R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2006, 03:28 AM   #6436
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nf_ekt
My only other question is: if I run the front diff sorta tight will diff screw problems occur? I got my rear dif a tad loose no problems, but I don't want to deal with any issues like some have had when run tighter.
I can't really comment on this as I've never experienced any problems with any diff screws breaking in both my Pro 4 and Cyclone. Thats around 3 years of racing once a week without ever breaking one.

I can't really give anyone any tips or tricks because I don't have any, just assembled the diffs as per the instructions and never had a problem. At one point with my Pro 4 I was running Schumacher mini pins on carpet which gave mega traction, still no breakage.
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 07:34 AM   #6437
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,187
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takata
Were are you running Marcos? I'm a bit confused. I run with 108/26 (10.125 frd) on carpet with foam tires , Novak 4.5 and it shut in overheating protection after 4 minuts.
What do you think ? Is this possible ? Please help to understand.
that ratio is for the 13.5 brushless motor
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 07:37 AM   #6438
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,187
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takata
Were are you running Marcos? I'm a bit confused. I run with 108/26 (10.125 frd) on carpet with foam tires , Novak 4.5 and it shut in overheating protection after 4 minuts.
What do you think ? Is this possible ? Please help to understand.
what size tires are you running ? im running the same gear combo as you and i have no thermal issues. Im running a 56mm tire.try droping it to 25/108

Last edited by Marcos.J; 12-26-2006 at 08:12 AM.
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 08:02 AM   #6439
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Italy
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J
what size tires are you running ? im running the same gear combo as you and i have no thermal issues. Im running a 46mm tire.try droping it to 25/108
Sorry Marcos, but you made a conversion error. 46mm is to small.
I use 59mm tires. I'm planning to go to 25/108 but I need a major grinding work on the motor support. Does anybody have a picture and let me know how to do it?
Takata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 08:12 AM   #6440
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,187
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takata
Sorry Marcos, but you made a conversion error. 46mm is to small.
I use 59mm tires. I'm planning to go to 25/108 but I need a major grinding work on the motor support. Does anybody have a picture and let me know how to do it?
you can do the grinding i did it on mine let me get a picture of it
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 08:13 AM   #6441
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,187
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Takata
Sorry Marcos, but you made a conversion error. 46mm is to small.
I use 59mm tires. I'm planning to go to 25/108 but I need a major grinding work on the motor support. Does anybody have a picture and let me know how to do it?
sorry i meant 56mm not 46mm my bad
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 08:40 AM   #6442
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,187
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

here is a pic , i grind a little bit ata time to keep the original shape around the motor, i took off around 2mm to 2 1/2 mm or so i was able to move the motor closer , i can go down to a 24 pinion ( 64pitch)


then i made the motor screw holes a little longer to be able to move the motor further back, i have a 25 pinion now and i can still move it back a little more.



on my asphalt car i just run a 110 spur and i dont need to grind any material out.but the spur sticks out of the bottom of the chassis about .5mm but i dont want to take that chance on carpet.
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 10:44 AM   #6443
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: England, lincs
Posts: 317
Default

i have done that dremaling trick to my car it works a dream can get 2 teeth lower now
bob33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 11:08 AM   #6444
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,187
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob33
i have done that dremaling trick to my car it works a dream can get 2 teeth lower now
it works pretty good!
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 04:02 PM   #6445
Tech Adept
 
cyclone's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 235
Default

hi, has anybody tried this kinda thing on there cyclones...? will it be ok to do this to the bottom deck top deck, shock towers and maybe even bumber brace...? cheers..

http://www.teamcrc.com/crc/modules.p...rder=0&thold=0
cyclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 04:51 PM   #6446
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,979
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyclone
hi, has anybody tried this kinda thing on there cyclones...? will it be ok to do this to the bottom deck top deck, shock towers and maybe even bumber brace...? cheers..

http://www.teamcrc.com/crc/modules.p...rder=0&thold=0

A lot of people do a similar job on their cars, makes for a very nice finish. If you have got the time, take the effort, the end result is worth it.
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 06:11 PM   #6447
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

Breaking news MY CAR IS HERE and 95% done with it
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 06:38 PM   #6448
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 27,187
Trader Rating: 182 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20 SMOKE
Breaking news MY CAR IS HERE and 95% done with it
cool jamie i bet you cant wait to run it!!
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 07:24 PM   #6449
Tech Master
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to pinggoy
Default

hi guys.. just got my electronics for my cyclone (gtb and 13.5)

and while im installing them . i notice that the electronic side is so heavy than my bettery side(gp3300) by adding weight on it i probably need more than 40g ..so would that make my car heavy and run sluggish.

here is electronics

ko propo 2343 servo
amb (stick on the back of my servo)
spektrum sr3000 (spektrum capacitor)
gtb
13.5 motor


and iam using a 3300gp batteries. (will use for practice)

if anybody knows the weight of each of those electronics and the battery i would appreciate if you give me the weights. since i dont have any scale....

thanx guys.. will be testing it tom.
__________________
TAMIYA TRF415 MRE l NOSRAM SPX l BALLISTIC 17.5
TAMIYA TRF416X
www.noicewatches.bigcartel.com
pinggoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 07:50 PM   #6450
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,979
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

There is prob 40 grams difference between GP3300 and IB4200, if you want to keep the balance the same, add 40 grams around the battery when running the lighter cells.
__________________
12th Scale - The premier class (if you can make runtime)
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Bodies Cyclone S wardyl Electric On-Road 4 10-01-2008 08:01 AM
Hot bodies Cyclone 12 k7king R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-04-2008 08:09 AM
WTB Hot Bodies Cyclone/ cyclone Parts tenpins77 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 0 07-29-2008 08:48 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone sdt1 Australia For Sale/Trade 6 07-13-2008 03:05 AM
WTB: Cyclone S/Cyclone Painted bodies vazzo Australia Wanted to Buy 0 02-05-2008 06:15 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:34 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net