are 61396(V2), which fit both front and rear, and the heavy duty steels are 61398(V2).

The only information that I found is that the new 61398(V2) axle won't work with the old style cups(V1), but it doesn't say that old style axles(V1) will work with the new style cup(V2)?

Stormer doesn't have any of the axles in stock, but Omni Models list the 61034 and 61044 as direct replacements?

I sure wish Hot Bodies would have added some information with the kit to clerify this?
Cyclone Charlie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 03:26 PM
  #7803  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,841
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stephen hilton
hey guys lost a pin out of my mip driveshaft. so for the moment i will have to run the steel v1 ones. is there any big performance disadvantage between the two?
thanks stephen
honestly,i like the steel better up front.i literally broke a V2 by tapping a coner dot on power with a 19 turn.im gonna try the ti racing ones and see how it goes.if it sucks im going to the steel cvd's.i ran those for a while with no bending.
protc3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 06:34 PM
  #7804  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Ive got some of the titanium racing CVDs however i havent installed them. They seem to be built for speed and are extremely light!

But one of my friends stated that some of the schumacher guys were complaining they were snapping so ill probably just mount them in the back of my car when i get around to it.

Does anyone have any experience as to whether they might not be that strong?
mangoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 06:37 PM
  #7805  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,841
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

paul wynn has been running them and told me he likes them and that they are strong.i hit stuff alot harder than he does so i will let you know
protc3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 06:42 PM
  #7806  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

One other thing you can try is square make titanium CVDs for the Pro 4. I still havent tried out if the CVDs from the Pro 4 can be used directly on the Cyclone or not but the square ones are, as we say down under, built like a brick s&*t house.

They are however quite heavy.

One of the guys in the Pro 4 thread was going on about how he ripped the front arm of his car and the CVD was still straight.
mangoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 07:52 PM
  #7807  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (192)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 28,267
Trader Rating: 192 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mangoman
One other thing you can try is square make titanium CVDs for the Pro 4. I still havent tried out if the CVDs from the Pro 4 can be used directly on the Cyclone or not but the square ones are, as we say down under, built like a brick s&*t house.

They are however quite heavy.

One of the guys in the Pro 4 thread was going on about how he ripped the front arm of his car and the CVD was still straight.
the pro4 cvds will not work on the Cyclone
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 08:29 PM
  #7808  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 121
Default

Originally Posted by Marcos.J
the pro4 cvds will not work on the Cyclone
Cyclone cvd length 44mm, Pro4 46mm
G2B Anthony is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 10:30 PM
  #7809  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
mangoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 2,981
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Cheers thanks guys, i didnt think they were the same but ive seen some people in other threads saying they were looking at using them....
mangoman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 06:31 AM
  #7810  
Tech Addict
 
academygaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 718
Default

Pro 4 driveshafts fit, but you have to slot the outdrives longer to allow the bone pin to move further in when the suspension is compressed. You can do with with a Dremel/rotary-type tool. I took mine up to where the bearing holder is, thats with the ver2 spool.

I did it because I snapped a pair of HB alloy purple driveshafts, and I had just split down a Pro 4 for spares. Plus, they are a little thicker. I haven't tried HB steel ones yet, so I can't comment on them.
academygaz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 06:38 AM
  #7811  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (192)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 28,267
Trader Rating: 192 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by academygaz
Pro 4 driveshafts fit, but you have to slot the outdrives longer to allow the bone pin to move further in when the suspension is compressed. You can do with with a Dremel/rotary-type tool. I took mine up to where the bearing holder is, thats with the ver2 spool.

I did it because I snapped a pair of HB alloy purple driveshafts, and I had just split down a Pro 4 for spares. Plus, they are a little thicker. I haven't tried HB steel ones yet, so I can't comment on them.
the hb steel ones are the way to go
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 07:04 AM
  #7812  
Tech Regular
 
stephen hilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 265
Default

Originally Posted by Marcos.J
the hb steel ones are the way to go
but are they? or are the mip ones better?
stephen hilton is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 07:54 AM
  #7813  
Tech Adept
 
Cyclone Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Kent Wa
Posts: 106
Default

Where can you get steel or titanium MIP's for the Cyclone? MIP doesn't have a listing for the Cyclone on the web site.

If you have the latest Cyclone version(V2) that's out, will the 61043 and 61044 axles fit?
Cyclone Charlie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 10:44 AM
  #7814  
Tech Legend
iTrader: (192)
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 28,267
Trader Rating: 192 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by stephen hilton
but are they? or are the mip ones better?
are the MIP's steel??
Marcos.J is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2007, 10:48 AM
  #7815  
Tech Regular
 
stephen hilton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 265
Default

nope there cheap and nasty purple aluminium i think there really smooth but because the grub screw is so small its easilly rounded causing the pin to fall out and wrecking a hub and bone .and in the uk no shop has any!!!!! and i have a nationial on sunday! does anyone know if the steel ones chatter?
stephen hilton is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service