Hot Bodies Cyclone


Old 03-06-2006, 04:13 PM
  #3121  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (13)
 
protc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Spring Hill,Florida
Posts: 10,841
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

hey guys,i just picked up another cyclone today.i am going to set both up,one with the oneway setup and one with a spool.i am going to load them up with electronics so i can have the option of running the oneway or a spool.this is great because i will be able to do back to back testing to see which one works better for each given track.also cool if i wanna run 2 classes.i think im officially hooked on this car.
protc3 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 04:14 PM
  #3122  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,853
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Aurra Sing
Hello all. For winter, i run on carpet/foam tires which is very demanding on the car mechanically, and i've been breaking diff screws almost every run (either the front OR rear!!) Not to say i'm a bad driver, but i may graze a wall at speed on occasion, but that's it! I have tried the hpi, tamiya, and TC3 diff screw/nuts and all of them snap at the lightest hit. Has anybody got a solution to this?

I have tried running my diffs as loose as possible. Seems to help, but i dont like running the diffs that loose. Apparently i'm not the only Cyclone driver experiencing it. Also a fellow driver's RDX is having the same problem.

In the mean time, here is my 19t foam tire set up, near perfect, my lap time was 2 tenths faster than the closest person in our competitive 19t class..

Front/rear
camber 2/2
oil 50/40
springs 33.5/26lbs
ride height 5/5mm
droop 1.5/1.8mm (Δ ride height)
sway bar black/none
toe blocks 0/1.5
shock position 2nd hole/middle hole
spacers under pivot blocks 1.5/2mm (no squat/dive)
spacers under upper links 2.75/2mm
body parma alfa
diff/diff
everything else left kit setup
Not just "fast", this setup is STUPID Fast. WOW! Anyone going to the Carpet Nats with this car better read up on his setup. I think his fastest lap was an 11.4! That was straight haulin' the mail! Good Job on your win "Aurra".

Art
Advil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 05:26 PM
  #3123  
Tech Regular
 
lookinco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Default

Can anyone give me a good carpet Rubber setup?
lookinco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 06:22 PM
  #3124  
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default

Originally Posted by Advil
Not just "fast", this setup is STUPID Fast. WOW! Anyone going to the Carpet Nats with this car better read up on his setup. I think his fastest lap was an 11.4! That was straight haulin' the mail! Good Job on your win "Aurra".

Art
Haha, thanx Art. It got hairy in the last minute though, didn't it? (tires picked up some fuzz)
Aurra Sing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2006, 10:20 PM
  #3125  
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Default

from what ive heard no diff screw holds up in the cyclone. a friend of mine has tried even more than Aurra....tamiya, yokomo, hpi, ae at least!

He's talked to hot bodies about it and they act as if they have never heard anyone complain about it
floodo1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 02:36 AM
  #3126  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default

This is the diff screw Moore and Hara use in their Cyclones:



050010 - M2 TITANIUM DIFFERENTIAL SCREW
http://www.rc-edit.com/piw.php?partN...kit=20&lang=en

and Hara is very particular about what he uses in his cars!
Frank McKinney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 02:49 AM
  #3127  
Tech Regular
 
lookinco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 257
Default

So is it avaliable yet? Where can I buy one?
lookinco is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 02:53 AM
  #3128  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default

Not available yet, but soon. Not sure who will be doing distribution outside of Europe/UK but I'm sure it will be sorted out soon.
Frank McKinney is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 07:02 AM
  #3129  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
jag88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,075
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I wonder why the Pro 4 guys aren't having the same problem ?
jag88 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 07:46 AM
  #3130  
Tech Regular
 
Aurra Sing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA, USA
Posts: 462
Default

Yeah, I'll try out that screw when it becomes readily available.

I had the same problem w/ my Pro 4. But I haven't ran the Pro4 on carpet nearly as much as the Cyclone, so it wasnt a problem for me.
Aurra Sing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 07:58 AM
  #3131  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,853
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Aurra Sing
Haha, thanx Art. It got hairy in the last minute though, didn't it? (tires picked up some fuzz)
See you this Saturday?
Advil is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 08:19 AM
  #3132  
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Originally Posted by lookinco
Can anyone give me a good carpet Rubber setup?
I posted my setup a couple of pages back, works well for me.
Skill is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 08:53 AM
  #3133  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: scottsdale az
Posts: 282
Default

You need to do a search an the pro 4 thread for the ae diff screw mod I use that on my pro 4 and cyclone and I have never broken a diff screw
no1uno is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 08:58 AM
  #3134  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by no1uno
You need to do a search an the pro 4 thread for the ae diff screw mod I use that on my pro 4 and cyclone and I have never broken a diff screw
had one on my cyclone and Pro4..not a single problem...

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...=++&search3=Go

rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2006, 11:33 PM
  #3135  
Tech Regular
 
floodo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 452
Default

Originally Posted by no1uno
You need to do a search an the pro 4 thread for the ae diff screw mod I use that on my pro 4 and cyclone and I have never broken a diff screw
well if you did search the pro 4 thread, you would see that for pro4 ae screw seems to solve the problem, as you pointed out. however cyclone is a different story.

the thing with the cyclone screw is it seems its the fastest people, who have great building skills, that are having this problem. esp evidenced by hara and moore using a Ti screw. I dont think any of the screws (tamiya, yokomo, ae, etc) are made of anything special, thats prolly why they break
floodo1 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service